Chapter 244: Justice vs. Justice

“What do you do when there is an evil you cannot defeat by just means? Do you stain your hands with evil to destroy evil? Or do you remain steadfastly just and righteous even if it means surrendering to evil?”
-Yoraikun Vi Britannia

TL: Rule of the Internet, Just because there’s a quote with a name under it, that doesn’t mean the person actually said it.

Is there a German speaker in the house?  Thanks for the help everyone.

Chapter 244: Justice vs. Justice

“Naofumi-san, thank you. Please leave the rest to me. I’ll definitely persuade Itsuki-sama.” (Rishia)
“Yeah, I’ll wait expectantly. Just like Female Knight, the current you should be able to do it.” (Naofumi)

Understanding the situation, Ren backs off.
Perhaps he believed that two on one was unfair for a duel, or perhaps he was moved by Rishia’s resolve.
I don’t know the reason. Whatever the case, he understands that he shouldn’t get involved in this case.

It seems that Itsuki has finally recognized Rishia as an enemy.
The problem would be if Rishia lost, but we’d be able to kill him with my Wrath Shield combined with Gaelion’s flames.
Luckily, Firo’s also here. We can definitely win.

Anyways, it’s quite a development for Rishia to be fighting Itsuki.
She was always talking about her devotion to him.
It must be hard on her to fight to the death with her beloved.

“I’m coming! Haaaaaaaaaah!” (Rishia)

Rishia closes in on Itsuki at quite a high speed.

“Damn! 「Saint Arrow Rain」! 「Spread Strafing」!” (Itsuki)

Itsuki steps back as he continuously fires off arrows at Rishia.
The arrows he fires straight and the ones he curves are timed perfectly to strike multiple locations simultaneously.
Evading seems to be difficult.

“Hengen Musou Rapier Skill,「Circle」!” (Rishia)

But Rishia twirls her rapier in a full circle, and her blade makes a high shriek as it passes through the air. All of the arrows fired at her are mowed down.
I thought Rishia wouldn’t go all out, but it seems she fighting toe to toe with this Hero.
Could I be witnessing the true Hengen Musou style?

Female Knight said that Rishia was able to master the difficult skills.
It may be due to the influence of her natural talent, but Rishia has gotten strong.
Having all his arrows knocked down, Itsuki glares at her with an irritated expression.

“Itsuki-sama? I’m your opponent right now. Please pay more attention.” (Rishia)

Even now, Itsuki occasionally glances over at me.
He must be seeing the person in front of him as merely an obstacle to reach me.
There’s no way he can beat Rishia like that.
The current Rishia’s stats, techniques, and determination are among the highest of all of my subordinates.

“Fu… It seems that you’ve learned how to talk, Rishia-san. But my true power is higher than this!” (Itsuki)

The dark aura envelops him, and Itsuki readies his bow.

「Rechtsfanatiker!」
(TL: レヒトファナティッカー )

I feel a barrier-like thing being erected.
It feels similar to Firo’s and Gaelion’s sanctuaries.

“UOOOOOOOOOOOOO!” (Itsuki)

Itsuki’s eyes turn red and begin to give off a suspicious light.
Then the miasma envelops his body, forming a sort of armor.
It’s a winged, full-body armor, reminiscent of an angel… but some parts here and there seem demonic in design.

It’s definitely a status buffing skill.
What’s more, it even created a set of armor.
The armor reminds me of the combat suits for those Rider and Ranger people.

Rishia is silently waiting for Itsuki to initiate an attack.
Her expression is exceedingly serious.
If we step in here, I don’t think she’ll forgive us.

Ren tries to step forwards, but I hold my arm out to stop him.
I won’t let anything happen like that time with Ren.
I’m a man who keeps my promises. Be it for better or for worse.

“I’m coming, Rishia-san. With this, I’ll make you understand me and assist in defeating Naofumi!” (Itsuki)
“No, I definitely won’t approve of the current Itsuki-sama. Even if it costs me my life!” (Rishia)

Rishia sticks her sword into the ground and bends down.
She extracts Chi out of the ground and coats the entire body of her weapon with it.
It’s like what Female Knight does the moment she hits a target, but the amount is clearly different.

“Hengen Musou Style… Special attack. First Stance…”

『Let this foolish sinner experience the retribution of God’s justice! With my belief as compensation, carve this punishment upon your body!』
「Gerechtigkeit-」

Before Itsuki can finish chanting his skill, Rishia pulls the blade out and begins running.

「Alleinherrschaft!」(TL: ゲレティヒカイトアラインヘルシャフト)

「Sun!」 (Rishia)

Rishia begins emitting light as she thrusts her rapier at Itsuki.
I wonder why. I get the feeling she just got some Super-Divine power up.
And what’s Itsuki’s skill doing!?
Countless orbs of light are scattering from his body. They destroy the ceiling and take on lion-like shapes in the sky. They then begin raining down endlessly upon Rishia.

… This is bad.
No matter how I look at it, that’s a Curse Skill rivalling Blutopfer.
Even a Super-enhanced Rishia will have trouble dealing with it.

“Second Stance, 「Moon」!” (Rishia)

The light emitting from Rishia grows brighter, and the lions shatter into crescent shaped fragments.
Amazing… This is the first time I’ve seen someone take a Curse Skill head on.
I don’t know what its effect is supposed to be, but Itsuki seems to have a shocked expression at finding his skill nullified.

“There’s still more! I haven’t used my trump cards yet!” (Itsuki)
“Third Stance, 「Star」!” (Rishia)

Without any hesitation, Rishia appears in front of Itsuki and begins thrusting at him.
It’s a consecutive stream of attacks rivalling Female Knight’s multilayered attacks.
Each successful hit destroys part of Itsuki’s armor and causes it to disperse into nothingness.

“Gu…” (Itsuki)

The rain of blows continues to pour down on Itsuki, and I can feel that each and every one has Chi imbued in it.
That’s no joke.
Since I’ve trained, I may be able to withstand it, but it would probably breach the defenses of a Cursed Ren or Motoyasu.
It’s an attack with that much power.

“Quit messing with me!” (Itsuki)

Itsuki’s aura explodes again, sending Rishia flying backwards.

“Fuee… There’s still more!” (Rishia)

Rishia rolls as she hits the ground and gets up. She takes a deep breath and prepares for battle.

“Justice is not something that can be stopped by the likes of Rishia-san! Don’t go around destroying my special attacks!” (Itsuki)

And why should we listen to you?
This isn’t a turn-based RPG.
If this were a real-time action game, you would try to destroy special attacks when you saw them.

… Ah, in Hero Media, the opponent waits for the Hero to finish his attack.
Those high powered beams and kicks and those things where five weapons unite into one.

“Itsuki-sama, please stop it already. For the current you, it is impossible to stop me.” (Rishia)

Rishia shouts with a voice filled with emotion.
It does look like she’s the one with an overwhelming advantage here.

“Itsuki-sama, your justice is misled! Please release that dark power at once.” (Rishia)
“Wrong! With this power that I’ve gotten my hands on, I will save the world! I will save the people!” (Itsuki)

The shape of the bow distorts…
And in response to that, his aura changes in color as well.
… Most likely, he’s awakened to another curse series as well.

If he strengthens himself with the effects of multiple curses, will Rishia be at a disadvantage?
Besides Motoyasu, the other Heroes haven’t used strengthening methods, I think…

“Are you alright, Rishia?” (Naofumi)
“Yes. I don’t need any help.” (Rishia)
“… I see. Then do what you will.” (Naofumi)

The situation seems to be taking a bad turn, but if Rishia says that, then I guess I’ll continue observing.
I won’t help until she asks for it.
Whether she wins or not is a separate matter.

If persuading him proves impossible, we’ll have to knock him out.
But even if he’s rotten, he’s still a Hero.
We’ll need a decisive blow.

“Take this! 「Shadow Bind」!” (Itsuki)

Itsuki begins moving. He shoots an arrow at Rishia’s feet.
I get an ominous feeling from the ground.

“Rishia-” (Naofumi)

But it didn’t hit.
The arrow lands in the ground behind her.

“M-my body is…! (Rishia)

Before I could warn her, Rishia’s movement was sealed.
It’s as I thought.
It’s a skill that can block enemy movement by hitting their shadow.

「Bind Arrow」!

Itsuki fires off another restraint skill at the immobile Rishia.
The Arrow pins her to the wall behind her.

“I-I can still fight!” (Rishia)
“No! This is the end!” (Itsuki)

『Let this foolish sinner be burned to death by the Brass Bull. Writhe and scream in anguish under the wrath of the raging bull!』
「Phalaris Bull」 (TL: The Brazen Bull Torture method was created for Phalaris, the Tyrant of Acragas in the 5th century BC)

Like my Iron Maiden… A statue of a giant Bull opens up and locks Rishia within.
Then the statue glows as it fills with fire.

“Rishia!” (Naofumi)

Itsuki smiles as he confirms his victory.
It’s a skill that rivals my Iron Maiden.

“With this, it is my victory. Naofumi, prepare yourself.” (Itsuki)

Ku… I thought victory was assured. Was I too naive?
But first, I have to save Rishia.
Ren’s already running towards her.

But just when I was contemplating this…
Cracks begin to surface on the bull Itsuki summoned.

“What?” (Itsuki)

Itsuki’s face is once again colored by surprise.
And with a loud sound, the Bull crumbles to pieces, and Rishia jumps out.

“Fourth Stance! 「Devil」!” (Rishia)

Rishia walks towards Itsuki, swinging her rapier in wide arcs.
What is this? The tip of Rishia’s sword is glowing, leaving black tracks in the air.

“Gu… M-my eyes!?” (Itsuki)

Itsuki covers his face with both hands and cries out.
Is it an attack that inflicts Blind?
That’s quite an efficient attack.

“Don’t just go about claiming victory on your own.” (Rishia)

Rishia says as she holds her shoulder and breathes deeply.
She even managed to thwart an execution device… Rishia’s growth is beginning to surprise even me.
Excluding Motoyasu, She’s probably the strongest out of all my subordinates right now.

But, perhaps Raphtalia can enhance herself this much as well.

About Yoraikun

A college student who really should be doing something more productive with his time. Also, he can read a bit of Japanese.
This entry was posted in The Rise of the Shield Hero and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

178 Responses to Chapter 244: Justice vs. Justice

  1. adityawigas says:

    Well man, thanks for ur fast update…as expected itsuki is weak lol..but i think the old ren is weakest

    Like

  2. BigKahuna says:

    All Hail Yorraikun!!!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Pingback: Tate no Yuusha no Nariagari : Chapter 244 | GuiltySquad

  4. Cristian says:

    Thanks for the chapter~ :3

    Liked by 1 person

  5. grat another chapter thx Yoraikun😀

    Liked by 1 person

  6. heiashi says:

    Thank ya very much for the translation translators! Many thanks towards the Author!

    Liked by 1 person

  7. NATaivel says:

    FUEEEEEE

    Like

  8. metable says:

    Thank you for the translation!

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Sternav says:

    Thanks for the chapter Yorai-sama!! Can’t wait till Raphtalia returns.. (4 more Chaps) ^_^

    Like

  10. Corey says:

    Thanx foe the chapter

    Liked by 1 person

  11. madmann135 says:

    *picks jaw up off the floor* Rishia …you BADASS! First time of a complete one sided battle against a cursed hero.
    It was one sided because Rishia had no intent to kill Itsuki, just subdue him. If she had the intent to kill him, it would have been over in half the time but not as impressive.

    Thanks for the translation.

    Liked by 1 person

  12. Underground Jazz Enforcer says:

    Thank you for the update yoraikun-sama!

    Liked by 1 person

  13. Random Internet Guy says:

    Risha has Been fed by mid & jungle. now shes to OP

    Liked by 1 person

  14. hatoken says:

    Reblogged this on .

    Like

  15. atrie94 says:

    if u got problems with german words send me a message
    as for the untranslated words
    Rechtfanatiker= recht = justice Fanatiker well try to guess it´s a fanatic over somethin dunno if justice fanatic would be proper to use but hats what it means
    Gerechtigkeit = justice yeah german isn´t having too many verbs😄
    Alleinherrschaft = single rule/sole ruler whatever just means they are reigned by one person could name examples but duh
    well that´s all i now saw by quickly lookin through if i missed some german words tell me gonna send you a private message with my e-mail i´ll translate it or explain the meaning of the word

    Liked by 1 person

    • irnem says:

      I fucking hate the timedifference. I always come too late😄

      And assuming that most japanese authors know nearly nothing about german language (which is in fact rather difficult), you can use a proper guessing according to context.
      “Rechtfanatiker” would not be used in german. Justice would be “Gerechtigkeit”. “Recht” would be mainly used as law. I think the author used a dictionary to find synonyms to avoid using the same word too often. I often found these things in mangascanlations, where german words were used in the original source.
      Long sentence short – “justice fanatic” is just(ice) fine😀

      And “Alleinherrschaft” would be monacracy, since a the person with such power is a monarch (without a good or bad meaning. An evil “Alleinherrscher” would be a dictator), but due to it naming a skill you could use “sole reign”

      Like

    • irnem says:

      on another note… am I the only one who finds it strange for the justice convinced Itsuki to have skillnames which have a negative meaning? Would a just person call himself a fanatic? or the ppl who follow him? The curse series sure is twisted^^

      Like

    • Pagan says:

      Base on atrie94, I think Alleinherrschaft = Absolute power

      Like

      • irnem says:

        absolute power is just one part of sole reign. skillwise it would make sense, but I wouldn’t give a skill the “absolute” attribute, if it’s not a really high bossfiend. Itsuki just doesn’t fit the role to name a skill in such manner, imo.

        Like

  16. Fnors says:

    Thanks for the nice chapter, Yoraikun Vi Britannia!

    Liked by 1 person

  17. Noval says:

    What? Itsuki lost to rishia. Maybe it is about the difference between them instead of their ki power. But naofumi still the best among them. Thank you yoraishield bro.

    Like

  18. Burban says:

    WOooOW!! That was an epic battle indeed!! :DDDD

    This chapter is the second best thing this day, right after I saw this trailer and confirmed my wallet sticking to the screen by itself

    Thx for the translation as always yoraikun, you´re great!!!🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  19. whome says:

    Thank you! That was a fun chapter! You go, Rishia!

    Liked by 1 person

  20. amagi91 says:

    thanks for the chapter

    I am german as well when there are any questions regarding german please feel free to contakt me

    Like

  21. centipede says:

    FUUUEEEEEE!!!!

    Like

  22. lame goblin says:

    Yay

    Like

  23. PNC says:

    “If there is an evil then I will become the greater evil to crush that evil”.
    C Mikoto.

    Like

  24. ultragunner says:

    Yoraikun V Brittania for president!

    Liked by 1 person

  25. jeffdaking says:

    Baby you light up my world like nobody else, the way that you translate this novel, gets me overwhelmed…. uh yes. Thank you Yorai❤

    Liked by 1 person

  26. generic75684 says:

    Rule of the Internet, Just because there’s a quote with a name under it, that doesn’t mean the person actually said it.-Abraham Lincoln

    Like

  27. Tom Leimbach says:

    Is there a German speaker in the house? -Yoraikkun.
    Yes. Yes there is.

    Like

  28. Hiks says:

    … Ah, in Hero Media, the opponent waits for the Hero to finish his attack.
    This just my opinion, “hero media” sound strange for me. Its about power ranger and kamen rider, I dont know exactly what they say in English about that tv series but i think “Hero Show” sound better for me (I dont good at english so i dont know any better idea).

    Thanks for the chap

    Like

    • Alex says:

      I used to love Super Sentai shows

      Like

      • yariel says:


        until I see some mistake act in the fight … Ex : …
        one of hero make real BRAWL with one enemy henchman at old google sentai (I guess there’s bad bone in the studio) …
        at that moment I start to think all of it as just fake action drama …

        Like

  29. Blu3 says:

    Thank you for the chapter❤

    Like

  30. raman says:

    there was fueee again😀

    Like

  31. All Hail Yoraikun VI Britannia

    Like

  32. eis says:

    Wait wait wait……. itsuki got warth now? If this last any more chapter he’s gonna catch it all.

    Like

    • Maou Lucifer says:

      I don’t think he got wrath because so far none of the heroes have unlocked the same curse series yet, but I could be wrong.

      Like

  33. Dragonqueen1993 says:

    Yes I can German.
    Do you need something?

    Thanks for the chapter and All Hail Yoraikun Vi Britannia ♥

    Like

  34. Owl says:

    When I saw “Justice vs Justice”, my first thought was “Yun (Only Sense Online) is going to fight Ren?”🙂

    Like

  35. Maya says:

    Thanks for the new update!

    Finally gets to see the power up and training result for Rishia. Also Ren and Itsuki ship… I am sorry to say, I disagree. The feeling of shipping them together is not there so, that’s why disagree. Then again, I kinda don’t like Itsuki right now because of his obsession with Justice is just too much!

    Lol.

    Like

  36. Nonperson says:

    fueeee its going to the climax :3

    Like

  37. wawachan says:

    After follow shieldbro for a very long time.

    I’m glad that my time zone is some how different from you.

    Every time you post new chapter, It will be in the morning or before noon.

    I always reading and eating. it’s good for start new day or relax from morning meeting.

    In the future, if you may pass or visit Thailand, please be my guest.

    best regards,

    Like

  38. nyan says:

    thanks for the translation🙂

    Like

  39. Pagan says:

    Does this mean Rishia stances are based on Major Arcana?

    Like

  40. thx alot =D … i still miss raf chan =(

    Like

  41. Aditya says:

    Thanks for the chapter!!

    I wonder what Raphtalia would be like when she returns…
    I think Naofumi isn’t strongest now, since he is concentrating on economics
    He did mention similar things to Ren

    Like

  42. aristo999999999 says:

    Thank you for the translation

    Like

  43. Pingback: Tate no Yuusha no Nariagari : Chapter 244 — GuiltySquad

  44. seeleweiss says:

    So she uses sun, moon and then star but ey the sun is a star as well lol xD

    Like

  45. jetzer0 says:

    i’m surprised with the amount of forgiveness that happens in this novel,
    especially concerning the heros
    shield aside, the amount of damage caused by the three retards is on the level of an unopposed wave, yet they don’t get any corresponding punishment, they’re pretty much calamities themselves

    Like

So, what's on your mind?

