Chapter 216: Joint Ownership

Oh god.

Chapter 216: Joint Ownership

“Well, Hero of the Shield, did something happen? Yes.” (Slave Dealer)
“Last we met, I had the feeling you were avoiding eye contact. Does that ring any bells?” (Naofumi)

I go over to the Slave Dealer’s place, and ask as such with my arms crossed.
I’m not saying anything was his fault, but this man is one of the many reasons Motoyasu caused me such trouble.

“Absolutely none. Yes.” (Slave Dealer)
“…*Sigh*” (Naofumi)

He’s putting on a business smile.
He’s definitely faking it.

“I’m thinking of leaving my gluttonous Filo Rial in your care for a while.” (Naofumi)
“T-that is…” (Slave Dealer)
“Of course, you’ll be footing the bill. I won’t let you refuse.” (Naofumi)

I have some political power now, but also this person is earning a lot by selling me slaves.
There’s no way the Slave Dealer would needlessly strain our business relations.

“I understand. Yes. The fact of the matter is that I did indeed offer some Filo Rials to the Hero of the Spear.” (Slave Dealer)
“So you admit it.” (Naofumi)
“He barged into the tent repeating the name of the Hero of the Shield’s Filo Rial, so I offered them to him as an experiment.” (Slave Dealer)

Ah, right. The Slave Dealer was trying to find out the conditions for a Filo Rial becoming a Queen.
But I had my hands full with my Glutton Firo, so I turned down his experiments.
I got my next Filo Rial much much later, and I left his care to Firo so nothing happened.

Could it be… I’m also at fault?
No no no.
I just didn’t participate in his research, and this isn’t my responsibility.

And the Slave Dealer was merely doing business. He sold his merchandise to the person looking for it.
I wonder how long ago he sold them.
The last time that I saw Motoyasu was… When Kiel and the others did their Class Up I think.
It was when I learned Portal Shield.

Back then, the Slave Dealer wasn’t there.
Perhaps I missed him and he later encountered Motoyasu.
I don’t really need to dig too deep into this.

“Regarding that matter, there is something I would like to propose.” (Slave Dealer)
“What is it?” (Naofumi)
“This morning, the Hero of the Spear paid a visit, and the contract ink with your blood is all gone.” (Slave dealer)
“What you say!?” (Naofumi)

Until this point, I never worried about its stock. It was something that naturally came with the slaves I bought.
Slaves aren’t free, and since testing the seal was easy, there wasn’t a risk of fake ink.
In this world, getting a slave without a seal is pretty pointless.
So Motoyasu is in possession of the Ink now.

“On the shelf where I kept the ink, I found several bags of Gold, and a sheet with a signature reminiscent of a Spear and a Filo Rial.” (Slave Dealer)

D-damn! When I had Firo persuade him, I never had her tell him that crime was wrong.
What Firo told him was to be kind and honest.
Because of that, he left money. But we never told him stealing was bad.

I thought that that was included in being honest, but I guess the term literally means simply being fair in one’s actions.
So Motoyasu raises his Filo Rials honestly, and leaves them under my providence.
I don’t know how he thinks, but in his mind, perhaps that is Honesty.

“Damn!” (Naofumi)

I hastily open up the monster management Window.
… The amount of names I don’t know has exponentially increased!
That idiot! He used my ink to contract his Filo Rials.

“I’ve heard of joint ownership of slaves and monsters… This is probably…” (Slave Dealer)

I forgot to tell him not to take annoying action on his own.
If I don’t do anything about him, then Filo Rial Queens will continue to be mass produced.
He received some eggs from the Queen, and got more from this Merchant.
I need to get back to the village quickly!

“The ownership rights can be annulled by you yourself so there shouldn’t be a problem. The Hero of the Spear said he was going to the Hero of the Shield’s place.” (Slave Dealer)

… The Queen said that as well. What does he plan on doing there?
Even taking an army of Filo Rials with him…
This is serious. I need some drastic countermeasures.

“Got it. I’m going back to my village! ‘Cya!” (Naofumi)
“What should I should I do about finding you slaves? Yes.” (Slave Dealer)
“Please continue as before.” (Naofumi)
“I understand. Yes.” (Slave Dealer)

I care not for that at the moment. I run out of the tent and summon a portal.
Ah, I forgot. The Queen said it seemed like Motoyasu’s followers had Class Upped.

I return to the village and quickly scan the surroundings.
Good. Motoyasu isn’t here yet.
I need to prepare for when he gets here.
Or else…

Now that I think about it, the one who will be doing the work will be Motoyasu. I have no part in it.
Perhaps he opted for joint ownership to get my status boosts.
If he builds up forces, he may oppose me but I don’t think that Firoholic will do such a thing.

No. If he takes action on his own I’ll be troubled, but as long as I get Firo to tell him when he gets here… it should be fine!

“Hey, Naofumi. Do you know what’s going on?” (Ren)
“Hm?” (Naofumi)

Before I realized it, Ren was in front of me.

“What is it?” (Naofumi)
“I don’t know. There seems to be something going on outside the village. I can’t leave, though.” (Ren)
“Outside?” (Naofumi)
“Yeah. I can only see from afar, but… Isn’t that Motoyasu?” (Ren)

What?
It suddenly feels like my blood temperature has dropped..
Ren, and Female Knight both stare towards the outskirts of the village… Where we built the Firo Rial Stable.
The slaves seem to be gathered there.
I timidly approach the area.

“Ah, Niichan- wow! Your clothes are amazing!” (Kiel)

Kiel looks at me, and jumps back at the sight of my clothes.
I don’t think I’ve worn my Barbarian Armor since I first established the village.
For me, this clothing is normal, though.

“Don’t mind it.” (Naofumi)
“No… I can’t. Niichan, are you in to that sort of clothing?” (Kiel)
“I don’t know whether I like or hate it, but it’s abilities are high, and it was made by someone who treats me well.” (Naofumi)
“Is that so?” (Kiel)

I’d like to move on from this topic already.
What is happening in the Filo Rial stable!

“Naofumi-sama.” (Atlas)
“I just got back. What’s happening?” (Naofumi)
“I think it was right after Niichan left. Or perhaps before that? It seems there were intruders in the stable.” (Kiel)
“I-I see.” (Naofumi)
“We were deliberating how to drive them out, but because Niichan wasn’t here, we didn’t want to take action yet…” (Kiel)
“Yes, Sadina-san isn’t here either, and when we sent someone to ask Melty-chan in the neighboring village, we got a report saying Firo didn’t want to come here no matter what.” (Atlas)

The bad feeling in my chest begins to encompass more parts of my body.
Motoyasu is definitely here.

“What should we do?” (Atlas)
“L-let me go confirm the situation there.” (Naofumi)

Perhaps I can talk to him.
I carefully walk up to the Filo Rial stable and put my hand on the large door.
I can hear some noises coming from the inside.
Firo should only have one follower right now. I did plan on getting more in the future though.

What is this? My blood goes cold again.
Every single instinct in my body is telling me not to open this door.
But putting this problem off won’t solve anything.

I muster up my courage and swing the door open.

“Wha…!?” (Naofumi)

The inside of the building was pitch black.
No… that’s wrong. There are too many Filo Rials, and all outside light is blocked.

“Ah, the scent of Filo Rials… Sniff. Sniff.” (Motoyasu)

Right before my eyes, Motoyasu was embracing a Filo Rial Queen, and taking in her scent.
Surrounding him is a large flock of Queens.
I hear the sounds of feathers ruffling as all heads turn to face me.
I’m surrounded by eyes.

“”Who is it?”” (Filo Rials)
“Ah, I think he was the Master Moto-kun was talking about.” (Filo Rial)
“Right. His eyes look mean, but he somehow looks nice.” (Filo Rial)
“Yeah. That must be it.” (Filo Rial)
“I get you man. Somehow looking at him makes me feel motivated.” (Filo Rial)
“Right, right. The feeling he gives of is different than Motopi.” (Filo Rial)

Goosebumps break out all over my body.

““Master! Let’s play!”” (Filo Rials)

Bang!
I immediately slam the door and run.
A few seconds later the door opens once more. I look back and am confronted with the terrifying sight of a flock of Filo Rials gaining on me.

“MOTOYASUUUUU! GET OUTTTTT!” (Naofumi)

My heartless cry echoes through the village.
By the way, my salvation came in the form of Firo, who mustered up her courage and came to check the situation out. I now owe her one.
I won’t say what sort of things happened to me until she came to my aid.

About Yoraikun

A college student who really should be doing something more productive with his time. Also, he can read a bit of Japanese.
This entry was posted in The Rise of the Shield Hero and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

154 Responses to Chapter 216: Joint Ownership

  1. Thank you Motoyasu :3

    Like

  2. Striker says:

    The Rising of the Shield Hero’s Nightmare

    Like

  3. thank you for the chapter

    Like

  4. Caim says:

    I can only imagine the image of the Filo Rials chasing Naofumi was similar to in Orcarina of Time when Link messed with the chickens in the Volcano Village too much

    Like

  5. Fruit Puch Samurai says:

    THIS IS FUEEEE!
    COUGH COUGH SPARTAAAAAA!!

    Like

  6. Nonperson says:

    loli bird attack!!!

    Like

  7. Olivebirdy says:

    Wow, really clever move by Motoyasu.

    Like

  8. Thyros says:

    Normally, I would laugh picturing this scene, but… I’m truly scared about what it means to be chased by a flock of Firos….

    Like

    • kirindas says:

      I wonder why Naofumi didn’t escape into the range of Gaelion’s dragon sanctuary. The Filo Rial stable had to be built outside the range of the sanctuary since they hated being in it. So Naofumi escaping there would have made that stampede lose some steam at the discomfort at the very least. Though Firo’s been in the sanctuary boundaries, so maybe not…

      Like

      • Thyros says:

        The distance. No matter how much he could run, I heard it was at some distance from the sanctuary -> and the other Philorials of course were faster than him; they catched up and started ‘playing’, I guess

        Like

      • FateMaker says:

        What i don’t understand is his new armor have Dragon protection and sanctuary right? It should repel Firo rails to some extend? Doesn’t dragon sanctuary give of weird feeling to Firos?

        Like

  9. Taps-playing Bugler says:

    Well, you had a good run, Naofumi. Here’s to all your adventures up until now. We’ll never forget what you were like before your impending rage aneurysm..

    Like

  10. Alex says:

    It’s such a weird thing… The Hero of the Shield is getting an increasingly big harem yet he don’t want it and find the idea revolting… There are not much MCs with this mentality.

    Thanks for the chapter!

    Like

  11. soraglory says:

    Hahhahahahah, Master let’s play!

    Like

  12. soraglory says:

    I don’t get it… This has nothing to do with this chapter, I’m just wondering.
    Is Naofumi impotent?

    Liked by 1 person

    • Yoraikun says:

      No, I don’t think so. Everyone here is just too young to be in his strike zone. Motoyasu on the other hand might be.

      Like

    • IamMe says:

      Considering Motoyasus condition and the events in chapter 183, its possible that a side effect of the wrath shield is to keep him from being interested in having relations with anyone. There are the practical reasons of not weakening his fighting force before a wave, but Shield seems a bit too dense for it to be entirely natural.

      Like

      • IamMe says:

        That and most everyone around him is in the 10-12 range in age, regardless of appearance.

        Like

        • Falkri says:

          I think the general consensus of Demi-humans is: “age don’t mean shit” i mean im pretty sure Raphtalia has a higher maturity than Shield at this point

          Like

        • blank says:

          for demi-humans their mind changes with their body so naofumi is just using excuses to deny the aproach of the one who loves him the demi-humans that still child even after leveling up is because they dont love someone is my theory that if a demi-human fall inreal love their body changes accoedly so she or he cant mate but maybe i am just overthinking but raphatalia is a good example pretty much more mature that naofumi and sadina

          Like

      • satseh says:

        Yes, it is a side effect of sure wrath too much. Due to the side effect of wrath, he can not accept his true feelings, remember back on the chapter where it was dragon(glaion?) Vs shield, fhero, sadina where the baby dragon took all of his anger he had towards bwitch and the old geezer. He almost told raphtalia his true feelings. He also though Atla was cute and so was bwitch little sister.

        Like

      • madmann135 says:

        It is a bit of a double edged sword concerning Naofumi and his wrath.
        Naofumi looks mean and scary but if you can see past his outer appearance you realize he is a kind person.
        Everyone, except Atlas, likes Naofumi as his angry self. When his anger was stolen he was acting like a normal MC in a group of lovely women. He even admitted that they were beautiful yet his look alone was creepy, in the eyes of his companions. Therefore his companions brought back the “Normal” Naofumi. In my opinion that was the right move as an angry Naofumi is more careful with his thought patterns. He does slip a bit but he catches himself. He is also a successful business man, his village is a thriving business branching in numerous fields.

        Currently Naofumi’s greatest crime is ignoring the heart of a maiden. He will redeem himself by (CENSORED).

        Like

  13. tasear says:

    Thanks again for another great read. Looking forward to chapters titled “Poison” “Brainwashing” and “Demon lord of Shield”.

    Like

    • lazypioneer says:

      :Spoiler Alert:

      Summary of poison: Someone poisoned the village water reserve.
      Summary of Brainwashing: Someone brainwash the villagers to attack Naofumi
      Summary of Demon Lord of Shield: related to the one bellow

      Like

  14. RUN NAOFUMI.
    RUUUUUNNNN FOR YOUR LIFE!

    Like

  15. khan says:

    man this could get out of man if Motoyasu decide raise more then he can handle, just the thought thousand of hungry filo queen running around eating everything in sight give me nightmare lol. if one filo queen eat as much as firo then the world is doom.

    Like

  16. Joe16 says:

    Thank you

    Like

  17. satseh says:

    spoiler alert: Shield is going to let anyone/everyone marry him of their own free will in the end.

    Like

  18. balmonth says:

    hahaha
    I remenber there was a chapter were he pictured something like thisbhappening, that being the main readon he refused to get more filorials and taking just one ao far hahaha

    Like

  19. zack says:

    yoraikun can i know what do you use as translator tool?

    Like

  20. zack says:

    i also want to try translating some chapters

    Like

  21. Anonymous says:

    Would you rather have the body of Captain Falcon and have the voice of Nicholas Cage, or have the body of a Nicholas Cage and the voice of captain falcon?

    Like

  22. kiwi says:

    WHAT HAPPENED BEFORE FIRO CAME TO HIS RESCUE IS WHAT I WANT TO KNOW!!!

    Like

  23. jhonar10 says:

    Attack on Loli! gahahaha! Thanks for the fun chap!

    Like

  24. whome says:

    “oh god” is right! LOL at the end!

    Thanks for the chapter!

    Like

  25. Libro says:

    Oh my Alot of Queen!!!!

    Like

  26. k says:

    thank for the update

    Like

  27. blank says:

    so funny motoyasu created his worst nightmare a lot of firos XDDDDDDDDDDDDDDDD now batman dont have any work he is so terrified that scarecrow dont need to use his gas😄

    Like

So, what's on your mind?

