Chapter 179: A Mass of Klesha

NAAAOOOOFFFUUUMMMIIII!!! CCCOOOMMMEEE BAAACCCKKKK!!!!

Chapter 179: A Mass of Klesha (TL: Google it)

“It should be somewhere around here.” (Naofumi)

I climb the mountain, only to find that the ecosystem here is just as messed up as ever.
The soil is polluted, and it feels like the flow of magic here is abnormal.

I never thought that I’d have to return here someday.
Taniko stares back at the village with angry eyes. What exactly is she mad about?
Last time, Firo was able to send all of the monsters we encountered flying, but this time is different.

We wasted time fighting the battles.
Though having Sadina, Rat, Taniko and Melty here sped things up.

“I lead the flow of the power of the land, and give it the power of incarnation. Earth Pulse, become my power.「Dark Firebolt」!” (Taniko)

Taniko’s magic summons black flames that burn the monsters.
The incantation seems to be fundamentally different from the magic I know of.

“Her magic seems to concentrate the surrounding energy and release it.” (Melty)
“It really is a strange magic.” (Naofumi)
“Yeah… I’ve only learned the basics, but this is a magic that borrows powers from the surroundings.” (Taniko)
“I see.” (Naofumi)
“Father could use much more powerful magic.” (Taniko)

Taniko continues casting her strange spells. I wonder what sort of mage her father was.
Rat looks at the magic and cocks her head.

“That magic is…” (Rat)
“You know it?” (Naofumi)
“It doesn’t seem to be a power of human or demi-human origin.” (Rat)

But Taniko is a demi-human, right?
She has dog-ish ears and everything.
I never asked her exactly what race she was, because I wasn’t interested, though.

“Could she have received special protection from something?” (Rat)
(TL: as in Divine protection, divine gifts.)
“By the way, what sort of magic can you use?” (Naofumi)
“Recovery Magic.” (Rat)
“Ah, I see. I’ll leave support to you.” (Naofumi)
“That’s what I planned on doing anyways.” (Rat)

Sadina eliminates the remaining monsters in silence.

“It’s not widely known, but it isn’t an extinct form of magic. Perhaps I should teach her some advanced spells.” (Sadina)

Sadina spins her harpoon and begins to cast magic on the monsters that begin appearing in great numbers. She pulls out a canteen of water and holds it out.

“I, Sadina, Draw out the power of Water to do my bidding. Dragon Pulse, eliminate my enemies. 「Saint Aquabolt」!” (Sadina)

Using a similar chant as Taniko, Sadina unleashes a shining mass of water.
Everyone there is taken aback.

“By the way, I can also use the main varieties of magic as well.” (Sadina)
“I who has understood the origin of power command you. Once again be read and come forth. Pierce all with spheres of water, 「Faust Aquashot」!” (Sadina)

She takes out another monster with a magic I am familiar with.
It seems Sadina is needlessly skillful.
It’s not like she was hiding anything, I just don’t know too much about her in general.

“Understand? Magic that takes from one’s surroundings has power proportional to the surrounding environment. Make sure to prepare things to aid you beforehand.” (Sadina)

Sadina hands the canteen to Taniko.

“This flask contains holy water, so it works well on the monsters of this land. But if you use it to much, the effectiveness drops so be careful.” (Sadina)
“G-got it.” (Taniko)
“If you’re really in a tight situation, you can try borrowing power from the sky. It’s hard to control, though.” (Sadina)
“Amazing, you can use the same magic as father.” (Taniko)
“Only a little. I usually use magic that changes the flow of energy in my own body.” (Sadina)
“What sort of magic is that?” (Naofumi)

That sounds convenient, of course it’s not like I’ll be able to learn it.

“Humans and Demi-Humans need special blessings to learn it, so it’s rare. Perhaps Naofumi-chan will be able to use it.” (Sadina)
“What do you mean?” (Naofumi)
“Ah, but with Firo-chan here, that might be difficult.” (Sadina)

I can’t learn it if I’m with Firo?
I’m getting more and more curious as to what sort of magic it is.

“… Are you possibly referring to that?” (Rat)

Rat seems to have figured something out. She addresses Sadina.

“One of the extinct magics. Currently only known and passed down by high class monsters, Dragon Pulse Order?” (Rat)
“Correct. I was once taught it a long time ago.” (Sadina)
“T-that’s kinda amazing.” (Melty)

Melty seems to have never heard of it before.

“Ah, Melty-chan might have the aptitude for Choral Magic.” (Sadina)
“Eh!?” (Melty)

Choral Magic? What’s that?
Is it similar to ritual magic?
In the magic books I’ve read, was that magic there? I think I’ve heard about it before, but I can’t remember where.

“Impossible, Impossible, not happening.” (Melty)
“It’s fine. Melty-chan. Even your hair color signifies that you have the talent. Trust me.” (Sadina)

Melty is frantically denying it.
Ah, I think Choral Magic was that thing Bitch was doing. Casting several magics at once.

“Anyways, you have the Talent, Melty-chan. Work hard.” (Sadina)
“Uuu….” (Melty)

Even so, Melty’s level isn’t that high. I don’t think you should expect that much from her.

“I’ll teach you when you’re ready. Shall I lecture on magic as we head there?” (Sadina)

This has somehow begun to feel like a Picnic. You know, Firo’s life is on the line here…
Anyways, we talk as we climb up the mountain. We arrive at the area that the Dragon Zombie had previously lain. It’s been 3 hours since we set out.
There isn’t a single blade of grass growing in the area.
Even now, this land is heavily polluted…

“Where could Gaelion be?” (Naofumi)
“… I think that way.” (Taniko)

Taniko points further up the mountain.
What?
As if answering her statement, black fog begins rising from that area.

“My, my… That seems quite ominous.” (Rat)
“But we have to go.” (Taniko)

Taniko begins to lead the party.

“You know the way?” (Naofumi)
“Yeah… This way.” (Taniko)

Taniko seems familiar with the area as she leads the party.

“I see, so that’s it.” (Sadina)
“What? What happened?” (Naofumi)

Sadina seems to have figured something out. If you don’t explain it, I won’t get it.

“Naofumi-chan, are you the type of person that digs up people’s pasts? Shall I tell you this Onee-san’s past?” (Sadina)
“Don’t care!” (Naofumi)

She seems to be dodging the subject.
Past? Did Taniko live here before?
Was she part of a reclusive village of Demi-humans that lived with the dragon… This area’s population died out from plague. Perhaps she had tried to escape it and gotten sold off.
And the magic was passed down through that village.
Was it something like that?

“There!” (Taniko)

Two hours later, Taniko suddenly jumps and begins pointing. Of course, we had to fight a lot of monsters on the way. Firo’s remaining time is running out, yet we were wasting time on the way here.
Gaelion is lying down in front of a cave.
Is he asleep? He’s not moving at all.

We remain hidden as we approach him.
If we can get close enough, I can seal him with Shield Prison. After that, we can prepare magics and release them the moment the prison vanishes to weaken him. And then Rat can use her drug.
After that, I’ll just need to get Gaelion to spit up the core.
But that’s just the best case scenario.

Shield Prison’s range is 5 meters. We are 20 meters from Gaelion.
I analyze him. His level is 55. He’s stolen more than 20 levels from Firo.

“GYAOOO!” (Gaelion)

Gaelion suddenly opens his eyes and rushes into the cave.

“Damn!” (Naofumi)

A failure.
But now we can trap him in the cave.
We carefully peer into the cave.
Gaelion seems to be scampering around the cave, frantically looking for something.

“What is he doing?” (Naofumi)
“I think he is looking for his treasure… The villagers took it already.” (Taniko)
“Dragons have a habit of collecting things. I think the soul in the core Gaelion ate had some lingering affections for his treasure.” (Rat)

I see, so Dragons are that sort of lifeform.

“…” (Taniko)

Taniko quietly murmurs something.
But I have no time to hear her out.

“Okay, let’s go.” (Naofumi)
“Gaelion!” (Taniko)

And we approach the target.

“GYAOOOOOOO!” (Gaelion)

Gaelion shouts out.
Thump!
The Shield pulses in response to the yell.
W-what is this!?
When Gaelion shouted out earlier, nothing like this happened.

“This seems to be dangerous. We should create a bit more distance.” (Rat)
“Gaelion! Come here! Please!” (Taniko)

But the shield continues to pulsate.
A visible black aura emanates from it and begins enveloping Gaelion.
And Gaelion even begins sucking up the pollution from the surrounding land.
Gaelion’s body gradually increases in size.

“I’m getting a very bad feeling, but Rat, do you know anything?” (NAofumi)
“How should I know? Isn’t it your shield’s fault?” (Rat)
“Probably… I think I absorbed some things like Firo did.” (Naofumi)
“Hey, Naofumi. Why do you look a little happy?” (Melty)
“Ha?” (Naofumi)

Well, this did give off a bit of a ‘Boss Battle’ vibe.
… But I’m getting a very ominous feeling. Something must be wrong with me.

“Naofumi, You got power from the Zombie Dragon’s core, right?” (Melty)
“Yeah, the shield I used to defeat the Spirit Turtle, the Wrath Shield used the core’s power.” (Naofumi)
“Didn’t that shield appear whenever you got mad at Sister and Father?” (Melty)
“Sister? Ah… Why was I angry at her again?” (Naofumi)
“THAAAAT’S IT!” (Melty and Sadina)

Melty and Sadina point their finger at me and shout out.

“Naofumi, that thing sucked up your hatred for Sister, among other things!” (Melty)
“W-what!?” (Naofumi)

Damn. I can’t remember anything.
I get the feeling that it’s something I’m better off forgetting. The world around me seems off.
Now that I think about it… Sadina is quite a beauty as well.
Why didn’t I notice it before?

“Naofumi, your eyes are creepy. Go back to your normal self.” (Melty)
“Even if you tell me that~” (Naofumi)

Rafatalia. When I think of her, my heart beats faster.
Firo is in trouble. Even when shes a bird, she’s quite cute. In her human form, I might fall for her like Motoyasu.
Melty looks like a standard Tsundere, which is quite nice as well.
Atlas is also a blind cute girl. I can imagine her growing up to be a beauty. Fohl’s Sis-con is understandable.
Fufufu. If this was an Eroge, it would be NTR.

… This is realy bad! I don’t know what’s bad, though.
What’s this about NTR? Useless!

Is the me without Hate, Resentment, and Killing intent just a mass of Klesha?
I must retrieve my negativity fast, or things will get dangerous.
In numerous ways.

About Yoraikun

A college student who really should be doing something more productive with his time. Also, he can read a bit of Japanese.
This entry was posted in The Rise of the Shield Hero and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

187 Responses to Chapter 179: A Mass of Klesha

  1. U know he will most likly turn back to normal when he meets up with raphy……..or not

    Like

    • Doccer says:

      mmm yeah the standard cliche right now would be that Raphtalia shows up late if at all only to find out about Sheildbro’s newly rediscovered libido AFTER he turns back to ‘normal’ and he acts like they are the crazy ones.

      Like

  2. nalo says:

    yeap, thanks man

    Liked by 1 person

  3. lee shong says:

    noooooooo where did the demon lord naofumi i once respected go. now where will he get his great power from, regret, wrong anime.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. eis says:

    otaku mode?

    Like

  5. Yo Lun La says:

    “Sadina is quite a beauty as well” I need the picture !

    Like

  6. aristo999999999 says:

    Thanks for the new translation!

    Like

  7. Sniphunt says:

    Naofumi on Motoyasu + Hentai mode…
    You better run~

    Like

  8. TurtleBeech says:

    — …. … — – .- -. .. -.- — .– .- … .-. .- .. … . -.. -… -.– – …. . -.. .-. .- –. — -. – …. .- – .-. . -. -.- .. .-.. .-.. . -.. –··– .– …. .. -.-. …. .. … .– …. -.– … …. . ·—-· … ..-. .- — .. .-.. .. .- .-. .– .. – …. – …. . .-.. .- -. -.. … -.-. .- .–. . -… . -.-. .- ..- … . …. . .-. ..-. .- – …. . .-. -·–· – …. . -.. .-. .- –. — -. -·–·- .-. .- .. … . -.. …. . .-. – …. . .. .-. .- -. -.. – .- ..- –. …. – …. . .-. — .- –. .. -.-. ·-·-·-
    😀 thx for the chapter!

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Zeke says:

    Yorai-chi is a lump of klesha for translating some chapter for the GREEDY us! wahahahahahah

    Like

  10. Eric Tran says:

    I LOVE IT AS IN IM DYING. DKM. NAOFUMI PLS.

    Liked by 1 person

  11. The Tinniest Snowman says:

    Man I want to help translate, but I have no idea how(plus I know zero Japanese) and would have to use machine translation just to do this. Is it possible to translate this stuff with just machine and get it just as good as translators? I mean time isn’t a issue I got nothing to do 24/7, almost 365 days a year. Or would I need to learn Japanese first? I just really want to help, and bored with all this time on my hands.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Ziru says:

      I’ve been translating Suterurareta Yuusha no Eiyuutan on my blog using a translation tool known as Translation Agreggator. 4 chapters out so far and people seem to like the quality just fine. Having decent language skills (in general) is a huge help. Once you understand what particles are it helps a lot too.

      I can help you get set up sometime if you want. Maybe practice by comparing your translation to mine?

      Like

      • Pablo AS says:

        Really like suterurareta. Thanks. I prefer speed translations but not if the quality suffers to much from it

        Like

      • The Tinniest Snowman says:

        Thank you very much. I might as well get on this little adventure tomorrow by my standards.It might take me a bit, but I will get good enough at this to help other translators. (or at least that is my current free time goal, besides games and building a street lamp in Autodesk Maya)

        Like

    • Cyrogen says:

      I’m translating Slave Harem with nearly zero Japanese knowledge, and the little that I do have hasn’t helped, so it may as well be zero.

      My quality isn’t as high as a proper translator, but I think I’m doing a decent job.

      I posted a brief guide about how I did it, I’m using Translation Aggregator, the same as Ziru. http://wartdf.wordpress.com/2014/11/05/translating-a-light-novel/

      Like

      • The Tinniest Snowman says:

        I have bookmarked what you put as a link as it is 11:46 right now and I might be heading of to game land or sleepy land in a few moment. Thank you for the help.

        Like

  12. Emanon says:

    In the next episode.
    Naofumi will turn into a Motoyasu and builds a harem!?! Nooooo!!

    Liked by 1 person

  13. Cyclloid says:

    Starting the countdown to the half way point. 10….

    Like

  14. Pasaway says:

    Thank You for translating as expected of Yorai- sama

    Like

  15. ZaneNight says:

    Thanks again Yoraikun!🙂

    Like

  16. moesin says:

    Man I want him to bang Raph so bad….like srsly man he needs to wake up to her feels.

    Liked by 1 person

  17. Series Promoter says:

    Sorry, sorry ended here. Continues in earl shields 200+ offspring, the sequel. All the drama stuff that’s been giving the heroes troubles in this series are readily overcome with the power of L.O.V.E.

    Like

  18. r505_kai says:

    “Now that I think about it… Sadina is quite a beauty as well.”
    I forget what chp ? can anyone help make me remember ?

    because i imagine Sadina look like Pearl Spongebob.

    Like

  19. SilverCricket says:

    Perhaps we can think of this as some type of emotional feedback all his lust and love was seeled away by the shield of wrath so maybe now that hes losing that shield its all coming out at once and if it all come out at once there is no way for him to resist his urges (Lust Shield +7) truly Shield bros most dangerous time

    Like

    • Ziru says:

      From what I understood, way back when he unlocked the shield series he’s had a sort of mask over his emotions, dampening certain ones and promoting others

      Like

    • he ins’t loosing wrath shield he just lost all his ill feelings of the things concerning to this world and without that his p.o.v change drastically .

      without his hatred and resentment he is able again to feel love or atraction to anyone else, remember it was his fear and hatred the things that make him unable to feel anything from another woman; so now he need to deal with it until all get ok again

      now time for Nao-yatsu version xD

      Like

    • sdf says:

      There was absolutely no lust or love ‘sealed away’ by the shield. Rather, Naofumi’s just too traumatized by Bitch/Witch to notice they exist in him. Current Naofumi’s gone back to he way he was when he was first summoned – not as much of a donkan, and far nicer.

      Like

    • Echo says:

      Probably like his sense of taste during back then, although his hatred for women has mostly faded, his distrust on them still lies within his heart. Hence he still cant feel love and lust yet, and tends to rationalize the reasons when girls approach him for example during Rafatalia and Atla’s case

      Like

  20. Alex Ho Lii says:

    Because of how Sadina acts, I always picture Leone from Akame ga Kill. Making me like her even more😛

    Liked by 1 person

  21. kusabireika says:

    I wonder if this is atla

    http://forums.animesuki.com/picture.php?groupid=966&pictureid=54952

    Credit:FlameSparkZ of animesuki forum ^-^

    Like

  22. naofumi without darkside……
    finally he was about to fall to path of HAREM MAKING ROAD

    Like

  23. meowoof says:

    tnx for the update….this chapter is so funny😄 but wait i prefer the usual naofumi

    Like

  24. Leightjim says:

    …..

    …..

    What? Naofumi without darkness? Well, need a little darkness to have a will to fight, but if Gaelion’s taking Naofumi’s hate, then he’ll drop his guard more than just the battlefield.

    Like

  25. Pazerniusz says:

    Oh Naofumi without negative feelings is like pre broken Spear. Anyway it isn’t his former self he always was a bit negativy.

    Like

  26. Rizwan says:

    Who did chapter 178???

    Like

  27. Echo says:

    A Naofumi without negativity seems like he would be a more messed up character compared to the other 3 heroes.

    Liked by 1 person

  28. hayate90 says:

    so all this time, its not that he’s dense, but the shield’s fault?

    Like

  29. () says:

    no no nOOOOOOOooooooo How can this beeee???
    Naofumi don’t leave the darkness, DARKNESS is power, DARKNESS is good for you.

    Like

  30. anonanon says:

    nooo naofumi come back, but please at least bang few chick first before u turn back into dark hero mode guhehe

    Like

  31. whome says:

    Thanks for the chapters, they were both dramatic and funny as hell! I love how when Naofumi gets his libido back, he creeps out Melty! She really is a kid!🙂

    Like

  32. eis says:

    i wonder is this the chapter where they try to tie it with the novel where he got transported and lvl reset without the scattered personnel

    Like

  33. Mario says:

    Hmm…i did not expect that…he change his form of writing there? I like it thought…do not mind me in a way i expect that.
    Naofumi is a complete Otaku, that is a surprise.
    I guess the dragon was searching for Tanuki, that is so tear-jerker.
    So the villagers know about Tanuki…they sell her?…but maybe the bad villagers are dead already, so it is ok. You read what you sow. I guess the Dragon was the good guy here.

    Like

  34. deksusu says:

    i’m laughing here :v
    my stomach hurt you know :v

    Like

  35. afrafstos says:

    Oh, he went back to the default setting. The Otakfumi who hasn’t been seen since he disappeared at the beginning has reappeared!

    Like

  36. Man 00132 says:

    Wait the minute.. so, while firo lvl is drain by the fragment, does naofumi drain dragon desire to mate other race? HAHAHAHAHAHA

    Like

  37. dtim says:

    Sadina is a beauty? She’s a beastman, right? Unless the previous chapter was terribly mistranslated because Naofumi went on for a bit about beastmen. I’ve been picturing her as having a head like a Killer Whale’s. And now she’s a beauty?

    Like

  38. adamant says:

    Is it bad I have more intrerest in reading the spear hero loop then this…. why are thos being translated anyway? Do they have norhinv to do with the main story?

    Like

  39. soraglory says:

    Everytime I picture Sadina I sort of picture her as a dolphin with ripped muscles and humanoid arms and legs… Am I weird?

    Like

  40. Anon-believer who believe all and see all says:

    Noafumi the cherry boy

    Like

  41. Tammma says:

    Somehow, i think, it would be fun to see Naofumi without his darkside…lol

    Like

  42. Mrpopular88 says:

    A lump of Kesha….no wonder he was so nasty hahahaha

    Like

  43. Pingback: Tate no Yuusah no Nariagari – UPDATE #12 | Ooha's Fiction Stories

So, what's on your mind?

