Chapter 139: The Shield’s Brand

…Hiragana Megane is down… Using Furigana Inserter, but tis not as effective Formatted to look more like the original, because wordpress usually gets rid of that…

Chapter 139: The Shield’s Brand

It’s been a week since I acquired my land and began babysitting these kids.
The Soldiers have pretty much finished restoring most of the salvageable houses. I guess It’s time to start on the next stage of the plan.

Following Firo’s orders, the new Filo Rial is pulling the carriage back and forth.
I guess it will be nice to ride in a carriage that doesn’t talk back for once…
I’m currently playing fetch with Firo in relatively good spirits. I’m doing it while the other slaves are asleep, as Firo does not care about her surroundings.

The Catipilands have also become quite large, and we are currently building a carriage for them. This monster seems to be a herbivore that enjoys gnawing on Bioplant stalks.
This kills two birds in one stone. The Slave dealer does good work, it’s also quite easy to handle.
It’s only fault is its speed. It can’t go very fast, or far. Visiting the neighboring towns seems to be its limit.

The Dune Worms have become relatively large as well. I’m leaving the maintenance of the soil around here to them.
This monster is also quite docile. Wild Dunes seem to spend their lives peacefully underground. It is very rare for one to get into a fight.

Domestic Dune will fight if ordered, but they aren’t very strong.
Well then, I think it’s time to restart my peddling.

“H-how is it?” (Kiel)

I had prepared two sets of clothing for Kiel.
The first was one fit for her preferences, a manly set of armor.
The other one is a frilly one-piece.
Kiel is blushing and waiting for my appraisal.

“Perfect. Make sure you act clumsy and embarrassed while we sell things.” (Naofumi)
“Shield Nii-chan! Why do I have to do something like this!?” (Kiel)
“Of course, for the money. If we don’t have funds, we cannot restore the village.” (Naofumi)
“…I-I’m embarrassed, Nii-chan…” (Kiel)

I plan to have Firo manage the front, while I watch over the stock.
I also plan to sell medicines made by Kiel (with Rafatalia’s help).

“Rishia, I leave the village’s management and level raising to you.” (Naofumi)
“G-got it!” (Rishia)

I need to teach the slaves how to peddle.
If I don’t then raising funds will get increasingly difficult.
If I circle the country with a carriage advertising my brand, rumors should spread quickly.
That’s why I have been spending all of my free time making medicines.

By the way, due to the teachings in compounding I received before the battle with the Spirit Turtle, I can make some advanced medicines as well.
As long as I’m there, we should be able to solve most problems, including serious disease.
Though this is just my opinion.

“Then, we’re off-!” (Naofumi)
“Wai- Nii-chan! I still haven’t gotten used to vehi-” (Kiel)

Ignoring Kiel, we set off.
It only took one hour to visit the neighboring villages. This is all thanks to Firo’s legs.
I see some familiar faces as I go from town to town. It’s a bit of a strange feeling.

“Saint-sama was the Hero of the shield?” (Customer)
“Yeah… I thought it would be bad for business if my identity got out.” (Naofumi)
“I apologize for my behavior back then.” (Customer)
“Don’t let it bother you.” (Naofumi)

The bad rumors about me have already died down.
Even though I hadn’t done anything at the time, I was still being called the Devil of the Shield.
I had been faced with quite a bit of undue resentment.

But I don’t have any reason to mull over it now. As long as I get paid, I don’t mind.
I don’t put customers before everything else. Those were the words of an actor. This is reality.

“I got some land, and am training some people to combat the wave. In order to prepare for it, I am also selling medicine and arms. If you need anything, please ask. You can find me in the carriage marked with the Shield insignia.” (Naofumi)

Right now, there is a Sign with a picture of a shield attached to the side of my carriage.

“It’s only been a couple of days since you defeated that monster, but the hero of the shield is already trying to help the populace. You must really care for this country’s people.” (Customer)
“Yeah, but there isn’t too much I can do by myself. If you would spread the word of the Shield Brand, I would be grateful.” (Naofumi)

And thus, like this, I spread the name of my peddling business.
Firo also serves as a form of advertisement, as she is a Filo Rial Queen.
But her constant chatter is annoying.
If I had someone to manage her, it would be helpful, but I don’t think there are many who would like to deal with her.

“I’ll buy some things to support the efforts of the Shield.” (Customer)
“Much obliged.” (Naofumi)

And, for once, the rumors were working in my favor.
The good rumors of my carriage spread like wildfire.
Some people rush to greet us as we arrive at certain towns.
It’s quite remarkable that gossip can travel faster than Firo’s legs.

“S-shield Niichan… Are you sure this is alright?” (Kiel)

Kiel, who is managing sales, comes up to me with an embarrassed face.

“Yeah, your business smile isn’t as good as Rafatalia’s, but some people might find your clumsy, awkward display to be a turn-on.” (Naofumi)
“Is that supposed to be a complement?” (Kiel)

Yes. Clumsy, innocent characters seem to have a healing effect on people. This holds true in any world.
Rafatalia and Firo are also doing well. It seems that I will be making quite a bit of profit from this enterprise.

Our sales are quite steady.
At this stage, we can’t really spare personnel to gather herbs.
However, even the worst of ingredients can be made into medicine of ‘Normal’ quality with the shield.
These ‘Normal’ medicines can then be compounded by hand to make higher level medicines of quality greater than normal.

I can expect quite a bit in this trip.
For now, I need to prepare enough medicine for all the towns we will stop at. It’s good that I prepared a lot before-hand.

We continue our peddling for the next three days before returning to the village. We occasionally buy herbs from passing merchants.
I feed these to the shield to make more medicine.
Kiel and the other slaves observed my actions and learn how to peddle, or at least that was the plan.

“My, my, if it isn’t the Hero of the Shield.” (Slave Dealer)

When it gets dark, the Slave Dealer appears at the village.
He is accompanied by some sturdy-built adults. It’s a bit of a surreal scene.
The other slaves hide in fear.

“What is it? It’s rare seeing you outside of your store.” (Naofumi)
“How are you doing? How are the slaves?” (Slave Dealer)
“We’re moving ahead on schedule. Anyways, why are you here? Answer me.” (Naofumi)
“That’s good to hear.” (Slave Dealer)

So you won’t answer!
Calm down… don’t get swept up into his pace.

“Today, I came here to deliver the slaves ordered by the Hero of the Shield. Yes” (Slave Dealer)
“Ah, so you were able to find them?” (Naofumi)
“Yes.” (Slave Dealer)

The Slave Dealer goes into his carriage, and out come about 10 people. They are all shaking in fear.
Rafatalia looks through them for people she knows.
She talks to them in the same way that she talked to Kiel.
But…

“There are 3 children here that I don’t know.” (Rafatalia)
“Hmm? Did I make a mistake?” (Slave Dealer)

The Slave Dealer claps his hands, and his men move to return the 3 children to the carriage.

“You don’t have to worry about it?” (Naofumi)
“And why would that be?” (Slave Dealer)

The slave dealer tilts his head.

“I don’t plan to only use people from this village. As long as they don’t bear any extreme hatred towards me, I will take them in.” (Naofumi)

(TL: Well, he literally says as long as they aren’t radicals of the shield faith)

I planned to hire other people as well, anyways. There’s no reason to go to the trouble of returning them.
There’s no downside of having more manpower.

“You all. Just because they’re not from this village, don’t leave them out. If I see any bullying, then I’ll sell the culprits without hesitation.” (Naofumi)
“Ye~s” (Slaves)

My slaves answer as such.
Well, they may bond as fellow slaves… There shouldn’t be too much of a problem.
But with increasing numbers, there may be more problems. I should be cautious.
After the slave registration process finishes, I unchain them.

“Are you alright?” (Rafatalia)

Rafatalia, Firo, Rishia, Kiel and the other slaves comfort the shaking new recruits.

“… I’m fine…” (Slave)

It seems it will take a while for them to open up their hearts…

“Shield Nii-chan” (Kiel)
“What?” (Naofumi)
“Let’s make some food and have a welcoming party. Of course, Nii-chan is cooking.” (Kiel)

Kiel answers with enthusiasm.
What do you mean, ‘Of course I’m cooking’?!

“…Well, I did it for you guys too.” (Naofumi)
“Y-yeah!” (Kiel)
“The party was my intention from the start. Everyone, please help out.” (Naofumi)
“Yes!” (Everyone not new)

A strange sense of camaraderie has been born among the slaves.
…This may be helpful sometime later.

“For your slaves to be this motivated, you sure are good at handling them. It makes my heart race.” (Slave Dealer)
“Yeah, keep thinking that.” (Naofumi)

I chuck a bag of coins at the Slave Dealer.
I don’t think I will be seeing any of that money again.

“Please continue to collect some useful Demi-human slaves.” (Naofumi)
“As you command.” (Slave Dealer)

Now, excluding Rafatalia and Rishia, the village has a total of 18 slaves.
Including monsters, I have amassed quite a few members.

“How about the monsters?” (Slave Dealer)
“Hmm… I will probably need more soon.” (Naofumi)
“Then, I shall bring some with me the next time I arrive. Do you have any requests” (Slave Dealer)
“The same species as before will do just fine.” (Naofumi)
“Understood. Now then, I must be taking my leave.” (Slave Dealer)
“Yeah, just go already.” (Naofumi)

And so, I drove away the Slave Dealer and his men… or not.

“I would like to partake in the Hero’s home-made meal as well. Yes.” (Slave Dealer)

Yes? Your voice is too loud!
I don’t think he will leave until he eats.
Dammit.

“I understand. Though I don’t understand what people like about it so much. Just eat and leave.” (Naofumi)
“I appreciate it. Yes.” (Slave Dealer)

The Slave Dealer’s men follow him.
… Their presence is ruining the taste.
I have to think of some countermeasures for next time, or me having to cook will become standard practice.

About Yoraikun

A college student who really should be doing something more productive with his time. Also, he can read a bit of Japanese.
This entry was posted in The Rise of the Shield Hero and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

261 Responses to Chapter 139: The Shield’s Brand

  1. Shokugeki no Naofumi-sama… lolz..
    Thanks for the translate Yoraikun… hope to read more of your translations🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Anonymous says:

    Thank you!

    Like

  3. curcism says:

    Reblogged this on Hatoken and commented:
    Chapter 139 by Yoraikun.

    Like

  4. xAion says:

    Thx yorai-dono

    Like

  5. madmann135 says:

    Thanks for the nice translation

    Random bits.
    Now I am eager to find out why you want to translate 142 …My curiosity will have to wait for 3 days. I have my guesses but only time will tell.
    Naofumi treats his slaves similar to a business and that strategy helps brings out the best of them.
    I ask that you keep up with the quality translations.

    Like

  6. thanks for all your hard work please keep it up but don’t over do it

    Like

  7. BushDrone says:

    http://pastebin.com/kA2Aj85z

    140 is going to be released soon

    Like

  8. thedefend says:

    What is with the influx of new translators lol. Probably because this thing is really addicting

    Like

    • Anonymous says:

      It is a good read. Plus having so many users comment on the errors and offer suggestions almost immediately does help new translators level up their skills alot faster compared to the projects that require thorough proofreading by a select group of people before being released to the masses.

      Like

    • LoliConner says:

      People recognize good work. (or at least interesting work)

      Liked by 1 person

    • Anonymous says:

      I am seriously tempted to take a stab at it too, but at my level I… can’t really without a ton of references which I don’t currently have onhand.
      Seeing so many working on the same project and with such dedication to it is really motivating me on my japanese though

      Liked by 1 person

      • thedefend says:

        Go use trnaslator aggregator, that should at least give you like 6 or 8 dictionary

        Like

        • Anonymous says:

          My issue lies more in not having a computer atm. I am stuck using my phone.
          Also, While I learned the meaning of all the kanji a few years ago, I can’t actually read any, so i would need a program to help me read them.

          Like

        • thedefend says:

          Translator aggregayor with mecab or jparser woild do that

          Liked by 1 person

        • Anonymous says:

          Using Hiragana Megane and simmilar would also help if it is the kanji that are the problem but since there are a few hundred or thousands of those i guess you where talking about the kana (hiragana+katakana).
          You can also use google translate but instead of looking at the translation look bellow the window with the japanese text to see it in romaji (regular alphabet).
          There are probably other sites/programs that do the same if you search though.

          Like

        • thedefend says:

          I set the mecab and jparser to transform the furi into romaji lol

          Like

        • Anonymous says:

          Theres slightly over 2000 kanji,
          I can read hiragana and katakana just fine (learned them in a day, was super easy compared to identifying 2000 kanji within 6 months)

          Anyway, I need a computer before I can do anything, and I won’t have one until January.
          I will make an attempt at translating if I get one earlier.

          Like

  9. LoliConner says:

    Yay new chapter came when I was in class. Thanks Yoraikun#2!

    Like

  10. That Evil Skeleton Lich says:

    yoraikun, I think that considering the slaves are demi-humans, it would infact be as he originally said, that he would take them as long as they weren’t shield religion fanatics. Considering the demi-human country is to the shield hero what the three heroes church was to this country and the problems some of the people who Naofumi met with (assassination, theft and black market sales, stalking, etc) the possibility of a demi-human slave being a shield fanatic has more of a chance than them hating him while having never met him. I get the feeling Naofumi wouldn’t want blind followers like the bow hero, if I were to make a comparison.
    Thanks for the translations up till now, as I have read all of them (except the christmas special) and love them.
    Thank you for all of your hard work,
    That Evil Skeleton Lich

    Like

  11. Anonymous says:

    thanks yoraikun!

    Like

  12. JJJose says:

    thank you for your hard work and dedication

    Like

  13. Midnight2630 says:

    lol next time i see the chapter has already ended

    Like

  14. Anonymous says:

    you are the best masta~

    Like

  15. Cristian says:

    Merci! :3

    Like

  16. Anonymous says:

    Just checked the registration. Yoraikun, we really appreciate these translations but please don’t overwork yourself.

    Like

  17. Anonymous says:

    thanks a lot!

    Like

  18. Pingback: Tate no Yuusha no Nariagari – UPDATE #5 | Ooha's Fiction Stories

  19. Anonreader says:

    thanks for all your hard work please keep it up but don’t over do it

    Like

  20. Anonymous says:

    Fuee~ You sure are fast and reliable, Yoraikun! Thanks for the chapter🙂 Btw I notice that most light novel readers are girls at my place, but considering that this is a manga LN, who among are male? Haha

    Like

  21. kookiedreamer says:

    Sorry, i just woke up. 140 is uploaded now, please enjoy ~^^~
    http://pastebin.com/kA2Aj85z

    Like

    • lozlo says:

      Cool beans. Thanks for the chapter.

      Like

    • kookiedreamer says:

      P.s. I’m sorry for stealing your chapter Yoraikun, I had already started when i found out you signed up for it.
      But i’ve finally been able to make an account so i can properly register for stuff now (:

      Like

    • Rokholt says:

      Oh okay…I see I was incorrect in my practice translations of that chapter. Are you guys like seriously devoted to learning the language or natural speakers :O?!

      Like

      • kookiedreamer says:

        I like japanese, but I don’t know about the ‘seriously devoted’ part. I’m not a native speaker though.
        I want to learn but tbh, I think the reason I’m joing in the translating is because I just want to know what happens next😄

        Like

  22. Yao says:

    WOOO! Thanks for another awesome translation bro.

    Like

  23. turtlebeech says:

    O: Great chapter, so when u translators are done translating this series (other extra stories) what series will u do next?😀 I know it’ll be awhile until you guys are done with this series though.

    Like

  24. NightFrost says:

    thanks as always for the chapter. It feels kinda sad that Shield bro is trying to leave behind rafatalia and give her a good life when he’s gone.😦 why cant he just think ill stay here forever and live with her and his new family & village?

    Like

    • thedefend says:

      Go read christmast story

      Like

    • Zeb says:

      I know he’s already been there for what 4-6 months or something. Does he think he’ll just hop back over to his wold and go home and say “I’m back” and things would just work out. People are going to want to know where he was and what he was doing and it’s not like he can just say “Yeah for the last year I was a hero in an alternate world and saved it from complete destruction”

      Like

  25. thedefend says:

    I think im starting to understand why yorai want to tl 142. I havent read it since i translated while reading. But seems thst chapter was about motoyasu beatdown

    Like

  26. Dracona says:

    attention all translators yoraikun really wants to translate chapter 142 so if you could no spoilers and let him do it. also for those that don’t know 140 is done and up by kookiedreamer here http://pastebin.com/kA2Aj85z 141 and 142 are going to be exciting cant wait to see what happens.

    Like

    • Dracona says:

      also translators amazing job with translation speed i love how many people are working on this keep up the good work

      Like

    • I have to agree, I’m really greatful that more people want to help out, but given how much Yoraikun has already done for us, if he wants to do 142, then it’d be nice if everyone could respect that. That being said, if anyone wants to work on the chapters after it, go ahead and register your interest on the bakatsuki page, and it’ll save overlaps.🙂

      Like

      • Zeb says:

        Yeah I’m used to think type of thing being weekly/by-weekly/monthly so this is just amazing.

        Like

      • Phoenix says:

        Just saying but it takes time to register for BT wiki (not forums) since you gotta wait for a registered member to register you now

        Like

        • Yoraikun says:

          I’m a registered member and I don’t know how to register others.

          Like

        • Phoenix says:

          http://www.baka-tsuki.org/forums/viewtopic.php?f=16&t=10743

          Or if you don’t want to go to the post. Here’s a copy & paste

          tep 1: Reply to this thread and fill out this form:

          Code: Select all
          [i]Can an existing Wiki user create an account for me, please?[/i]

          [b]Desired Username:[/b]
          [b]Email Address:[/b]

          Step 2: Wait for a generous soul who already has a wiki account to help:

          Instructions for the user who already has a wiki account:

          Go to this link while logged in: http://www.baka-tsuki.org/project/index.php?title=Special:UserLogin/signup
          Check the box: “Use a temporary random password and send it to the specified email address.”
          Fill in the other relevant information, and you’re done.

          Step 3: New member should check their email:

          At this point, the new member should receive an email from Baka-Tsuki at the given email address. Make sure it didn’t go to your spam filter. That email will give you instructions how to change your password to something that you want.

          Like

        • kookiedreamer says:

          It’s okay, we’ve got accounts now (finally)😄

          Like

  27. Vertrex says:

    I’ve made UPDATE #5 with the new chapters download links. I also tried editing chapter 138 to make sense out of it but… heh, it makes sense if you just try hard to understand it😛

    It quite surprised me when he released chapter 140 while I was in the middle of converting chapter 110. Hah, lucky I came on here and saw the latest comment. Haha…

    Anyway, here’s the link to my update: http://stories.vijay.8ing.com/tate-no-yuusha-no-nariagari-update-5/

    Like

  28. Anonymous says:

    Yoraikun, can you translate the 138 too? I cant understand what is going on with current Hakoten’s translation.

    Like

  29. XxBrokenTierxX says:

    Try not to overwork yourself Youraikun

    Like

  30. bear says:

    Youraikun you’re blowing this this like a mad man!!
    a bilingual madman!!!
    you don’t actually plan on going all the way through 142 tonight do you?! O.o

    Like

  31. LoliConner says:

    How exciting. Now that I’ve read 140 (not giving spoilers) I am so excited for the next few chapters! Godspeed Youraikun#2!

    And no I am not going to let the #2 part go

    Like

    • LoliConner says:

      I apologize for misspelling the name. It was incorrect in the post above this one and it threw me off.

      Like

    • Vertrex says:

      You’re lucky you got to read those three. While I did convert them into PDF files, I haven’t read them yet… I’m quite busy converting chapters 101 – 134 to the new PDF layout.

      *sigh*

      Like

  32. devavizard says:

    Many thanks!😀

    Like

  33. simpleotaku says:

    I am hoping to start a campaign for the next series for these translators to work on, after finishing this one. This series is Re; monster and I have to say it is just as good as (and possibly more interesting than) The Rise of the Shield Hero, although it is more mature. There are people working on it but it’s either not a lot, or because they’re working on other series, that the translations are so slow. I hope this request doesn’t come off as ungrateful or inappropriate as I really like that series. Thanks for your hard work and I hope you (all) check Re; monster out; just google “Re; monster (google) doc” or even check out the manga.

    Like

    • Anonymous says:

      Maybe come back in a few months once Tate no Yuusha no Nariagari is done?

      Like

    • Yoraikun says:

      I’ve already read it.

      Like

      • ratbunuts says:

        How do you find it then? Was it interesting enough for you? I like it too like Shieldbro… I hope you would consider doing it after Shieldbro…… Thanks for the hard work…..

        Like

    • Anonymous says:

      i think what you need is dedication and passion to do it alone first. When people started to gather to read your translation than maybe someone from that people will want to help you. That’s what happen with bakahou, at first he is just alone but he translating like a mad man ^-^ and somehow along the way he got many comrades who willing to help him. Anyway I don’t know what happen to bakahou now, he already taking break quite long without any news (sorry i seldom read comment so maybe there was news about him taking a break that i didn’t know). I just hope that he is healthy and will make a comeback.

      Like

  34. Anonymous says:

    am confused who is doing what chapter ?

    Like

  35. YamatoEX says:

    Can I ask something why kookie dreamer use anon slave instead of slave?

    Liked by 1 person

  36. Anonymous says:

    Merci et je me répète DU REPOS. On est heureux de votre travail mais votre santé ait bien plus importante.

    Like

  37. Anonymous says:

    Thank you Vertrex for your help to the translation of my comments and Yoraikun to let free every people read your work as well as all the others translators m (^ _ ^) m .

    Merci kookiedreamer pour le chap 140. ( Thank you kookiedreamer for chap 140 ^^ .)

    Good night I am going to sleep ( 4:10 AM ).

    Like

  38. k says:

    Thank for the update

    Like

  39. hikitsu00 says:

    im a kiel o.o

    Like

  40. Anonymous says:

    TY for chapter and if Naofumi is really out for money he needs to start a maid cafe where hes cook and the others are maids

    Like

    • Brbrhu3hu3 says:

      Animal maid café.
      It’s mainstream but effective.
      “Come on, Come on everybody, we have beatifull demi-human maidos and one is a tsundere”

      Like

  41. Peter says:

    thank you for the chapter. Keep up the good work.

    Like

  42. Thx
    Anyway Naofumi sound like a pimp.
    “Shield Nii-chan! Why do I have to do something like this!?” (Kiel)
    “Of course, for the money. If we don’t have funds, we cannot restore the village.” (Naofumi)
    Common pimp shield series unlock

    Like

  43. Rexor says:

    Kiel-chan seriously remind me of Seishirou Tsugumi from nisekoi without tsundere part!!!

    Like

  44. Ingro says:

    Thank you.

    Like

  45. Yahtzeee says:

    I can’t read chap 140…can’t access the website..anyone else good the same prob ?

    Like

  46. dawampok says:

    Thank you Yoraikun

    Like

  47. Pingback: Tate no Yuusha no Nariagari [LN] Table of Content | wanmoung

So, what's on your mind?

