Chapter 168: Alps

ADVERTISING : tictacattack.wordpress.com IS NOW HOSTING THE VALENTINES OF THE SHIELD HERO ALONG WITH hell5atan.wordpress.com

Chapter 168: Alps

“It seems… that an amazing granny has arrived.” (Fohl)

Fohl arrives carrying Atlas on his back.
He’s acting as if he is uninvolved.
Rafatalia and the others have a level cap of 100, but these two can reach 120.
It’s true that having technique can balance out having low stats, but having high stats never hurts.

“What are you talking about? You’re taking her lessons as well.” (Naofumi)
“Ge…” (Fohl)

Fohl has recently been preoccupied with tending to Atlas, and he’s been ignoring my orders.
I don’t know why, but he is behaving quite rebelliously towards me like Kiel when she first got here.
I was able to tame Kiel with food, but it seems that won’t work on this one.
The younger sister Atlas’s condition has improved quite a bit, and it seems a full recovery may be possible.

“Naofumi-sama, it’s been a while.” (Atlas)
“It’s only been two and a half days, you know.” (Naofumi)
“And still we meet here and now. Naofumi-sama suddenly left, so I was feeling… anxious.” (Atlas)

Ah, so she was afraid that her medicine supply had disappeared.
If I don’t feed it to her personally, the effect decreases.

“Nununu…” (Fohl)

Fohl begins staring at me menacingly.
What’s he so bitter about?

“HM? Oy, little girl over there.” (Granny)

The Old Woman approaches Atlas.
She looks over her body.
Please choose one student at a time, or I will be understaffed.

“Laddy, why are you carrying that girl around?” (Granny)

She begins questioning Fohl.
And in response Fohl shifts his glare to her.
Isn’t it obvious that Atlas is sick?
From my point of view, it looks as if the granny is bullying the two siblings.
I’m quite skeptical when it comes to the elderly.
This trauma was probably brought about by Trash.

“Atlas can neither see nor walk!” (Fohl)
“Really? I don’t sense that sort of aura from her. Can you have her stand up for a second?” (Granny)
“D-don’t screw with me. Atlas can’t st-” (Fohl)
“Dear brother, let me try it.” (Atlas)
“… I got it.” (Fohl)

Fohl slowly lowers Atlas, and grasps her arms to steady her.
Well… I don’t think anything will come of this.
This may be a world of magic, but there are some wounds that won’t heal so easily.

“Naofumi-sama, if I may ask for your assistance.” (Atlas)
“Ah, got it.” (Naofumi)

She won’t be able to stand anyways. Someone with as weak a constitution as her won’t recover this fast.
… The Yggdrasil medicine can’t be that effective…
This old woman’s standing right in front of us.
Perhaps the medicine will work.

“Hup…” (Atlas)

Atlas uses me and Fohl’s hands, and manages to stand.

“Wow… Is this what it means to stand on one’s own feet?” (Atlas)
“Ah… Atlas is… Atlas is standing!” (Fohl)

What sort of girl from the Alps are you? (TL: Heidi reference)
… If I never asked Fohl for his name, I would have given him the nickname ‘Alps’ here.
And I would have stuck to it to the end. Like with Taniko.
Now that I whink about it, I don’t know Taniko’s real name. But I have no real intention to learn it, and I don’t really care.
Atlas slowly starts walking while teetering from side to side. She smiles.

“Thank you, Naofumi-sama, Onii-sama.” (Atlas)
“… Atlas, you’ve become healthy…” (Fohl)
“Yes, Onii-sama.” (Atlas)

Her condition was horrible, but she has recovered to this extent.
That medicine really is miraculous.
It worked for the Old Woman and now Atlas.

“And so Naofumi-sama… what should we do from now?” (Atlas)
“Let’s see. I plan to have your brother fight for me. He’s been leveling up with the others, right?” (Naofumi)
“Yes, Onii-sama has been diligently leveling with the others.” (Atlas)
“So what do you want to do?” (Naofumi)

Even if she can walk, I don’t think I can count on her for hard labor.
Atlas is also a Hakuko, so she can reach level 120.

“I also wish to learn how to fight.” (Atlas)
“Atlas! You don’t have to do that!” (Fohl)

Fohl of the Alps shouts out.
But of course he will prevent his sick sister from participating in battle.

“No… I’ve wished this since I was small. If I was ever able to walk, then I wouldn’t want to be the one who just got protected all the time. I want to protect you too.” (Atlas)
“B-but…” (Fohl)

Atlas’s strong will seems to have gotten through to Alps.
… If I keep thinking of him as Alps, I may end up saying it out loud and getting whacked.
I’ll stick with Fohl for now.
Taniko? No idea.

“And so, Naofumi-sama, please let me fight as well… Please let me level up with everyone.” (Atlas)
“Understood. So Fohl, what will you do?” (Naofumi)
“I’ll fight! Protecting Atlas is my duty.” (Fohl)
“No, I wasn’t asking about that…”

I explained the powers granted unto me by my shield’s growth correction abilities.

“And so if you want to truly become stronger, it will probably be best to reset your level. What will you do?” (Naofumi)
“T-that’s…” (Fohl)
“With the Growth Corrections, Atlas may surpass you some day.” (Naofumi)

My words seem to have affected him.

“I want to win against Onii-sama.” (Atlas)
“Nu…” (Fohl)

Fohl hesitates and stares at Atlas’s face.
I guess it will be painful for him if his precious sister gets beat up on the battlefield. He seems to have come to a decision.

“… I got it. I’ll reset.” (Fohl)
“You seem to be discussing something interesting.” (Sadina)

Sadina suddenly appears.

“I wonder if I should do it as well.” (Sadina)
“Fumu…” (Naofumi)

I was going to the Dragon Hourglass anyways, so I don’t mind.

“We’ll be leaving immediately. Military Instructor, please help Rafatalia and Rishia.” (Naofumi)
“I understand.” (Granny)

Sadina is large, so we’ll have to couple a cart to the carriage… Oh, right.

“Are the Lemos here?” (Naofumi)
“What is it?” (Lemo)

The Lemos gather.

“Are you people raising your levels as well?” (Naofumi)
“Yes, most of us were already over level 30 when we got here.” (Imya’s Uncle)

Imya’s uncle begins explanations.

“I see, then anyone here who wants to learn blacksmithing, come with me.” (NAofumi)
“Blacksmithery? Then I’ll go.” (Imya’s Uncle)

Imya’s Uncle raises his hand.
What?

“I’ve already put the basics to heart.” (Imya’s Uncle)
“I see, then come along.” (Naofumi)
“Understood.” (Imya’s Uncle)
“While we’re gone, everyone can dig burrows for themselves. Does anyone specialize in that field?” (Naofumi)
“Everyone is quite skilled in that aspect.” (Imya’s Uncle)
“Got it.” (Naofumi)

It seems that at least that area will finish without a hitch.

“Where is Imya, anyways?” (Naofumi)
“Imya is currently at the clothing maker’s place to learn how to make clothing. Is that alright with you?” (Imya’s Uncle)
“I have no issues. Tell her that she can learn freely.” (Naofumi)
“Yes.” (Imya’s Uncle)

Imya’s developed an interest in making clothes.
If I leave it to the Tailor, it should be fine.
It seems that the people of my village will finally be able to wear decent clothes soon.

“Oy, why are you wearing a loincloth?” (Naofumi)

Sadina appears wearing a loincloth. She’s also wearing a vest, but that doesn’t make her appearance any less strange.
She’s also given one to Kiel, and she walks around in it.
It’s aesthetically terrible. It’s up to Imya to prevent this town from turning into one of loincloths.

“Personal tastes.” (Sadina)

Sadina offers a brief reply.

“I’m home~. Melty-chan was busy so she rejected me.” (Firo)

Firo comes back from the neighboring village at the right time. I call her over.

“Then what shall I do?” (Atlas)

Atlas, who we are leaving behind calls out.
It’s good that she’s motivated to work.
Fohl is coming to the Castle Town with us to reset his level, but Atlas was level 1 from the beginning.

“Military Advisor, what do you think of this girl? Can we send her off to level in this state?” (Naofumi)
“… Her battle senses are of genius levels. She has learned to sense presence even without my teachings. It will be fine to throw her into battle now.” (Granny)
“Quit spouting crap! Treat her more carefully!” (Fohl)

Fohl snapped.
Whenever I meet him he seems angry.
… Though I’m not one to speak.

“What’s wrong?” (Firo)
“Firo-san, it seems that Onii-sama does not wish to send me into battle.” (Atlas)
“Hm… is Atlas-chan strong?” (Firo)
“No idea.” (Atlas)
“Try Punching Firo.” (Firo)

Firo tries to act as Atlas’s senior and presents herself for Atlas’s attack.

“Eh? Ah… Sure.” (Atlas)

Atlas closes her fist, and hits it against Firo’s chest.
It lets out quite a nice sound.
The next moment leaves me speechless.

“AKYAAAAAAAAAA!” (Firo)

Firo does a somersault and falls flat on the ground.

“I-it’s the real deal. Atlas-chan’s punch really hurt. Master, please heal me…” (Firo)

With teary eyes, Firo stares at me.
Is she acting? That was a terrible performance.

“I just slightly disrupted the flow of the massive power within Firo… did it hurt that much?” (Atlas)
“Yeah…” (Firo)
“I’m sorry.” (Atlas)
“No, I’m fine. It doesn’t hurt anymore.” (Firo)
“Stop it with the jokes, monster girl! Stop trying to send my sister into battle!” (Fohl)
“Atlas-chan, punch him.” (Firo)
“Ah, yes.” (Atlas)

On Firo’s order Atlas smacks her fist into her brother’s chest.
Fohl makes no attempt to block, and takes the attack head on.

“KAHA…” (Fohl)

He lets out a loud sound and falls to his knees.
He seems to be tearing up.

“I-I didn’t feel… anything so… Please stay… home.” (Fohl)
“You’re obviously pushing it…” (Naofumi)

This is actually quite amazing.
How did she manage to inflict damage on Fohl and Firo?
Is she able to sense something else because she can’t see?
She’s… stronger than her brother.
If she grows from here, she may turn out to be amazing. As expected of the Hakuko race.
This was an unexpected development in a good way.
The Old Woman should get to work on her immediately.

“Well, just go level in a way that doesn’t put yourself in too much danger. We’re off to go Level Reset.” (Naofumi)
“Ye~s.” (Atlas)
“”I-I still don’t approve of you making Atlas fight. (Fohl)
“Onii-sama, no matter what you say, I want to fight. Please follow Naofumi-sama’s directions.” (Atlas)
“B-but…” (Fohl)
“Firo, grab Fohl. We’re going.” (Naofumi)
“Yeah!” (Firo)

Firo grabs the resisting Fohl. The other slaves prepare for the harsh trip.

“Level up the dragon chick with you. Now then, we’re off.” (Naofumi)
“See you soon, Naofumi-sama.” (Rafatalia)
“Yeah, I’ll be back soon.” (Naofumi)

Rafatalia’s always seems to be seeing me off, but I’ve never had the opportunity of seeing her off.
But there’s no need for me to mull over it.
And so I took the slaves that wanted to level reset, and those that wanted to learn from the old man to the Castle Town.

About Yoraikun

A college student who really should be doing something more productive with his time. Also, he can read a bit of Japanese.
This entry was posted in The Rise of the Shield Hero and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

505 Responses to Chapter 168: Alps

  1. tam says:

    so much feeling for this

    Like

  2. soraglory says:

    I tried my hand at writing, so far I’ve only written a chapter but still please check it out
    Atarashiiseikai.wordpress.com

    Like

  3. Jessé Godoi says:

    obrigado pela trabalho duro!

    Like

  4. Mario says:

    I do not have anything to say…Hmm…What about the Shadows…i believe they are hidding something…and know more than they want you to know…The first time we meet a Queen she was actually a shadow so my thinking process was like:
    The queen is actually Shadow or She need to hide herself because she is in danger, right now it can even be just an error of the author or not, i do not know.
    Since they know so much i even believe they were heroes before…something like…”i use time travel to many times and now, for some reason, my body became to change, the color of my skin has become of other color…now is black i look at a mirror and my face was not there…i can’t use time travel anymore now…i am a shadow”. So basically my “story and nothing else” is saying Shadows are fallen heroes (heroes who made to much mistakes…like Motoyasu and the rest in the loop thing story).

    Like

    • Mario says:

      Now that i think about it…it is pretty much like Lord of the Rings.

      Like

    • Wizard172 says:

      I don’t think so…
      Shadows are ninjas
      An like a game their job have a unique set of skill
      I think that the Queen has Máster 2 jobs. mage and ninja

      Like

      • Mario says:

        Well, it was an idea…
        The first time they meet the Queen she say Degasoru (i do not remember the exact word) like the shadow…it was pretty strange.

        Like

        • Yoraikun says:

          The first time they thought they met the Queen, it was a body double.

          Like

        • Mario says:

          Yeah, and that is why the king believes she was a double first (but then she used magic and then he recognise her)…i guess that explain everything about that scene…so that is why the author do that, i did not remember that part untli now. Basically it was not an error after all. Thanks for that.

          Like

  5. teeleer says:

    do you know when the valentine special takes place? like chronologically, is it after the Christmas special

    Like

  6. novik says:

    Just how big is Sadina?

    Like

  7. FL says:

    A thought I just had: a easy way to kill Naofumi:

    Get the strongest poison you can, and inject it into a Rukoru Fruit. And then, lay in wait in a town Naofumi passes, and get him to eat it as an ‘identification test’. Afterwards, either obediently get killed by Raphtalia, or run for your life.

    Like

  8. Coyote Starrk says:

    As always, a nice and welcomed job😛 I am tankful for this.

    anyways I’m starting to wonder when we’ll be able to see the stat charts of the hero and his companions as they are now😀

    Like

  9. FL says:

    I want opinions. Which formatting looks better?

    “U, UWAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAA!?” (Motoyasu)
    “NYAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAA!?” (Firo)

    versus

    “U, UWAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAA!?” [Motoyasu]
    “NYAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAA!?” [Firo]

    Try comparing chapter 156 to the one before it for a more complete example. I slightly feel like the latter is more professional, and I’m thinking of editing the previews in the baka-tsuki page to that format. Should I? With the microsoft word ‘replace’ command, it’d be pretty easy.

    Like

  10. END says:

    Keep up the good work Yoraikun!

    Like

  11. necrosis says:

    So a little unrelated to this chapter but does anyone think that the dragon in his shield is going to try and posses the baby dragon and try to kill him

    Like

    • Yoraikun says:

      The dragon hates Ren, not Naofumi.

      Like

      • necrosis says:

        I got that but in 163 it talked to him basically saying I’m going to kill you because you are useless now
        “The wrath of thou who burned me was exquisite….no, that’s wrong. Together with me and mine power, thy strength was raised. However, it’s insufficient, I’m unsatisfied.” (???)

        This is….who? Who’s voice is this?

        “I will be the ones to kill thee. I will have thee take responsibility for killing me, by compensating with thy body” (???)

        Like

        • Mario says:

          Well, apparently Tanuki made the same mistake and she right now hate Naofumi, because she believe he killed a dragon, but it was actually a zombie and then she is going to hate Ren (i read the Chrismas thing)…i think you can be right, but i think all is going to have a process…probably when they capture Ren…
          And Rishia is going to fight the archer boy in the coliseumto awake him (only a guess)
          In a book all has a time.

          Like

        • necrosis says:

          I didn’t read ahead so please don’t spoil it for me

          Like

        • Mario says:

          Oh, you did not read it? and you made that guess?, you are pretty good…
          Well about Tanuki hating Naofumi for that…it was only my guess too, maybe she hate him because he killed a dragon zombie…it makes not that much sense, but who knows.
          Do not worry i do not put spoilers, all i write are only theories like you.

          Like

        • necrosis says:

          thank you also I guess I really should say thanks for the translations never got around to doing that yet

          Like

        • wesleyhallan says:

          At really, Taniko don’t hate Shildbro cause he killed the zombie, she just a dumb and annoy girl at moment.Even Naofumi doens’t care much about her. And she is just stubborn with a monster fetiche. As said on few chapters back, she’s agree with survive of the most strong rule (sorry bad english, but i dont know if fitness is the right word for this phrase.)

          Like

    • muel says:

      i read the spoiler,,

      and i can answer it, if you want,,

      Like

    • necrosis says:

      I would rather be surprised I hate ruining plot development

      Like

  12. jyunshinweed says:

    I’m interested to see how Atlas’ character turns out.
    Whether she will fall for our donkan Naofumi-sama remains to be seen.

    Like

    • UrobrouS says:

      more than donkan, he’s been scarred by bitch so bad he can’t conceive the possibility of having a positive relationship with a woman that is closer than him and raphtalia/firo.
      as for your speculation;

      obviously.
      it’s japan and it’s anime and it’s lolis.

      do you not know stuff?

      Like

  13. Sashiyora says:

    I’m curious about how Atlas sees the world through “Aura”
    Is it the same as how Toph sees the world from Last airbender by her foot?

    Like

  14. That guy says:

    Think about sonar or radar, technically everyone emits a faint electromagnetic field she can “see it”

    Like

  15. muel says:

    cih,, that stupid and dense hero,,
    with so many chick around and not even a single flag raise yet..

    so hateful😀

    Like

  16. toriko says:

    his defense is so high, just like alcohol he is probably unable to raise his flag.

    Like

  17. Not A Suspicious Person says:

    (Atlas….the perfect victim. Hihihihihihihi. So innocent and trusting. And blind! She’s perfect!)

    3 hours later

    Me: Hey little girl.
    Atlas: Yes?
    Me: Would you like a massage?
    Atlas: Yes?
    Me: Come into the shop then. (Opens van door)
    Atlas: Okay. (Comes into the van)

    To Be Continued…………………………………………

    Like

  18. Thyros says:

    Hey, could someone help me figure some things about Baka-Tsuki?

    How can I register for a foreign language translator? Because I’m translating (from english, not japanese) Shieldbro’s Saga to (Brazillian) Portuguese -> a guy named njurken is helping too, and now we have 14 chapters, but we are working on the rest and all. You can find the translations on my WordPress and all that.

    Se você é brasileiro e quer ajudar a divulgar, eu agradeço muito; seja para seu amigo que não fala/gosta de inglês, seja para alguém que você acha que iria gostar mas vive inventando desculpas o/

    Like

  19. trueputa21 says:

    rip refresh!hahahaha🙂

    Like

  20. the 25h night says:

    Firo’s Ahoge what is that cat girl picture from or if any one else knows please tell me and thank you in advance or is it not from any thing.

    Like

  21. FL says:

    Chapter 170 needs serious TLC. Half of it is nearly illegible. I’m going to put a really edited crappy version in the preview page, while waiting for a better version to appear.

    Like

  22. tictacattack says:

    New Valentine of the Shield Hero posted (chapter 5). Avaliable at tictacattack.wordpress.com.
    Thanks again to Yoraikun for advertising.

    Like

  23. FIROcrathy says:

    Anyone translating chapter 169?

    Like

  24. snowflakeman says:

    Does 169 matter just hoping they would continue with 173

    Like

    • That guy says:

      Chapter 169 DOES matter what if some really important shit goes down and you didn’t read it and that leaves you confused about the following content for the rest of time??????????

      Like

  25. That guy says:

    Also the wait is killing me its been two days since the last Shieldbro update and I’m kinda loosing my mind here. There are 3 chapters taunting me and I know it but without 169 I cant read them!!!!

    Like

  26. redneck19999 says:

    kookie posted 169 on her site

    Like

  27. sadina says:

    any other novels that you guys can recommend, give me links please

    Like

  28. Second says:

    So who knows some good long novels like shieldbro? I’m currently up to date with Moonlight sculpture, can anyone recommend me another one?

    Like

  29. aditamaki says:

    i wish someone like yorai-shi and bakahou-shi translating rokujouma no shinryokusha daily so i can keep enjoying my days

    ahh~ i really want to read rokujouma no shinryokusha
    please someone tanslate it!!!!!!!!!! or share me the book

    Like

  30. muel says:

    yoraikun,,
    are you translate for chapter (173)??

    kooki-chan said that she do some editing chapter (170)-(172)
    though chapter (170) already been edit by someone

    http://www.baka-tsuki.org/project/index.php?title=Tate_no_Yuusha_no_Nariagari:Web_Chapter_170_Preview

    and chapter (171)-(172) aren’t that hard to read,
    there only need for waiting next chapter for me,😀

    Like

  31. anonuser says:

    I think kookiedreamer will edit chapters 170-172. She wrote it in her blog

    Like

  32. Sh0 says:

    Thank you for the hard work!!!

    Like

  33. anon88 says:

    Since in faq, yoraikun said:
    “Q: What translation software do you use?
    A: I don’t use a software to directly translate the Japanese. I am the machine that does the translation in itself”

    I am of opinion that leaving single chapters untranslated or unspoken for in reg page of baka-tsuki and leaving someone to translate it (which most likely yoraikun will have to pick up) is very stressful for yoraikun. Also asking for yoraikun to slowdown or forcing him to slowdown in translating chapters is counter-productive.
    For me, i think when yoraikun is in the zone he can translate continuous chapters and achieve a feeling of eustress.

    well that’s just what i think…

    Like

  34. Yoraikun, can you help edit chapters 170-172 or re-TL that chapter, because it’ll take some time if it’s just kookie, if my memory not goes wrong, it’s faster for you to translate it from scratch than editing. Thank you.

    Like

  35. toriko says:

    honestly chp 170-172 isn’t translated amazingly, but at the same time with a small amount of brain power u can get through the whole thing, so those of you that are complaining, either ur retarded in which case how do u have the intelligence to complain (one of lifes mysteries) or you are ungrateful bastards that expect shit for free, cuz u think ur entitled. those people worked hard on those chapters, and admit that they need work, so don’t go begging for better ones because they are not done well enough, maybe be thankful that they were done at all.

    Like

    • I didn’t complain but, english is my 3rd language, so the actual content might be lost when my brain process it, because anyone from the ‘INTERNET’ is all over the worlds

      Like

      • farushalein says:

        Well English is my second learned language, third was french, after that spanish and russian….(I stop here)
        You may imagine, how my brain is processing about “how to build sentences”, if every sentence seems wrong….
        But I am quite good at interpreting goodwill and meaning, so you don’t need to excuse yourself🙂 You too don’t need to stress yourself for a few critics from toriko, me, or whoever.

        Like

        • Yoraikun says:

          English is my first, then Japanese, then… No, I’m just bilingual.

          Liked by 1 person

        • Nero says:

          6 for me – 5 same as you + japanese(cant read or write jap and rus)… Now try to imagine what happens if I try to type an english sentence while watching japanese anime, hearing some people talk spanish next door and discussing on russian on the phone…😄

          Like

        • farushalein says:

          Oh yeah!
          I am translating TnYnN to german from the japanese raws…
          Well my comments are english, my wife talks to some french friends sometimes, and I am sometimes looking up the english translation if there’s something I didn’t get.
          So it’s an eng, french, german, japanese hellcircle :O
          I wrote some pretty funny lines and did some even more funny mistakes^^ but as far as I got it:
          It’s pretty easy to combine the japanese gramma with german. there are quite some similarities when I use a certain structure.
          Luckily when I’m at home, there’s almost no spanish. So I got that one going for me, which is nice.😮

          Like

  36. farushalein says:

    I’d have liked to bee that too, but German is a given, english is forced to be learning in german schools. you too have to decide at a certain point for a third language (Spanish/French/Latin)… You can’t imagine how confusing it is sometimes… Plus I like japanese, but I have so many structures to build sentences, so that I’m hardly able to use the correct one.

    Like

  37. Hey guys , what are you reading while waiting for new chapters here?
    I read LMS, Ark, mushoku tensei , Overlord, Arifureta , Yuusha party, Risou and Word Master

    Like

  38. Nero says:

    I read Word Master yesterday, atm Madan no Ou vol 5 and after I finish maybe Mahouka Koukou no Rettousei vol 13(waited quite a while till translation finished but than didn’t have the time to read since I found quite many good things to read like Tate no Yuusha no Nariagari)…

    Liked by 1 person

  39. Anon-believer who believe all and see all says:

    If i get a choice between melty and malty.
    i would choose mif queen.
    what would you choose?

    Liked by 1 person

  40. FL says:

    What is the proper way to say Atlas’s name?
    Kookie uses ‘Atla’, while Yoraikun uses ‘Atlas’.

    Is it that only specific people call her ‘Atla’, or…?

    Like

    • Yoraikun says:

      It’s a translator preference.

      Like

      • FL says:

        Uuuu, got it. For someone trying to get the preview chapters to match, that’s kind of hard to deal with.
        …Alright, from now on, I’ll leave Kookie’s translations as ‘Atla’ without modification. Before I thought it was some kind of typo or misunderstanding. I guess I’ll go change it back.

        Like

        • Yoraikun says:

          No, her name is spelled Atora, which, while it doesn’t have an L, is still the official pronunciation of the titan Atlas.

          Like

        • Yoraikun says:

          However, it may also be supposedly in reference to Atrax, a mythological god, and founder of Atracia (who happens to have a spider named after him).

          Like

        • FL says:

          I rather like ‘Atora’. It somehow feels like it fits her character.
          Wait, that’s kinda funny. Atora -> A tora -> A tiger.
          Did the author intend this? Nah…he wouldn’t make a main heroine’s name a joke, right?

          Like

        • FL says:

          The thing is, when I read ‘Atlas’, I think a muscular man supporting a globe. Which is pretty much the opposite of Atlas. Well, I’ll get used to it. Mental images change.

          Like

        • Yoraikun says:

          But Naofumi clearly states it is an ungirly name, and one he has seen in games.

          Like

        • FL says:

          Atlas… That’s a new name… In my world, it had many meanings such as a game or map.
          Was it ever a girl’s name?

          You’re right! But rather than an ungirly name meaning ‘manly’, I think he means it’s rarely applied to humans.

          Like

  41. Growldon says:

    Merry Birthmas everyone!!! and a happy thanks year.

    Like

  42. Pingback: Update Tate no Yuusha Ch.166 – Ch.173 | wanmoung

  43. daCheese says:

    I’m not super fluent, but the translations for the Valentines side story from 3 onwards seem totally off to me

    Like

  44. Azrael says:

    What do u mean by fake

    Like

So, what's on your mind?

