Chapter 272: The Second Conference of Heroes [Start]

Chapter 272: The Second Conference of Heroes [Start]

I step out of the Onsen and expose my body to the nighttime breeze. While I bask in the cool air, Ren and Motoyasu get out as well.
Itsuki and Rishia are already out, and they’re cooling off together.
I can see nothing but a couple when I look at them, but Itsuki’s expressionless face makes it feel like they had just experienced a failed date.

“Naofumi.” (Ren)

Ren calls out to me.
I’m not sure what Raphtalia and the others are doing, but they haven’t exited the women’s side yet.
They’re taking a long bath.

“What?” (Naofumi)
“I asked this island’s count when I got here. He allowed us to use the conference room we used last time. Can we gather all the heroes there to talk?” (Ren)
“Isn’t the village fine?” (Naofumi)
“That’s true, but if you think about it, that’s the place where the heroes started arguing with and denying one another. That’s why I want us to gather there and talk once more.” (Ren)
“How unnecessary.” (Naofumi)
“I’ve already talked to Itsuki and Motoyasu. Let’s talk a bit before the women come out.” (Ren)
“Waiting for them is a waste of time. I guess it’s fine.” (Naofumi)

There’s nothing gained in waiting, so I’m fine with it.
It seems that Ren will be satisfied by it.
We climb the spiral stairs to the room we met in before.

Last time I climbed these steps, I was able to look out at the other islands.
When I try to look through the windows now, my vision is clouded by the darkness of night. I see nothing but shadows.
The island’s activation period is long over.
It’s like a resort’s off-season.
This island will only be lively again in 10 years.

I remember hearing it from the lord here.
Even during off-season, adventurers still come.
The area’s a tourist attraction, and the monsters have moderate strength, so hunting is permitted to a certain extent.

There are some rare monsters to be found. Are the materials rare as well?
I didn’t get too much money for them though.
Ren, Motoyasu and Midori, Itsuki and Rishia, and I enter the room and find seats around the round table.

“Henceforth, the second official conference of Heroes shall commence.” (Ren)

Ren raises his hand and declares.

“There’s no chairman, I’d like to act as a representative.” (Ren)
“Got it.” (Naofumi)

Recently, Ren’s been overflowing with enthusiasm.
The goal of fighting the wave has ignited a flame within his soul.
My end goal is survival, so I doubt I’ll ever become like that.
The fact that he’s still obsessed with himself means that he hasn’t changed that much from the start.
Though, I think he’s on a better track than before.

“And? What did you want to talk about?” (Naofumi)
“Let’s continue the discussion that was suspended last time.” (Ren)
“I think we were arguing about reinforcement methods.” (Naofumi)
“Yeah…” (Ren)

Ren raises his sword out front and starts reading something I cannot see.

“Naofumi gave Shadow… a list of our various methods of getting stronger. We can combine them to obtain greater strength. At first, I didn’t believe it… but Naofumi was able to integrate all of them to put a stop to the calamity we caused. This points to the fact that his words were the truth.” (Ren)
“That’s right.” (Motoyasu)

Motoyasu and Ren both nod.
Itsuki just gives off the feeling of nodding.

“Because of my curse, I was unable to carry out smithing or enhancements well, but thanks to the daily usage of the onsens, I’m gradually getting better.” (Ren)
“There’s no way Father-in-Law would ever lie. I learned to put these methods to practice myself!” (Motoyasu)

Motoyasu announces this fact with a smile on his face.

“I know, so calm down. Itsuki, what about you?” (Naofumi)
“… I understand.” (Itsuki)

Itsuki fiddles with the icons on his status. His eyes dart back and forth.

“I did it.” (Itsuki)

It’s because he can’t think for himself right now.
The current Itsuki doesn’t know how to doubt others.
I guess this makes his situation worthwhile.

“… So it was true. If I wasn’t so prideful at that time, then perhaps all of that wouldn’t have happened.” (Itsuki)

Since his symptoms are slowly being alleviated, Itsuki is able to utter some words of regret.
Is this because of the curse? Or are those his true thoughts? Who can say.

“That’s why, once more, I wish to continue this talk.” (Ren)
“Are you sure there’s more to talk about?” (Naofumi)
“No, there has to be something else.” (Ren)
“What is there left to say?” (Naofumi)

I think I know everything I need to know from the other three heroes.

“Naofumi, recently, I’ve been travelling with Eclaire, Rishia, and the others from your village. During that time, I discovered something that I want to show you.” (Ren)
“What?” (Naofumi)
“This.” (Ren)

Ren changes the shape of his sword and presents it to me.
It’s a strangely shaped sword which looks like a bundle of strings strung around each other countless times.
Honestly, it doesn’t look strong at all.

“What is that?” (Naofumi)
“It’s a blade called the Comrade Sword. It’s ability is『Comrade Growth Adjustment (Small)』” (Ren)
“What are the conditions to unlock it?” (Naofumi) (TL: Literally, the Nakama Sword)
“… I don’t know. Before I knew it, it was unlocked.” (Ren)
“Fumu…” (Naofumi)

Comrade Growth Adjustment (Small)… is it? It’s the same as my slave enhancement.
Looking at the current Ren, I have no idea how he got it.

“If this were a game, would the unlock condition be something like trusting your companions from the bottom of your heart?” (Naofumi)

I start off with a vague enquiry, and Ren nods.

“Probably…” (Ren)

With a bitter expression, he continues.

“As I thought. I didn’t fully trust my previous comrades. If only this sword came out earlier, then perhaps they wouldn’t have died.” (Ren)
“That’s one possibility. But that doesn’t make it useless now.” (Naofumi)
“… As expected of Naofumi. That’s why, like this, I want to discuss any new things we may have discovered.” (Ren)
“I see. I understand where you’re coming from.” (Naofumi)

I think there are plenty of things I haven’t discovered yet, so asking around may be useful.
There may be materials I have yet to feed my shield with highly desirable abilities.
Comrade Sword… It seems to have an ability like my Slave Use Shield.

… Wait a second. Do the effects stack?
I mean, Ren’s trusted comrades are Female Knight and Taniko, right?
Female Knight’s another case, but Taniko’s my slave.
If his comrade growth correction stacks with my slave one, then it would be really useful.
I’ll need to carefully look over Taniko’s status later.

By the way, I’m also doing a bit of research on my own.

“Then, should I teach you something?” (Naofumi)
“What is it?” (Ren)
“Yeah, when I fed my slave’s hair and such to the Shield, more Shields with growth corrections came out. In Ren’s case, I recommend feeding Kiel or Taniko’s weapon to your sword.” (Naofumi)

What I found were racial Shield systems.
But, there are plenty of skill-trees I’m unable to unlock as of yet.
Atlas, Fohl, and Sadina’s races are currently impossible.
What I unlocked were race Growth Corrections.

“Recommend… Naofumi even knows that much.” (Ren)
“But it’s not like I’ve tried feeding meat and bone.” (Naofumi)

As if I could do something that insane.
The Heroes must remain as humans.

“Right. Ren, try Female Knight’s hair too. Perhaps you’ll get a Comrade Sword II.” (Naofumi)
“Eclaire is a bit…” (Ren)

She looks like one who would complain a bit.
That girl seems like the type who would say, ‘A girl’s hair is her life’ or something.
(TL: A Japanese saying)

“Father-in-Law, I’ve also tried absorbing everyone’s feathers into my spear.” (Motoyasu)
“I’ve already unlocked all of the Filo Rial series.” (Naofumi)
“As expected of Father-in-Law! How did you get them all!? Please tell me!” (Motoyasu)
“Motoyasu, you’re being loud. Think about it by yourself.” (Naofumi)

My base stats have risen a considerable amount.
Now that I think about it… Sadina said that Raphtalia was not of the Raccoon tribe.
Though she’s of some relation to them.

There was a Raccoon Shield on my shield tree, but it never unlocked.
I’ve always wondered why, but it must be because Raphtalia is a subspecies.
I guess I’m satisfied with that explanation.

By the way, Sadina’s didn’t unlock either.
I fed her materials to the Shield too, but the Luka Shield didn’t unlock.
She said she was of the Sakamata Race, I think.

Taniko was of the Nui Race, and when I inserted Kiel’s fur into the shield, the Wanui Shield was unlocked.
(TL: Nui is an anagram of Inu, which is dog. If I scramble Dog, they become too OP.)
(ED: God Kiel lol)

From a glance, they both have dog ears and tails, but it seems they’re a little different.
I mean, Kiel can transform.
Anyways, with all the subspecies and relatives, even if I know the basic traits, I can’t tell apart the specific species.

Raphtalia’s race is pretty much like the difference between a Balloon and an Orange Balloon.
If I took some Raccoon hair, would I understand something?
No, it didn’t help at all.
An icon did light up, but it didn’t unlock.

I should have been able to see the name of her racial shield, but I couldn’t figure it out.
Though several shields lit up, even if I knew the race, I could’t change to it.
The Shields linked to Raccoon are ones like High Raccoon and East Raccoon. There are quite a few.

Perhaps it would be good to look at the Filo Rial tree for reference.
After I received Fitoria’s feather, though it unlocked the series, after a certain point, the names showed up as ???.
It’s like that.
The Filo Rial series has had all the material requirements met, so as long as I raise my level, I should become able to use them. Even now, there are a few locked ones.

In Raphtalia’s case, the materials are insufficient.
Is hair not enough?
But it’s not like she’s a monster, so I can’t get any meat or bone.

… But if you think about it, could I use humans as materials too?
What exactly are these legendary weapons?

“Father-in-Law?” (Motoyasu)
“… What?” (Naofumi)

Is he going to talk about Filo Rials again?

“How about feeding death row prisoners to your weapon?” (Motoyasu)
“………………………………………… Ren, how about it?” (Naofumi)
“Nonono! I get the feeling that’s a line that should never be crossed…” (Ren)
“That’s right, let’s give up.” (Naofumi)

Motoyasu. You’re getting quite dangerous.
I think it’s best to carefully distance myself from him.
I forcibly change the topic.

“Ah, right. The Hero Inscription on this island, did you people read it?” (Naofumi)

Itsuki is still learning. His magic doesn’t recover, so he can’t read magic words.
Even so, he’s learning the written language.
That’s why I address this question to Ren and Motoyasu.

“Yeah, I read it.” (Ren)
“Of course, Father-in-Law!” (Motoyasu)
“What magic did you get?” (Naofumi)

There’s a possibility that the magic learned depends on the individual.
I learned Zveit Aura, but it’s not certain that Ren and Motoyasu learned the same.

“Zveit Magic Enchant.”

About Yoraikun

A college student who really should be doing something more productive with his time. Also, he can read a bit of Japanese.
This entry was posted in The Rise of the Shield Hero and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

262 Responses to Chapter 272: The Second Conference of Heroes [Start]

  1. tomeraz says:

    “starts reading something I cannot seen.”, seen->see
    Thank you for the chap

    Like

  2. mxmach says:

    Wow early update?Iguess its good Iwoke up at 4 AM

    Like

  3. salahadin_pl says:

    I love everybody that works on this novel !

    Like

  4. teppy says:

    thank you :3

    Like

  5. aristo999999999 says:

    Thank you for the translation.

    Like

  6. anomalyxcrosh@gmail.com says:

    Thanks for the chapter!

    Like

  7. Tulius says:

    Zweit is a level of a spell ir are only the name ?

    Like

  8. wawachan says:

    yoraikun usually update after i go to bed ( GMT +7)

    so i change my habit to wakeup >> check ipad >> go to toilet >> breakfast

    go some trouble from triple chapter coz can’t finish within breakfast

    Like

  9. poisonivy says:

    thank you for the translation.

    Like

  10. how can you be so fast?

    Like

  11. migx says:

    Youre procrastinating and enjoying your trip on the Feel Train right now? You dont feel like translating TnY or watching Cross Ange as well? Then you certainly should consider picking up Danmachi! Why? ’cause Zura would be proud of u of course!

    Like

  12. Kumar Samvab says:

    \\/T\// praise the TL

    Like

  13. shieldbro says:

    To think that there are 2 more parts of this… ehem, technical details, it makes me go into a corner and sulk while hugging my knees. Do we really need to know all of this? ;O

    Like

    • IamMe says:

      Naofumis reactions are reason enough to read the other parts, and he does learn 1 or 2 more things.

      Like

      • shieldbro says:

        I’m not sure about which reactions you are talking about…
        If its the way he thinks about the things he learned, then it’s gotten extremely generic.

        He’ll learn one or two new things in second chapter, and if it’s any interesting, he’ll try to test it out. We’ve seen this over and over throughout the series.

        The only problem with this novel is that, there is too much telling, and very little showing. But the showing part is so well crafted, that I really enjoy reading it.

        Another thing that bothers me is, why do they keep looking for information out of the games they’ve played, when all of the heroes finally acknowledged that they’re not in a game? Even if the worlds they played in were similar to this one, could any info out of a game really be trusted?

        When I read the chapter of the race, I felt goosebumps. It was so well written that I almost thought that I’m taking part in it. Or the time when they were running away from the heroes, and had their faces on wanted posters.

        I wanna go back to that time :S
        Oh wait, I can!

        Like

        • Android 21 3/7 says:

          I agree with you, actually. The pacing is terrible. When faced with conflict, I get excited and crave more. I jumped in around the Calmira Island arc, but even then, I was thinking “So at last we see what the other Heroes are like” and I wasn’t disappointed. Spirit Turtle, I was always eager for the next installment. Fighting Ren, fighting Itsuki, I was practically chewing on my screen in frustration of waiting. (Motoyasu, I was too creeped out by to really enjoy. He still creeps me out and if Christmas of Shield Hero is any indication, that is not going to change any time soon.)
          I get that after so much excitement, the reader needs to breathe, but there’s too many downtime arcs. Do we really need to know Naofumi’s mundane day-to-day routine? Do we really need to know what kinds of shields he has acquired when he’s not going to use them? Can’t he just go “I placed new orders with the Old Man, since he wasn’t ready to move to my town yet and got a lot of new shields that let me do this, this, and this.” I get that the Rebuild arc helped flesh out the people in Naofumi’s town and the difficulties he faces (namely Atlas), but couldn’t the author have found something more interesting to write that did the same thing? There could be a contingent of fisherfolk among the people and Sadina could report piracy or territory dispute with a neighboring village for example. Or the foreign countries could continue trying to sneak their daughters in as slaves (Naofumi doesn’t seem to choose them personally anymore) and the girls threaten Naofumi and the Queen with diplomatic issues should he turn them away from his bed. That could introduce Atlas’ yandere tendencies and Naofumi would have to find another way to deal with it than fighting. (As much as he dislikes Melromark, he doesn’t seem to like any of the other countries either, especially when they’re trying to force harems on him. At least the Queen is doing nothing more than nudging Melty and making her intentions known and better the devil you know than the devil you don’t.) Or the racoon demi-humans who tried to cheat their way into the city and do minimal work. I thought that sounded interesting. Could flesh out Raphtalia’s backstory. Why wasn’t that expanded upon?

          Liked by 1 person

        • IamMe says:

          In case you missed it. The reactions I was talking about are in Chapter 274. I was not going to mention it here as I did not feel like having the comment deleted.

          Like

  14. Masonic says:

    Yoraikun-sama I’ve noticed that, you’re posting chapters three times a day………and I LOVE IT!!!!

    Like

  15. tirtafirdaus says:

    Thanks for the translation Yoraikun-san🙂

    And sorry to disturb, but is there any image about Naofumi’s demi human slaves? Actually, i can’t really imagine Sadina, Atlas, Gaelion etc in my head….

    Like

  16. Hey Yoraikun, have you done anything on 273 yet? I kinda started translating it (still have editing to do) cos I couldn’t sleep and was expecting you to be working on KnWM today, but you’ve got it registered on BT…..

    Liked by 1 person

  17. Thanks for the chapther!!!!

    Like

  18. amagi91 says:

    thanks a lot for the chapter

    Like

  19. Sodemas says:

    what are WE talking about?

    Like

  20. nckeo says:

    So not just women are pigs in Motoyasu eyes but other humans as well?!!

    Like

  21. Psychronia says:

    Have the Heroes tried feeding their own hair or nails to their weapons? Hero’s Shield etc might be cool.

    Like

  22. Seven Inch Hazard says:

    Thanks

    Like

  23. IamMe says:

    Love the title for this arc on Bakatsuki: “Counterattack of the Fluffy-Tailed Waifu Arc”

    Like

  24. Mr.Man says:

    ive changed my view on motoyasu after reading his arc

    Like

  25. Justice says:

    small mistake, says “Fio Rial” at one point instead of “Filo Rial”
    nothing big but mm

    Like

  26. Unknown says:

    Yoraikun. We miss you!!! 😊

    Like

  27. meiruna says:

    I think kookie forget/missplace the chapter 273 in 274 when she takeover
    Yoraikun, can you contact kookie, because there is no contact in this 2 days

    Like

    • spartanunit117 says:

      huh what did you mean ?I think she does’nt misplace anything and she put the correct order for the chapter

      Like

      • meiruna says:

        Ch 273 registered by Yoraikun, because in sunday yoraikun translating KnW, kookie take it over, instead of changed the registered chapter 273, she put ch 274 instead
        The ch 273 just recently changed to Chapter 273 PREVIEW – KookieDreamer – Completed

        Like

  28. Corey says:

    Are you ok yoraikun, no updates in a couple days?

    Like

  29. meiruna says:

    Yoraikun, please take over 274

    Like

  30. IamMe says:

    Cute 4koma spotted.

    Title: “Not like that”
    Panel 1: Hero of the Shield can’t hold weapons
    Panel 2: From today on you are my sword.
    Panel 3: SFX: Jakiin
    Panel 4: Raph: Would it be better if I hold my breath?
    Panel 4: Nao: Ha?

    Liked by 2 people

  31. Death says:

    Gah I just noticed I skipped a chap. But today was a good day, I think a found Firo in another world. http://disgaea.wikia.com/wiki/Flonne. Flonne looks too similar to Firo in the anime to ignore😄

    Like

    • Yoraikun says:

      Twas already noted by the author

      Like

    • IamMe says:

      Author actually had Naomufi say that she looked almost identical to Flonne, especially after her clothes were made. Of course he did not use her exact name, copyright and such, but referenced her in typical Japanese fashion

      Like

      • Yoraikun says:

        No, Motoyasu used her exact name.

        Like

      • Subsinexus says:

        Motoyasu: “Amazing…… This is the first time I’ve seen such an ideal woman……”
        Naofumi: “……Ha?”
        Motoyasu: “I did not think a girl so similar to Flonne-chan would exist in the world!”

        Who is that?
        …… It’s a game character.
        That reminds me, Firo’s appearance is that of a certain pure daughter angel who is from a game in my world. [1]

        Motoyasu: “I, what a moe angel…..”
        Naofumi: “Shut up! I do not want to know your sexual preferences!”
        Motoyasu: “Different worlds are the best!”

        Like

      • IamMe says:

        Chapter 33:

        “The two girls appeared from the back of the store.
        My eyes turned towards Firo.
        Alright, her figure which was already angel-like is even more stunning.
        Pure white wings, matching the white one piece… And a blue ribbon on her chest. What was it?
        Right, she looks like an angel heroine from the 2-D world.”

        Like

        • Yoraikun says:

          Chapter 46:
          I talk big.

          Motoyasu: “Amazing…… This is the first time I saw such an ideal woman……”
          Naofumi: “……Ha?”
          Motoyasu: “I did not think a girl so similar to Flonne-chan would exist in the world!”

          Who is that?
          …… It’s a game character.

          Like

  32. Grey Encoder says:

    Thanks for one more chapter of TnY.
    Just words aren’t enough to express my joy while I read chapter on the mornings🙂
    So I made some work ~
    I hope you will like it🙂

    Like

  33. koro-kun says:

    do you guys know where can i read the light novel version of this?
    because the LN and WN has so much differences

    Like

  34. Alex says:

    Everybody is freaking out over chapter 274. There’s no reason to beg for it. Besides if Yoraikun is translating other chapters right now we will have a rush of them. I just check this website and baka-tsuki seventy-two times a day😛

    Like

  35. NIGHT VINTRAL says:

    the spirit turtles a woman

    Like

  36. Sad guy says:

    why there is no new update. I am so sad T.T. I really looking forward for the new update everyday and refresh my web page. LOL

    Like

  37. Subsinexus says:

    S-say Yoraikun, any chance of translating the light novels after this? I’m really interested in this supposed female spirit turtle…

    Like

  38. ryuketsu says:

    Thank ya very much for the translation translators! Many thanks towards the Author!

    Like

  39. Pingback: Capítulo 272 – A Segunda Reunião dos Heróis (Início) | Thyros Traduções

So, what's on your mind?

