Chapter 150: Favorable Discrimination

Note: The translator does not endorse any of the views expressed in this chapter.

Chapter 150: Favorable Discrimination

“I see…” (Naofumi)

Making a strong monster.
Quite a simple and childish desire.
This world has a game-like modification system, so I can see where she is finding her enjoyment.
But I must admit that it is quite rude to experiment on living organisms.

“For that goal, I travelled the land and studied various monsters. I have learned and assimilated various sciences and magics. But those people… They said something about going against god’s creations and creating works of evil. They tried to kill my creations, it was quite troublesome.” (Rat)
“So… to summarize, you’re learning how to strengthen monsters through alchemy. Can I think of you as a sort of monster tamer?” (Naofumi)
“Well… Close enough.” (Rat)

I expected her to deny it, but she seems to be fine with being referred to as such.
At first, I thought she was crazy, but it seems that she is just earnestly focused on a goal.
Is she the type of person that gets overly enthusiastic when it comes to research?

“Can I ask a simple question? Oh, Female knight, please listen as well.” (Naofumi)
“Me too?” (Female Knight)

Female Knight, who had drawn her sword ready to attack, looks confused.
Firo had recovered from the medicine and ran away. Rafatalia is also waiting with sword drawn.
As a matter of fact, Firo is the strongest one among us.
Because Rat was able to take her out without a problem, it’s no mystery why everyone is wary.
Because of the Shield and my poison resistance, my guard isn’t too high.
Perhaps I should be more careful next time.

“There’s one thing that has been bothering me for a while.” (Naofumi)
“What is it?” (Rat)
“Well… Strong Monsters… Are you able to take my already special monsters, and increase their powers even further? For example, could you fuse a Caterpilland and a Dune?” (Naofumi)
“It’s outlawed by some sections of the Church. They only allow for the pure breeding of monsters.” (Rat)
“Then, Rat, your research is…” (Naofumi)
“Yes, some may consider it illegal.” (Rat)

…In many games I’ve played, the fusion of monsters happens on a daily basis.
Are the monster users of this world just plain breeders? Instead of aiming to make strong monsters, they just try to increase their numbers for labor purposes.
…wait, by her phrasing, does that mean that you can crossbreed monsters?

“Is it possible to get an egg with the properties of multiple monsters?” (Naofumi)
“Of course it is possible. It’s like with Demi-Humans. If a Fox and Zveil Demi-Human have kids, it will be a mixed breed. Monsters within similar categories can breed to make children sharing the attributes of both monsters. My research happens to deal with…” (Rat)
“No, I don’t really care about that.” (Naofumi)

I had never thought about what happens when different races of Demi-Humans mix.
But, I have heard that it is possible for a human and a Demi-Human to have kids.
So that logic also applies to monsters?
… How the hell does the ecology of this world function?

“So basically, what you are trying to accomplish is?” (Naofumi)
“I want to research what makes monsters strong, make new types of powerful life-forms, and add to your fighting force.” (Rat)

Rat is extending her hand towards me. For some reason, Taniko’s eyes are sparkling as well.
Taniko always loved monsters. Does she approve of Rat’s research?

“Let her join.” (Taniko)
“Who decided that monsters had to be evil entities that threatened mankind? I want to correct that attitude. Certainly, we can kill monsters and increase our own powers, but then doesn’t that make monsters killing humans for power the exact same thing?” (Rat)
“Is that so?” (Naofumi)
“Murder, killing other humans, will also give you EXP, but it is not practiced because it goes against moral standards.” (Rat)

Hmm… I see.
It’s quite a black world here, isn’t it.

“Everyone in this world was made equally, so why are monsters the evil ones? That’s because they are weak.” (Rat)

Well she may be a bit eccentric, but at least she speaks with conviction.
But, there is a high possibility that she is only saying things that will further her cause.

“Look at Filo Rials, they’re way too famous. Their Queens feast on the flesh of Dragons. They’re called the holy messengers of God even though they’re monsters like all the rest. I want to make a monster that gets a public reputation as good as that. A monster that will be able to help people, and be helped by them.” (Rat)

I can’t deny it. Firo did eat a bit of dragon meat, though it was rotting.
I don’t think an average Filo Rial can get that strong… But I guess that their legends earn them quite a bit of respect.
Perhaps the legends are of monsters like Fitoria.
That one is somehow even stronger than Firo.

“It’s not like I don’t see where you’re coming from.” (Naofumi)

I’ve played plenty of games which involved rearing monsters to be strong.
All this person is doing is taking something that would be the common sense of another world, and trying to apply it to this one.
Though she may be lying.

“So you wish to study the monsters of this village to aid your research?” (Naofumi)
“Yes.” (Rat)
“I hate liars more than all else. If you want to do such work in this village, then to prevent lies I will have to make you one of my slaves. Will you do it even with those conditions?” (Naofumi)
“Sure. If that’s all I have to do, then I’ll happily throw away my human dignity.” (Rat)

She accepted it way too readily.
And… She worded it in quite badly.
It’s not like I make my slaves sacrifice their dignity or anything

“If that’s what I must do to advance my research, then I won’t mind.” (Rat)
“Fumu…” (Naofumi)

If I let her stay, then my monsters may be able to get stronger.
It’s not a bad prospect.
If I place a slave seal on her, then I can act quickly if problems begin to surface down the road.

“I work my monsters hard, you know. Like slaves. You’ll be treated no different.” (Naofumi)
“There are Human and Demi-Human slaves as well. I see no need to give them preferential treatment out of pity.” (Rat)

Mu… Preferential treatment is also technically discrimination.
Overseas, I believe that woman began objecting to receiving such treatment, calling it discrimination as well.
Some Japanese trains even have Women-only railcars as well. Quite a few people of all genders protest against them. (TL: Instituted quite recently- in the last 15 years- to prevent grope and molestation, they still exist during late night hours.)
It might be close to that.

“I don’t like it when people protect one life-form. Filo Rials have more intelligence than other monsters, but why does that mean they have to make a law that prevents the consumption of them? And yet when a dragon appears it is immediately ordered to be slain?” (Rat)
“…” (Naofumi)
“I won’t tell you not to use monsters. In fact, I support you. I hate people only thinking of monsters as something to be destroyed. Monsters are alive as well, and they can help combat the wave. By my theory, monsters are not born of the wave. They can make for strong weapons. Just like the heroes. Whether for good or bad, I hate discrimination. Everyone in this world can be helpful to everything else in it.” (Rat)

Taniko is now glaring at Rat with inflated cheeks.
I don’t know what part of Rat’s ideology ticked her off, though.

“I understand your objective. You want to make my monsters an effective fighting force for the upcoming waves.” (Naofumi)
“Yeah! But that damn Seven Star Hero! I was almost cut down for Heresy!” (Rat)
“Well then hypothetically…” (Naofumi)

I hand a Bioplant seed to Rat.

“This seed is definitely a plant, but if modified incorrectly it will become a monster. If handled properly, however, it can make abundant food, and medicine. What does this tell you?” (Naofumi)
“What are you talking about? That has nothing to do with my research. Anyways, hand it over. I tried working with seeds before, but they quickly deteriorated when I tried to work with them.” (Rat)

Fumu… It seems this one can help in my objectives as well.
She might become trouble later on, but as long as I have the reins called the slave seal, I can control her to some extent.

“I’ll allow it. If you will become my slave, then the village will assist in your research.” (Naofumi)
“Understood. If the Hero of the Shield can only trust slaves, then this is the easiest way to gain your trust.” (Rat)

I exchange a handshake with Rat.

“I’ll count on you from now on. To gain your trust, I will become a slave. In exchange, you will permit and assist in the conducting of my research.” (Rat)
“I don’t allow deceit. As long as you acknowledge that, then I have no problems with you staying here.” (Naofumi)

And so the Alchemist Rat began to live in my village.

“Can I start with modifying that Filo Rial? I’d like to begin by adding another eye on its stomach for increased perception, and perhaps several tentacles to its back for increased movement and tactile manipulation.” (Rat)
“NO!” (Firo)

I hear Firo’s voice shouting from a distance. It seems that there are now more people in this village that she won’t get along with.

“The individual is against it, so you should give it up.” (Naofumi)
“Well that’s unfortunate.” (Rat)
“Why did you drug my Filo Rial in the first place?” (Naofumi)
“You don’t know? Filo Rials can be surprisingly vicious monsters. If I don’t immobilize it first, then I can’t examine it.” (Rat)

Is that how it is? Well I guess it is crazy to suddenly try and examine a wild animal without sedating it first. It might start attacking, or run away.

“Fortunately, your Filo Rial is in quite good shape. She has an annoyingly high amount of energy.” (Rat)

Exactly.
From birth, Firo has had way too much energy.
I don’t think she’s ever been sick.
Perhaps I can also leave veterinary work to her.

Anyways, this is a person I don’t really understand. Her ideologies contain multiple contradictions.
Discrimination is bad, but turning monsters into weapons is Okay. She wants to modify monsters to be stronger. Does she like monsters or hate them?
Anyways. It seems that my own research will be getting easier from now on.

About Yoraikun

A college student who really should be doing something more productive with his time. Also, he can read a bit of Japanese.
This entry was posted in The Rise of the Shield Hero and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

267 Responses to Chapter 150: Favorable Discrimination

  1. f5-man says:

    i shall now go do my dood- woops, i mean duty.(writing this in bathroom doing number 2)

    Like

  2. uz3r013 says:

    you know what just occurred to me, bow that the other 3 “heroes” are fugitives, do you think any of them will beable to access their curse class? spear guy seemed pretty upset

    Liked by 1 person

    • odyssey says:

      that wouldn’t be enough….. shield didn’t get his curse series until he was betrayed, cheated, and stolen.

      Like

    • Anonymous says:

      They already have idiot series of their weapon and in thier heads LOL. So i guest curse series would not be possible🙂

      Like

    • Yoraikun says:

      I think he gets the spear of envy or the spear of lust.

      Like

      • madmann135 says:

        Envy Spear (Envious of Naofumi’s powerful and beautiful slaves)
        Spear of Lust (Lusting after Naofumi’s powerful and beautiful slaves)

        We all know that they will grow up to be attractive and powerful. Empirical evidence points to this conclusion.

        Like

    • anonymous says:

      Naofumi got the curse series from having a moment where he hated the whole world to the point of wanting the world and everyone in it all to burn.

      Like

      • Rokholt says:

        You lot don’t understand…These curse series are made through the Seven Deadly Sins, Naofumi’s Sin or rather Justice is Wrath…He however had been unable to make this wrath into power because the shield had no attack power. Through this desire, bore fruit the corroding power that is wrath and fury. Wrath turned into Fury as it became honed and able to feel once more.

        As Yoraikun put it, most likely Moto….dumbass (can’t seem to say his name without dumbass) will get the spear of Envy as he will most likely be envious of Naofumi. We all know bitch is a bitch and when she sees that a man is worthless she’ll cast them aside. With the spear being “on the run”, where are they hiding most likely, how are they getting funds, what are they doing to stay undetected? These thoughts come up as we try to figure it out. It’s hinted that the spear is working with a resistance group or something because they are cloaking bitch’s high class slave seal.

        Like

        • Geomancer says:

          Then Itsuki would mostly likely get Pride. And Ren… he’s kind of a blank but I’m thinking Greed (possessing powerful subordinates)

          Like

        • odyssey says:

          then by your count what would sword and bow’s deadly sin be? so far we have Wrath and Envy, that just leaves Gluttony, Pride, Sloth, Greed, and Lust. [Thank your Fullmetal for that Sunday school lesson]

          Like

        • Rokholt says:

          Not sure exactly sure on the other two, but I agree that Pride could be interchangeable though I see it more going to Itsuki then Ren. I think Ren might be getting Sloth.

          Like

        • Anonymous says:

          Ren = Greed and Gluttony. he always has his subordinates farm for him and is always FEEDING stuff into his sword.
          Itsuki = Pride and Sloth. His Hero’s Pride and his laziness to fight at fullpower, (only fires when he really needs too)

          Like

        • Anonymous says:

          o3o hmm somehow i think motoyasu will have the lust while ren get pride and itsuki gets the greed. motoyasu’s envy towards naofumi seems will dissapear once he got another woman and will just forget about his jealousy, he seems that simple once a beauty comes to his arm, he immediately happy. as for ren, his righteous and solitude personality seems give him lots of pride and honor….yeah honor at least he accept his mistake about the corpse dragon case…. while for itsuki, it seems he is greedy for attention and favor o3o….u guys can proof me wrong though

          Like

    • Echo says:

      I think depending on situations all heroes could unlock some unique abillity/ies and wasnt just limited to curse class. Was spoiled a little that spear did unlock an unique ability in his spinoff story and similar to curse shield, it has a price that need to be paid in order to activate it.

      Like

  3. maltygos says:

    yoraikun u actually steal job from KOOKIEDREAMER O.O, cuz i was reaaally sure he was going to do from 148 to 150 (and u will be able to take 3 days for free)

    though i rlly appreciate it🙂 tyvm

    Like

  4. Leightjim says:

    Thank you for this translation.

    Comment on story: I was a tad wary of this Alchemist/Tamer. But after hearing her ideology, my opinion of her increased. A real tamer doesn’t stop. If they tamed every single monster, that won’t be enough for them. They will modify to their own pleasure.

    And Firo, you dumb-head, this Tamer can give your dream, to spit poison.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Not A Suspicious Person says:

    Hey do u guys know any good ln/wn? Here’s my list-Arifureta, LMS, Ark, MoM, Gun Ota, Log Horizon, KNM, SAO, No Game No Life, Haken no Kouki Altina, Overlord, Mushoku Tensei, Mondaiji-tachi ga isekai kara kuru soudesu yo, Mahouka no Rettousei, Knights & Magic, Re:Monster, Souen no Historia, Slime Tensei, Yuusha Party no Kawaii ko ga ita no de, Kokuhaku Shite Mita, Sendai Yuusha, and a few more i cant remember.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Anonymoose says:

    Thank you!

    Like

  7. devavizard says:

    Thank you. Based Yoraikun (_ _)

    Like

  8. aristo999999999 says:

    Thank you for the chapter, Yoraikun.

    Like

  9. madmann135 says:

    I appreciate the translation, don’t work yourself hard.

    Like

  10. Anonymous says:

    Finished reading the latest lms and waiting for translations… I heard Ark is good so I will begin it soon. Recommend “Arifureta Shokugyou de Sekai Saikyou” and “Mushoku Tensei”.

    Thanks you for the translations!

    Like

  11. hatoken says:

    Reblogged this on Hatoken – Shieldbro's Adventures and commented:
    Chapter 150 by Yoraikun

    Like

  12. Jason says:

    I wonder if Firo can learn Acid Spit from the alchemist. *-*

    Like

    • Firo's Ahoge says:

      I’ve never been too excited about acid spit… it’s just… poison is usually a horrible magic spell in RPGs.

      Like

      • boonhobo says:

        Ragnarok alchemist’s acid demonstration.

        Breaks equipment and becomes more potent the more intelligence you have. The more vitality your opponent has will further increase this damage.

        Like

      • whoknows says:

        acid and poison are two different thing, though they work similar regarding organic things, acid is definitely strong and work on non-organic things dissolving everthing(at least what don’t have resistence)

        Like

  13. zeke says:

    New saga light novel pls….. if i want a game to novelized,i will choose grandchase.my favorite light novel now is sao and campione!

    Like

    • Anonymous says:

      I tried reading campione I was lost… i saw the anime but I felt like the ln was out of order…

      Like

      • sileaf says:

        yeah, Campione’s taking the route of flashback, instead of telling the story from the beginning. The anime start from how the MC get his power. in LN it is in later volume. I am not bothered with it though.

        Like

  14. ShuanTzu says:

    Hey does someone know the name of a manga that goes like this – the mc kills the ultimate evil, then he’s sent back in time to the first time the world was attacked and he lost several of his friends and family. His main objective ,now that he’s in the past, is to get stronger enough to the world recognize him as a hero so that he can allert them of the danger ahead. It has a lot of rpg elements just like shieldbro and also some real romance since as he goes back in time he saves his childhood lover and then he finds his past-future to be wife, and they all start this quest together .
    Oh great minds of the internet, i’ve been looking everywhere for this story and nuthin… >.<

    Like

  15. Anonymous says:

    i liked the series better when he was hated by the majority of people. Would’ve been cool if it stayed like that until the very end of the series.

    Like

  16. Anonymous says:

    Is it just me or did the story get rule zeroed when Firo tried to get acid spit? The ahoge is the divine instrument of the DM.

    Like

  17. Zeke says:

    is 151 up or still ongoing?

    Like

  18. Anonymous says:

    Muchas gracias. Leer esta novela es lo unico que me entretiene actualmente.❤ you guys for the hard work. Trying to learn Japanese, but first I must master English.

    Like

  19. Wizard172 says:

    Thanks for another excellent translation

    Like

  20. zulhari says:

    i want to ask
    do we need some permission to translate this story?
    i’m planning to translate it to indonesian

    Like

  21. Atlas~ says:

    Sigh, stop giving spoiler to those who haven’t read it yet. I feel sad for them. =.=

    Like

  22. SPOILER***read under ur own risk***

    like many people already say the heroes got their sin’s series, ren is greed,motoyasu obviusly Envy/Lust and itsuki is Pride however motoyasu itself is harmless to naofumi and infact he try to get his favor, so he is the first (and most annoying and in fact the most i like beside naofumi xD) ally; the ones who try kill naofumi are ren and itsuki corroded by their sin’s series.

    each sin’s series have different price for use it and the only one who isn’tseem affected by them is motoyasu xD (or rather i should say the most affected he become entirely broken xDD)

    thanks google shit trad for feed my impatience :v

    Like

    • the only one i am not soo sure is itsuki after a few chapter the trad by google become really a mess :S and i cant understand what the hell are happening (only something about the mind-control state)so i ended dropping the google by then.

      its not really a huge spoiler xD i dont telll u the funny parts xD

      Liked by 2 people

  23. kamagakure says:

    Thanks yet again for another great chapter~😀

    Like

  24. gtyson says:

    Errt who is this Taniko person ?

    Like

  25. Bloodwing says:

    Soooo, this is the first time I’ve commented here, and I just have a question to start, it hasn’t seemed to been cleared up really, but does anyone else remember way WAY WAAAAAYYYYY back at the beginning of the story when Bitch said, “The Hero of the Shield…..may just be the one”…..?? I mean what is up with that? One to betray? Doesn’t sound likely, honestly sounds like Bitch has some ulterior motive that has not been revealed yet

    Like

  26. Anonymous says:

    Is Rat the one on the cover of volume 7?

    Like

    • nyem... says:

      no it‘s someone else if i‘m right that character not appear in web novel and
      SPOILERRR..!

      MAYBE…!!

      i think she‘s the one who awakened Spirit Turtle Shield that stronger than Wrath Shield (not appear in web novel too..)

      Like

  27. T_T CH.152 is so tempting…I take a peek and cannot stop, until in the middle it’s hard to read (a few lines that still not translated) and finally I able to stop…

    Like

  28. Anonreader says:

    Thx for your hard work😉

    Like

  29. hatoken says:

    Yoraikun I need your help.. I’m 80% done and then my laptop crashed and I cant retrieve my file.. I’m using my old laptop now.. Please help me. Y_Y.. I wont be able to post 151.

    Like

  30. Anonymous says:

    yyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeessssssssssssssssssssssssssssssss

    Like

  31. Berserker says:

    I was wondering, where can I find who is going to do which chapter?
    So I can go and spam F5 on their sites too.

    Ty for your hard work.

    Like

  32. Stranger says:

    It took me five days… But I am FINALLY up to date… Finally I have read up to the present chapter, minus the Christmas side story, now, if you don’t mind I need to rest my eyes…

    Like

  33. Dustyn Truax says:

    guess ill check back another day. thanks for helping out the other TL’ers. yoraikun.

    Like

  34. toriko says:

    I need help, I cant remember but there is another light novel that only had a few chapters translated, where a guy goes to another world, but unlike in other series, he is supposedly been brought by accident, as he has no hero status unlike the others that were brought with him, and he has a unique talent/skill, involving words. it was mentioned in the comments of a previous chapter, I don’t remember which or where, I think it was a chapter posted on bakahou’s site. if anyone can help me that would be awesome.!!!!!!

    Like

  35. The Baker says:

    I hope yoraikun is a millionaire like that I won’t feel to bad about taking all his free time to translate for us

    Like

  36. mengku says:

    Plese translete valentine of hero of the shileld

    Like

  37. Anonymous says:

    always have this question what if 2 different kind of demi-human would mate….what would happen the the child?….this chapters acknowledged my question :v

    Like

  38. The Baker says:

    If firo and shield had kids would they be philorial Demi humans?

    Like

  39. Peter says:

    Thank you for the chapter

    Like

  40. Kuro Neko says:

    thanks for the translation

    Like

  41. Pingback: Nov 14 2014: Weekly Update [1] | Light Novel Tracker

  42. Pingback: Tate no Yuusha no Nariagari [LN] Table of Content | wanmoung

  43. Ajay Paulose says:

    I think that was a Susan B. Anthony reference…

    Like

  44. Anikiman says:

    “I hate liars more than all else. If you want to do such work in this village, then to prevent lies I will have to make you one of my slaves. Will you do it even with those conditions?” (Naofumi)
    “Sure. If that’s all I have to do, then I’ll happily throw away my human dignity.” (Rat)

    Now thats a true scientist!

    Like

So, what's on your mind?

