Chapter 255: Starting Point

It’s a shorter chapter. That’s why it’s early. It’s not like I did it for you guys or anything, okay!? I-I’m not going to make too much a habit of 2 per day, baka!


Chapter 255: Starting Point

“And like that, it doesn’t seem that Itsuki will pose a problem. We’ll need to monitor him, but as long as Rishia’s there, it’ll work out. He can’t really run, nor does he seem to have the intention of doing so.” (Naofumi)
“I see, then I’ll leave him to you.” (Queen)
“Well, if he does end up running away again, then I’m really going to dispose of him.” (Naofumi)
“… That’s something I would like to avoid.” (Queen)
“Alright. Next, we can use Motoyasu’s teleportation to make use of Cal Mira’s healing onsen.” (Naofumi)
“The heroes all seem to have an overly convenient warping ability. Please make use of it to recuperate yourselves.” (Queen)

Before Motoyasu left for Faubley, I ordered him to take Ren there once to make sure we could open a portal if necessary.
We negotiated with the Count there and got permission to use the onsen that cures curses every night.
With this, the curses should pass faster.

“… We suffered quite some heavy damage during this incident.” (Queen)
“Yeah.” (Naofumi)

It’s the same at my place.
Though, it’s still within levels that we can recover from, and my Filo Rials are helping in procuring materials. It seems recovery will be faster than expected.

I didn’t want to spread the Camping Plants too much, but I’ve had to distribute them to the village.
I also brought some here to use as temporary relief. We’ll all be able to manage somehow.
Though, I dread what’s become of this nation’s finances.

Ah, right. The base the Three Hero Church used had some treasure piled up in it. Apparently, it came from the nobles.
The Queen decided that all of it would go towards financing the recovery effort.
This country’s trash has finally been driven out.

“Again… and again, I kept telling her to correct her personality. Even from when she was little.” (Queen)
“Like I care.” (Naofumi)
“That’s right… this is all due to my negligence.” (Queen)
“You’re also slacking on Trash duty.” (Naofumi)
“… He was an extraordinary person at the start, but he’s changed. He was swallowed by the power and authority he obtained.” (Queen)

I peer out the window again. Fohl and Atlas are questioning Trash.
Trash is absentmindedly staring in the direction Witch was taken while he talks.

Hmm?
Fohl seems speechless.
What could they be talking about?

“The executions will start up tomorrow, but what will you do, Iwatani-sama?” (Queen)
“I’ll stay for some closure. After the primary offenders are taken care of, I’ll take my leave. I have to deal with Itsuki and prepare for the next wave. I can’t really afford to waste my time here.” (Naofumi)
“I see. Then we’ll get into contact with you later.” (Queen)

I can finally give the Wave my undivided attention.
I get the feeling that I’ve finally gotten to the starting point.

“Then I guess we should be off.” (Naofumi)

After I finish my talks with the Queen, I prepare to head back.

“Ah, we’ll be continuing our journey for a little longer.” (Raphtalia)
“I see.” (Naofumi)

So we’ll be separating from Raphtalia… I feel a bit of regret, but it seems that she will be done soon.

“Atlas! Atlaaaaas!” (Fohl)
“Onii-sama, just go on your trip already.” (Atlas)

Ah, right. Fohl also completed his Class Up.
I sent Firo with him to the Dragon Hourglass, but it seemed he couldn’t perform a special Class Up.
There was no choice, so I sent Gaelion over.
Just what standards does that Ahoge operate on??

With this, Atlas has taken the Firo route, and Fohl, the Gaelion route.
Even now, I can’t tell just what makes them different.
Since their race is the same, perhaps I will be able to witness the difference between the two Class Ups.

“Because of Fohl-san, our journey is taking longer than it should. Please be obedient here.” (Raphtalia)

With a fed up voice, Raphtalia reluctantly lifts up her hand and embeds it in Fohl’s solar plexus.

“Ugu… I can still go on!” (Fohl)
“Then, me too.” (Atlas)

Atlas chops the back of Fohl’s head.

“Guha! A-Atlaa…” (Fohl)

Hey!
Why are you following up?

“Your training is running late?” (Naofumi)
“Yeah. If we give him the chance, he tries to run home. It’s quite troublesome.” (Raphtalia)
“Right. The instructor always leaves Fohl-san under Raphtalia-san’s watch.” (Rishia)
“Is that so?” (Naofumi)

Dammit, just how much of a Sis-con does he have to be?
He runs away from his own journey.

“I’m currently the strongest of master’s disciples, so it naturally turned out like that… I can understand that he treats Atlas-chan dearly, but I think he should put his effort towards getting stronger for her.” (Raphtalia)
“But, it’s going to last for only a little longer, right?” (Naofumi)
“Yes. I look forward to coming home.” (Raphtalia)
“Then, let me walk you to the outside of the Castle Town.” (Naofumi)
“Thank you.” (Raphtalia)

My group accompanies Raphtalia’s to the edge of town.

“Look forward to the souvenirs.” (Raphtalia)
“You got some?” (Naofumi)
“Yes. We brought a large variety.” (Raphtalia)

Are they materials she got while training? If so, I’d definitely want them.
Raphtalia has values similar to mine. She probably knows what would make me happy.

“Well then.” (Raphtalia)
“’Cya soon.” (Naofumi)

I wave my hand as I watch Raphtalia set out.

“Then, should we be off as well?” (Atlas)
“Yeah, we already sent Ren and Rishia home ahead of time. We should…” (Naofumi)
“Carriage…” (Firo)

Firo suddenly lets out a questioning voice.
For some reason she looks like she’s going to cry.

“Ah, yes, yes. I haven’t stopped by the Old Man’s place yet, so I better go ask him.” (Naofumi)

Does not having a carriage bother her that much?
But, I am also worried about the Old man, so it’s not a bad idea to check.
Though, I did talk with him a bit after the incident.

Apparently, the Three Hero Church remnants raided his shop and tried to stab him with the Dagger of Mob Mentality.
He could tell it was a strange weapon at a glance, so he immediately knocked them senseless, closed shop, and locked them up in an acquaintance’s house.
I did warn him, so this was to be expected.
After the incident began escalating, he helped evacuate the populace.
He truly is a reliable person

More importantly, just what level is that Old Man?
Level isn’t related to combat experience and technique, so perhaps it’s a rude thing to ask.
But, he seems to have a lot of experience for some reason.

“Oh, if it isn’t the young lad.” (Old Man)
“How’s your store been faring?” (Naofumi)
“Quite a bit’s been stolen, but it seems that my money is still safe.” (Old Man)
“I see. So do you plan on reopening soon?” (Naofumi)
“I can open at any time. Though, my variety won’t be the best.” (Old Man)
“Then won’t you come over to my village this time?” (Naofumi)
“Again, laddie? I have no intentions of answering you at this point in time.” (Old Man)

Imya’s Uncle has just returned, so I shouldn’t be too insistent with my invitation.

“And, what are you here for today?” (Old Man)
“My bird is begging for her new carriage.” (Naofumi)
“Ah, that matter. I’m sorry, young lady, it’s not done yet.” (Old Man)
“I see… Firo is sad.” (Firo)
“As compensation, I’ll use some techniques from Faubley to improve it. Don’t worry.” (Old Man)
“What do you plan on doing?” (Naofumi)
“They have something that lifts the wheels and body to lessen impact apparently.” (Old Man)

… Suspension?
I see. This world has such things as well.
The old man unrolls a blueprint and shows it to me.
It involves attaching simple springs to the Wheel’s couplings.

“Then…” (Naofumi)

I supplement the design by sketching a damper on it.
Even so, it only uses simple pipes, water and air pressure.
It’s not like I’m that knowledgeable on the matter.
I’m only reiterating information that one of my friends who liked cars lectured to me long ago.
However, even with that, the Old Man’s eyes shine with admiration. He nods a few times.

“Boy, you know some interesting things. I’ll test it out.” (Old Man)
“My world was one without magic. If you try using magic with this design, I think you may get a good effect.” (Naofumi)
“I understand, boy. You don’t need to sketch it all out. I have the inspiration.” (Old Man)
“I see. I’ll look forward to it.” (Naofumi)
“Yeah! Firo will look forward!” (Firo)

After looking over the blueprints with the old man, we warp back to the village.

About Yoraikun

A college student who really should be doing something more productive with his time. Also, he can read a bit of Japanese.
This entry was posted in The Rise of the Shield Hero and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

182 Responses to Chapter 255: Starting Point

  1. eis says:

    Hmmmm is the power granny going to train the rest of them? Kinda odd that she took fohl instead of atlas which seems to be the stronger one

    Liked by 1 person

    • Anonylollipops says:

      She just doesn’t want Atlaschan to be limit by her technique.

      Like

    • Anonono says:

      the grandma stated before that atlas doesnt need to train as she can already use the technique only in a different form cause you know shes blind and all she uses the direction of chi/ki to see the physical world w/c in return grants her the ability to manipulate it

      Like

  2. speed1902 says:

    Thanks for the chapter yoraikun

    Liked by 1 person

  3. centipede says:

    naofumi + raphtalia = well balanced
    naofumi + atlas = scary !!!

    Liked by 5 people

  4. Anon says:

    I’m only reiterating information that one of my friends who liked cars lectured to me long ago.

    ======================

    Itasha Car , anyone?😄😄😄

    Like

  5. nckeo says:

    Next thing we know, Filo Rial mountain drifting is invented…

    Like

  6. amagi91 says:

    Thanks for the chapter

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Seven Inch Hazard says:

    Yoraikun is fast! I look forward to 2 per day.

    Salamat.

    Like

  8. tomeraz says:

    Thanks for the chap

    Liked by 1 person

  9. nnipi says:

    Pimp my carriage

    Like

  10. laclongquan says:

    Pimp my Firo~

    /runaway

    Liked by 2 people

  11. ollein says:

    thx for the chapters..
    yoraikun look like more tsundere now

    Like

  12. Ingro says:

    Thank you for the chapter.

    Like

  13. Poor Queen she’s deadly worry about his husband and mortaly wounded from her dead daughter and Naofumi doesn’t care a shit about it and split it all in the face of the Queen XDD fuck that make my day😄

    Like

    • Most Wanted says:

      Queen: My daughter is dead.
      Naofumi: As if I care!

      Like

    • rafutalio says:

      Well she should know better than to seek comforting from Naofumi… kek

      Like

      • Rusty says:

        She really doesn’t have anyone else she is close to. The only person who is sane or not trying to kill her is Naofumi. Poor Queen I feel bad for her.

        Like

        • rafutalio says:

          I don’t know about that… the Queen supposedly has a good bit of diplomatic skill and she should have enough allies.

          The thing about Naofumi, I think, is precisely his “it’s got nothing to do with me” attitude. That is, he’s not from this world, nor is he seeking any power here. It’s not just that he’s not trying to kill her, he’s got no interest in the politics of that world; or the world as a whole.

          Who else comes to her with no second intentions in mind like that? Probably nobody except Melty.

          Like

    • mlvizard says:

      I wouldn’t say he doesn’t care, so much as he can’t care. His curse apparently makes him cynical and unable to trust/empathize deeply with people. The exception is Raphtalia, and even with her he can’t go deeper than the relationship they already have.

      Like

      • rafutalio says:

        I don’t think it’s the fault of the curse at this point as much as it is just the result of his personality change from the beginning of this series (which is weird in of itself, but whatever).

        Other than that, there was that chapter where Gaelion’s dragon fragment or whatever seems to be interacting with him/his shield and making him like that, but I don’t know if I should just take that whole thing as comic relief or try to seriously figure it out…

        Like

        • Kanmuru says:

          All his Wrath was taken by Gaelion at that time. There he almost said “I love u” to Raphtalia, and he noticed that the girls around him was all beauties.
          What makes him dense and insensitive is the curse. That’s all xD

          Like

  14. yariel says:


    hmm …
    I wonder if Naofumi need to find Silver or Golden hammer first to make the oldman join …
    (collect 108 friend and unlock Bright Shield rune … err … ability or something)

    Like

    • Anon says:

      Hahaha , he really need Silver hammer indeed to make Oyaji join him😄

      In Suikoden Series You should recruit 108 Star of Destiny to unlock Special Ending / Ability
      In TnY , Naofumi will gather 108 Slave who will enslave Shield Bro instead😄

      Slave1: Shield Bro , food
      Slave2: Shield Bro , hungggrrrrrrrrrrryy

      lol😄😄😄

      Like

      • Alex says:

        doesn’t have over a hundred slaves already… minus 1 now that Rishia’s crest is gone… and how ever many died in the rebellion…

        Like

        • Anon says:

          Dude , that just a metaphore (Correct me Here , English aren’t My native language)
          It’s just a way of saying~
          Still , He has many many slave

          Like

  15. peacefuloutrage says:

    Thanks for the chapter! We have been spoiled.

    Liked by 1 person

  16. ryuketsu says:

    Thank ya very much for the translation translators! Many thanks towards the Author!!

    Liked by 1 person

  17. Nightmare says:

    Thank u very much for the constant updates !!!

    Liked by 1 person

  18. Mario says:

    Thanks for the chapter.

    Liked by 1 person

  19. GuiltySquad says:

    Ha I’m enjoying the comments more than the chapters now… I wonder why??

    I especially liked the pairing section..

    Like

  20. aristo999999999 says:

    Thank you for the two chapters. I wonder whether Bakahou visited you as you are having two chapters per day consecutively, especially as you call him in “I’m not going to make too much a habit of 2 per day or anything, baka!”

    Like

  21. Maya says:

    Thanks for update.

    Shipment between Naofumi and Itsuki is a no-no. I rather go to Ren shipment (even if I disagree to this).

    So Itsuki curse series is pride and sloth? I mean he has no pride or no will. The way he answer is like a lazy person speak. Please correct me if I’m wrong.

    Like

    • rafutalio says:

      I think it’s quite fitting. His solth came from trying to look like a hero and not doing his work seriously. He was more interested in projecting his image as a hero than just doing his best. This was pointed out when Rafutalia and Firo saw through him in Cal Mira island.

      So you could say that his sloth is intertwined with his pride (which is so obvious it doesn’t warrant discussion). On the other hand, those two taken together would further lead me to think of Vainglory as his major sin, which speaks to his pretentiousness, cockyness, posing and boasting.

      Like

  22. chendu says:

    Oo yoraikun is going all tsundere Sweeeeet :3
    Thanks for the chapter as always Super-mighty-Red-yorai-kun

    Like

  23. Alex says:

    Friday the 13th:
    Keep Calm and
    Don’t go outside after dark
    Don’t go outside at all
    Always bring friends into every room
    Don’t go swimming
    Don’t smoke
    Don’t make love
    Don’t drink
    Don’t split up (Fred…)
    Don’t run from the killer
    And for the love of all that’s holy,
    Turn on the light before entering the room!

    Like

  24. whome says:

    Thanks for the chapters!

    And here I was hoping for 3 chapters per day…😀

    Like

  25. Cristian says:

    Merci!❤

    Like

  26. Thanks for the chapter!!!
    also, Atla is going to grown u as well, like Fohl?

    Like

    • Yoraikun says:

      I’m sorry, I don’t understand the question.

      Like

    • @sherlockbelmont, are you asking if Atla’s going to grow up as well? (Like Fohl?)

      from my understanding, in this world (and I’m going by what most recent have told us), Human race kinda follows our world in the way that they grow as the years go by, but they are also slightly affected by their levels.
      Mix race’s (Raphtalia, Tanuki, Atla, Fohl, etc.): Are just like the humans, but their levels greatly affect their growth, but only in way’s if it benefits the environment they currently live in. Example/proof of this would be Both Raphtalia’s and Fohl’s rapid growth. Raphtalia was self conscious about her needing to be stronger for Naofumi’s sake, (thus her child like/size body went through rapid growth). Fohl’s is kinda the same way, his body needed to be able to handle the Techniques he is learning form the Old Master, and he is completely deep in the thoughts and idea’s that Atla need’s her big brother’s protection.

      Monster/animal race: (really the only main one’s would be Firo and Gaelion), ….yea you got me on them, I mean, Firo AND Gaelion both went from new borns to ”I’m ready for combat” in the blink of a chapter(s)… Lvl probably affects them, but it’s more of their own will at this point

      and with that my ranting is done :3

      Like

      • Yeah that was my question. I ask because Raphtalia grow and also Fohl did so I was wondering why she didn’t you know the whole thing “I want marry Naufumi-sama but he thinks that I’m a child”. Raphtalia and Fohl were motivated and well I think that Atla is too.

        Liked by 1 person

        • Atla probably connected the dots when she looked into Naofumi (off screen…or would this technically be off page/print??)
          Tho I’m sure if she heard Naofumi directly being told “I’m only into mature(d) women, then with out a doubt, I can see her trying to look like Raphtalia/Rishia/ maybe even the Queen, (and end up looking just like Trash’s lost sister xD)

          Like

  27. lilwuzy says:

    Thank you! Keep up the work. By the way, Yoraikun’s reaction is way too cuteee!

    Like

  28. Sams says:

    Da flyin’ fuck, Yo’ has gone tsun dere dere !

    Like

  29. Passerby 1 says:


    (Hope it works)

    Like

  30. Unknown says:

    Wen2jia1we3. What the hell is your nickname? I keep reading over and over but still cannot figure it out 😅

    Like

  31. SumDumGuy says:

    While I like the thought of you doing two chapters every day until it is all done, you getting burned out on it wouldn’t be good. As long as at least it is once a week, I shouldn’t suffer withdrawal too badly. Thanks for all your work.

    Like

  32. Pingback: Capítulo 255 – Ponto de Início | Thyros Traduções

  33. Perfect Hidden A$$hole says:

    Lord of the Night………. BATMAN!!!!

    Like

So, what's on your mind?

