Chapter 180: Good Luck

Naofumi’s intelligence may be visibly falling. (I’m not talking about his plan).

ADVERTISEMENT: TATE NO YUUSHA GAME PRODUCTION IN THE WORKS

http://rokholt.wordpress.com/

IF YOU WANT TO HELP.

(I would help, but I don’t have that much free time, and I don’t think that my programming knowledge is that inclusive.)

Chapter 180: Good Luck

I check the Wrath Shield.

… You have not cleared the conditions to unlock this shield.

I can’t check its status!
And Gaelion’s status is so corrupted that I can’t make any sense of it.

“For now, the only thing we can do is defeat him!” (Naofumi)
“Defeating it is… correct, right?” (Taniko)

Gaelion was able to slip past us and get out of the cave.
His size is now greater than 20 meters, He looks like an authentic dragon.
His eyes are shrouded in darkness. I can’t read his expression.
I can’t find any part of this being similar to the Gaelion we know.

“GURUUUUUUUUUUUU……” (Gaelion?)
(TL: Note, this sound is written in alphanumerics)
“Ah… Yes. I’m fine. How have you been?” (Taniko)

Everyone snaps their heads towards Taniko… She’s also at a loss for words. She’s one of the lower level slaves, who has yet to Class-Up.
Gaelion takes in a large amount of air.
He’s, going to unleash a Breath Attack.

「Meteor Shield!」 (Naofumi)

I deploy Meteor Shield, and prepare for the impact. The others get behind me.

“I’m going to borrow the holy water for a second.” (Sadina)

Sadina takes her holy water back from Taniko and begins to chant.

“I, Sadina, Draw out the power of Water to do my bidding. Dragon Pulse, Protect My Body. 「Saint Aqua Shield」!” (Sadina)

Sadina’s magic envelops the party.
I wonder what’s its effect.

“Naofumi-chan, I made preparations in case his flames are able to inflict curses.” (Sadina)
“Thanks.” (Naofumi)

As long as I can withstand his blasts, we can stand a chance. It’s not like it’s as strong as the Spirit Turtle.
A Pitch Black Flame comes from Gaelion’s mouth, and flies towards us.
It immediately dissolves the Meteor Shield on impact.
W-what!? That shield was able to withstand being trampled by the Spirit Turtle, yet it was destroyed in an instant!
The Flame continues to fly right at me. I deploy E Float Shield as well, and block it.
My body feels like it’s melting as my shield takes on the attack.
Just considering output, the attack rivals the Spirit Turtle’s lightning!

“Saint Aqua Shield was dispelled… What a powerful breath and curse.” (Sadina)

I quickly cast recovery magic and stare at Gaelion.
This is… without a doubt the flames of the Dark Curse Burning S.
Perhaps what I was doing was merely an imitation of Gaelion’s power… This is a monster with the power of the Wrath Shield.
It even sucked up Firo’s level and status, making it a tougher opponent than the Spirit Turtle.
Retreating is always an option.
But if I run here, then I can’t consider myself a Hero.
Hm? Did I just think something stupid? Something feels off.

“Rat, if we weaken it, can you get the core from its stomach?” (Naofumi)
“… By getting eaten?” (Rat)
“Possibly, but it might be quicker to cut its stomach open.” (Naofumi)
“After we’re done, we’ll heal it, right?” (Rat)
“Yeah.” (Naofumi)

Hopefully that’s enough to solve the situation. Taniko is desperately calling out to the Dragon, but it seems to have no effect. If this were an Anime… There would always be a slight effect.

“Then this Onee-san has to work hard.” (Sadina)

Sadina spins her harpoon as she steps forwards.

“Can you do it?” (Naofumi)
“I’ll try.” (Sadina)

Sadina points the harpoon at the sky and begins chanting.

“I who has understood the origin of power command you. Once again be read and come forth. Rain down Spears of Lightning, 「Dreifach Thunderbolt」!” (Sadina)

Upon Sadina’s chant, the clouds in the sky begin to grow dark, and lightning flashes between them. The clouds gather around Sadina’s outstretched Harpoon.
Dreifach… It’s a level above Zveit. For the Level 35 Sadina to be able to cast that is quite a feat. Could she possibly be very strong?
Her previous level had capped at 40, but I wonder what level her strength was on.

“It’s a bit dangerous, so step back.” (Sadina)

Sadina leans forward, and begins rushing towards Gaelion.
She’s fast. Though slower than Rafatalia, she’s running at a speed unbefitting of her level.

「Thunder Impaler!」 (Sadina)

With a loud sound, Sadina kicks off the ground, and throws her harpoon at Gaelion’s abdomen. The Moment the Harpoon leaves her hands, lightning comes out of it, blinding the dragon and preventing it from dodging.
And immediately following, the harpoon pierces Gaelion’s chest…
Or is should have.
Gakin!
A sound like the one that occurs when something hits my shield rings out, and the harpoon sticks in Gaelion’s skin for a moment, before being shot back in the direction it came from.

“Ara… It seems Onee-san’s signature move didn’t work.” (Sadina)

Sadina lands, and catches the harpoon while stepping backwards. She then rejoins us.

“… So we’re in a lot of trouble unless Rafatalia gets back.” (Naofumi)

The Blinded Gaelion puts its hands over its eyes and lets out a moan.
We can see if other magics work… But the outcome doesn’t look good.
But we can’t just sit back and do nothing here. Our time is limited.

“Count, can’t you do anything?” (Rat)
“Even if you say that…” (Naofumi)

It’s sucked away my offensive abilities…
Hm? Sucking away abilities?
It at least seems to have the powers of the Wrath Shield.
What will happen if I try to strengthen that shield?

“I’m going to try to strengthen the shield that seems to be his source of power.” (Naofumi)
“ARE YOU AN IDIOT!?” (Rat and Melty)

Rat and Melty call out.

“Wait, Wait. Listen to what I’m saying. Strengthening occasionally fails. What do you think would happen if I purposely made it fail?” (Naofumi)
“Is that how it works?” (Melty)
“Yeah, I think that Dragon is getting defensive abilities from my shield, blocking all attacks… Perhaps I can destroy his defenses.” (Naofumi)
“Got it.” (Rat)

Gaelion lets go of his eyes, and begins searching for us.
It’s only a matter of time until we’re found.

“Let’s retreat for now, and fight it again later.” (Naofumi)
“It will definitely stay within its territory.” (Rat)
“Probably.” (Naofumi)

I activate the Portal Shield…
… It’s not letting me select a destination.
Eh? Could it be that the abnormal flow of magic in the area is blocking the skill!?

“I can’t teleport. We’ll have to make a run for it.” (Naofumi)
“I don’t think it’ll let us.” (Sadina)

Sadina points upwards.
Gaelion is floating directly above us. We’ve already been found.
If we wanted to run away here, we would need Firo. Without her, it’s impossible.

“GYAOOOOOOOOOOOOOO!” (Gaelion?)

He swoops down, and tries to slash at us with his massive claws.
I step forward and take the attack.
A great pain runs through my body.
It’s not as severe as with the Breath, but it’s still quite painful.
I had quickly deployed the meteor shield, but it’s only a matter of time before he breaks through.
The claws are followed up by his tail, and then his fangs.
All of them send great pain.

“Count! 「Zveit Heal!」「Faust Guard!」” (Rat)

Rat casts Support Magic. That saved me. I didn’t have the flexibility to cast it on my own.

“Then, Melty-chan. Try casting Choral Magic.” (Sadina)
“Eh… But…” (Melty)
“You too. Help Melty-chan. Your Unique Magic should be more effective that the Standard Magic Systems here.” (Sadina)

Sadina also issues orders to Taniko.

“Y-yeah.” (Taniko)
“I’ll take the front. Melty-chan, work on tuning and synthesis, you need to focus on support. Let’s go.” (Sadina)

I see Sadina and the others preparing their magics, and open up the Wrath Shield Strengthening window.
I have more than enough materials.

Wrath Shield +7 → +8. Do you want to carry out this reinforcement?

I select 「Yes」.

Warning, if this reinforcement fails, the reinforcement will fall to 0-
I ignore the message, and select 「Yes」again.

You have successfully Reinforced your Wrath Shield to +8.

Damn! Why did it have to succeed here!?
Beep…
I timidly look up at Gaelion.
Yeah, his scales begin to shine for a moment. In an MMO, when you enhance a weapon, it usually glows for an instant like that.
Why must I be so unlucky.

“U-um, Count? He… Seems to be getting stronger.” (Rat)
“Ah, the strengthening succeeded.” (Naofumi) (TL: Tehe)
“Are you an idiot!?” (Rat)
“Yeah, I’m sorry.” (Naofumi)
“You’re acting like it’s a trivial matter. Count, there’s definitely something wrong with you.” (Rat)
“I’m well aware. If we don’t beat Gaelion soon, I don’t know what will happen to me.” (Naofumi)

I immediately prepare to strengthen again.
I once again select 「Yes」.

You have successfully Reinforced your Wrath Shield to +9.

Shit.
Gaelion’s attacks begin to succeed in piercing my defense.
The pain is getting too great for me to handle.
Blood starts erupting from parts of my body.

“Count!?” (Rat)

Is this shield… trying to kill me!?
If the next one succeeds, we’re screwed!
We’ll get devoured.

I button mash 「Yes」.

Do you want to carry out-

You have successfully Reinforced your-

Gaelion’s tail attack is coming right at us.
Yeah, Gaelion shines for a moment. If this hits me, will I start seeing stars?
Gaelion’s mouth is wide open. At this rate, we’ll get eaten.
I continue the button mashing!

You have Failed in Reinforcing your Wrath Shield to +11!

A breaking sound occurs and the Wrath Shield Reinforcement fails.
Gaelion’s scales darken, and his attacks get visibly weaker.
As he was positioned to eat me, he picks me up in his teeth and tries to bite down on me, to no avail.

“Get off!” (Naofumi)

I grab his fangs and wrench them open with all my strength. I fall to the ground.
Good, this finally seems like a battle we can fight.

About Yoraikun

A college student who really should be doing something more productive with his time. Also, he can read a bit of Japanese.
This entry was posted in The Rise of the Shield Hero and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

401 Responses to Chapter 180: Good Luck

  1. Not A Suspicious Person says:

    Yo. Yeah I’m talking to you. Come over here. I wanna sow you something. You wanna know what it is? Fine, they are (say the next word in a deep voice) SPOILERS!!!!:
    Naofumi marries both Raphtalia(hammer? 7 star hero) and Atlas and he got lovers in Sadina(harpoon 7 star hero) (he beat her in a drinking contest;Sadina swore she would marry anyone who could do that), Melty, (dunno bout this) Firo. Ren marries Taniko(whip 7 star hero) , Motoyasu gets 3 Phliorials who know Envy Spear, and Itsuki marries Rits- whatever( Projectile 7 star hero). Trash is badass op (he turns wise again after queen gets killed by tact) and Malty becomes goddess Zweich. Atlas keeps her demi human form like raftalia. Tact gets one-hit KOed by Naofumi using the Trash wand/ Cane. Naofumi, Firo, Raphtalia, Atlas, and (not too sure about this) Kiel, who is also scythe 7 star hero, become gods. Naofumi becomes kin of Rock Valley Kingdom which later merges with Melmark. Naofumi becomes Mad Scientist and confesses his love to Raphtalia. Firo becomes queen. Melty becomes queen. Malty gets KOed in God form. They go back to old world and leave Motoyasu and Ren in old world and come back to new world.. Itsuki becomess awkwars couple with Rits-something. Elena=Female knight=ren lover. Dunno bout Rat. Fan girl becomes part of harem too, i think. Tact gets shield when he beats Naofumi but Naofumi gets it back after beating tact with Trash’s wand/cane. Gaelion becomes badass. Atlas’ brother(forgot name) becomes badass. Maotoyasu’s philorials become jealous of firo after all the attention motoyasu gives firo and attack her with envy spear. firo goes int mating season and tries to eat naofumi(literally) since to firo love=eat. ends up with naofumi saying doesnt firo love melty as well and traps them together in prison shield and firo comes out fine. happily ever after.

    also, u cant say im spoiling the book since i got all this from forums and summaries and wiki

    Like

  2. ... says:

    dude thats a huge fucking spoiler if its true

    Like

  3. VanZans says:

    who’s doing 181?

    Like

  4. VanZans says:

    oh nm its the ohanashimi website

    Like

  5. Kyaaaa says:

    KYYAAAAA ♥, TATE NO YUUSHA GAME~~~!!! \(^.^)/~♪♫

    Like

  6. rawrrr~

    phew…i forgot that you shouldn’t trust anything found on the interwebs…

    lucky, lucky.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. PLEASE!PLEASE!PLEASE!PLEASE!PLEASE! says:

    That AD to be the first thing i see… please make a notice again whenever the game is finished! please!

    Like

  8. Phoenix says:

    Also Yorai-Senpai, you can help with the game by translating more chapters to motivate us

    Like

  9. Laz says:

    hmm… im curious… why naofumi not using his slave-punishment?

    Like

  10. a anon says:

    Someone on /a/ claiming to be bakahou posted that he stopped translating because he was tired of it

    Like

    • laclongquan says:

      4chan is hardly the place for him to announce things like that, considering his wordpress site. Considering anybody can claim to be anyone in 4chan, I question the credibility of that poster.

      Not that it’s not plausible. Since it’s end of the year, accountant’s work is heaviest so he might not have spare time.

      Like

      • Pyro says:

        Sadly that’ll depend on what type of accountant he is. In many companies fiscal end of year doesn’t align with December 31st, if Bakahou is a tax accountant we likely won’t see hide nor hair of him until at least April 16th

        Like

        • Yoraikun says:

          Hes not an accountant to my knowledge. Im pretty sure hes a college student

          Liked by 1 person

        • just a person says:

          On chapter 106 Bakahou say’s “Yes, it’s that time of month again. No, it’s not a period.

          It’s payroll time (As an accountant, I am the one writing the payrolls.). ;–; “

          Like

        • Pyro says:

          Yoraikun🙂 he could be both, however depending on the number of credits he’s working on, if he’s working full / part time, and translating chapters I could see burnout happening pretty easily if not handled properly😦

          On a different note, does anyone have good sources on how to learn to read/write/speak/translate Japanese? — Hopefully cheaper than Rosetta Stone🙂

          Like

        • laclongquan says:

          Yeah, that comment. IT’s the basis why I think he’s an working adult, cause companies are not going to leave a part-timer or an intern touch that work. It has potential to troll the whole staff with just one gesture, like mis-send the payroll table to the whole company instead of one person… Oops.

          Like

        • Another Anon says:

          He could be both. Working adult and college student.
          And he could handle payments if he works in his family business.

          Like

  11. muelproject says:

    Chapter 183 PREVIEW – Yoraikun (Bakahou, please come back soon).

    after the almighty bakahou left the stage for a long time, so the invisible yoraikun are feeling unwell,,😀

    Like

    • i think is not that …

      is very hard keep the same rhythm for a long time so i think yorai needs some one who can stance at it and left him rest a little days too, and bakahou was the one who take charge of the tl until he left it with out warning .

      i also miss bakahou, he was really awesome like tl .

      Liked by 1 person

  12. Zeke says:

    SPOILER! <——spoiler alert! definitely a spoiler. . . .

    Like

  13. mashmaster1984 says:

    Guys I need help. Which is the correct version?

    「なんだ? イワタニ殿」

    「本当に大丈夫なのか? 適当に教わって、噛ませ犬のようにお前がやられそうで怖いぞ」

    「ふ……私を誰だと思っている。リーシア殿やラフタリアがスタミナ切れで倒れている所を師範に付いて行ったんだぞ」

    「ええ、師範もやる気の高さに正式に弟子入りを許可したのですよ。休暇が切れるならしょうがないと剣技だけを重点的に教えていたのです」

    「技よりも基礎の体の動きや魔力、気の流れを重視する流派だからな。コツを掴むのは大変だった」

    Version 1

    “What is it, Lord Iwatani?” (Female Knight)

    “Is it really all right? I busted my gut trying to learn it, but you’re acting scared like a child who got caught with her hand in the cookie jar.” (Naofumi) (TL: He actually said scared like a thieving dog)

    “Fuu…… please consider who I am actually. I’ve followed Rafatalia and Rishia into places that made them collapsed because they were so drained of stamina, the Instructor had to carry me out.” (Female Knight)

    Yes, the Instructor also formally permitted becoming a disciple at the height of the motivation. Even if she refused to take a day off to rest, the Instructor told her to keep practicing sword techniques because there was no helping it.” (Rishia)

    “It is because it is a Style that focuses on the flow of internal spirit rather than basic body movement or magical skills. It was hard to grasp the secret.” (Female Knight)

    Version 2

    “What is it, Lord Iwatani?” (Rishia)

    “Is it really all right? I busted my gut trying to learn it, but you’re acting scared like a child who got caught with her hand in the cookie jar.” (Naofumi) (TL: He actually said scared like a thieving dog)

    “Fuu…… please consider who I am actually. I’ve followed Rafatalia into places that made us collapsed because we were so drained of stamina, the Instructor had to carry me out.” (Rishia)

    Yes, the Instructor also formally permitted becoming a disciple at the height of the motivation. Even if I refused to take a day off to rest, the Instructor told me to keep practicing sword techniques because there was no helping it.” (Female Knight)

    “It is because it is a Style that focuses on the flow of internal spirit rather than basic body movement or magical skills. It was hard to grasp the secret.” (Rishia)

    Like

  14. Airy says:

    Does anyone know if Silvertounge00 was going to continue his Start over of the Spear Hero translations?

    Like

  15. danielcabeza59 says:

    OH shit OH SHIT, this series is getting a fucking anime

    Like

  16. gigadrillbreaker says:

    Honestly, having read the beginning and the Star Over of the Spear Hero, this doesn’t really seem so much like “original” otaku Naofumi, as it does an otaku Naofumi with all his pent up lust unleashed at once.

    And his curse probably blocked a lot of it, considering how long he’s been under the curses’ influence.

    Like

So, what's on your mind?

