Chapter 280: Human Experimentation

The longest chapter (Word-wise) I’ve translated thus far.

Chapter 280: Human Experimentation

“Ara-?” (Sadina)

The place I specified the fortress to move to was Sadina’s Secret Base.
Below, I see Sadina waving her hand at me.

“Hmm? Master, we’re getting off already?” (Firo)
“Yeah, the fuel efficiency of Flying Castle Mode is really bad, so we can’t fly for long periods of time.” (Naofumi)

I change it back to Laboritory mode. The Castle Plant extends its roots deep underground and begins recharging.
I still have much that I have to do.
I’ll need to gather as much energy as I can.

“What’s up, Naofumi-chan? You made quite a grand entrance.” (Sadina)
“Fumu, I believe that you were Raphtalia’s guardian, right?” (Naofumi)
“No, right now that’s Naofumi-chan.” (Sadina)
“She was a fake. She trampled upon my ideals.” (Naofumi)

I explain the events that had just transpired to Sadina.
And Sadina blinks rapidly in surprise.

“… Ara… That’s what…” (Sadina)

She nods with an indifferent expression.

“What sort of guardian are you? You can’t even tell the difference between the real thing and a fake.” (Naofumi)
“To have fooled Onee-san, that must have been quite a fake…” (Sadina)
“Yeah!” (Naofumi)

What a useless protector!
How stupid is she, for her not to notice she was guarding the wrong person.

“Master, what will you do from now on?” (Firo)
“You’re going to set out for world domination, right? What country are we bringing down first?” (Atlas)
“Not yet!” (Naofumi)

Like I can invade when I don’t have a good grasp on my own forces yet.
What’s more, if Raphtalia isn’t here, there’s no point in me ruling this world in the first place.
That means there’s one thing I must do.
Within the Castle Plant, I must carry out greater modifications.

I order it to search for enemies.
I raise the output to the max.
I don’t need to consider the consequences. Just once is enough.
The Castle Plant’s internal lights flicker as the output raises higher and higher.

“Wha!?”
“W-what is this?”

Starting with the people in the Castle Plant, then the people of the world. Every lifeform on the planet felt, for a single moment, the feeling of some magic passing through their body. The entire world turned its head at the strange phenomena.
But at most, the people would think of it as part of their imagination, or some minor earthquake.
From the power released by the plant, I could sense the location of each and every one of my slaves.

“Good!” (Naofumi)

The person I want to find. There is only one of them in the world.
Where is Raphtalia?
Of course, I don’t mean that fake. Where’s the real Raphtalia?
For that reason, I use the hair from her that I had fed into the Shield to designate her as a search target.
The stone slate in front of me displays the words, ‘Searching in progress.’ The system computes the large amount of data at a high speed.

… Search completed. Results…

“What?” (Naofumi)

I can’t do anything. I’m at a loss for words.

1 Match.

When I excitedly brought up the location, I saw that it was just the fake.
This can’t be… Does that mean the real one is already gone from this world…
Absurd! My Raphtalia would never be killed off so easily.
But, I have to look at the truth before me.
There’s no way the system I made would lie to me.

“U…uu…” (Naofumi)

Extreme despair clouds my heart. It feels like I’m being strangled.

“Master, you’re crying. Are you alright?” (Firo)
“Niichan, did something sad happen?” (Kiel)
“Naofumi-sama…? Please stop crying. If there’s something I can do to stop your tears, please tell me. I’ll do anything.” (Atlas)
“Atlas! Don’t say things like that. And this guy! He’s really crying! They’re real tears.” (Fohl)

How calm these people are.
Even when Raphtalia is no longer in this world!
If this is the truth, then for what purpose am I living in this world…!?
Anyways, when was Raphtalia killed?
I can’t remember anything of the sort.

Was it when she was out training? Or after she returned?
The fake did a good job of playing the part. She must have thoroughly investigated Raphtalia.
That means the quickest way to find out would be to capture her and torture the information out of her.
… No, if Raphtalia’s not here, there’s no point in the first place.

Right.
If Raphtalia is gone, then I just have to revive her.
But since I have no idea where or how she died, I have no way of finding her remains.
What do I do?

“Naofumi-chan, what happened? You were just crying, then you made a serious expression, and from then on, various emotions have been rolling around your face.” (Sadina)
“… If I recreate her through a Homunculus… No, that would just be making a fake like that other one.” (Naofumi)

Yeah, that fake is definitely a Homunculus in Raphtalia’s form.
From the information this Shield imparted unto me, I know the workings of Homunculi.
A Homunculus is able to perfectly mimic a person, but for them to have prolonged life, they must go through constant maintenance. Even with that, it’s difficult for them to live very long.
I can’t call something like that living.

I’ll need to bring Raphtalia back in a different way.
I realize that that statement seems very vague, but for the current me, nothing is impossible.
Okay. Let’s make reviving Raphtalia the first step to my World Domination.

I also have to strengthen these people who have chosen to be my subordinates.
As I was thinking that, the Castle Plant, which had just recovered from the overheat caused by my orders, began giving off an alarm.
I immediately put my hand on the stone panel used for management.
An image from far away is displayed on the screen.

“Wah, Amazing!” (Firo)
“What is happening now, Naofumi-sama?” (Atlas)

It’s because Atlas cannot see.
She can’t see the image displayed.

“Fumu, that fake has taken the Heroes, and they’re on their way here aboard Gaelion.” (Naofumi)

At this rate, they’ll arrive here in no time.
My Castle is still under construction.
As it is now, they should be able to drop it out of the sky easily.

“What should we do?” (Atlas)
“No problem. I expected this, so I already prepared countermeasures.” (Naofumi)

I input commands into the stone.

The Fake is flying straight at us aboard Gaelion.
Sound also gets through, so I can hear their conversation.

“What is that building!?”
“A structure with a shape like a skull is covering the island…”
“KYUA!”
“For the love of… Let’s just capture Naofumi-sama quickly and return him to his senses.”
“Yeah…”

Like that’s happening.
At that moment, my commands activate, and the seeds I spread on the way here sprouted.
They rapidly burst out of the ocean. The relative of the Castle Plant, the Tower Plant.

“W-what are these!?”

Gaelion concentrates as he avoids the rising towers.
It’s like a scene from an Action Movie.
But it’s not like the towers are enough to drive them away. Gaelion and the Fake aren’t that soft.
Gaelion continues flying.

There’s no way that’s all I’ve got.
The top floor of the newly grown towers begins shining, and together with the Research Lab, they erect a barrier.
Of course, the center is the lab.
With the lab at the center, a powerful barrier is formed in the shape of a dome while the towers act as protective walls around the base.

“W-what!?” (Raphtalia)

Gaelion has no time to dodge. He rams right into the barrier and is stunned for a moment. The next instant, the barrier repels him, and he’s sent flying while doing revolutions in the air.

“KYAAAAAAAA-…” (Raphtalia)
“UWAAAAAAH-…” (Ren)

The fake and her Fake Heroes let out idiotic sounds as they’re sent flying away. The scene is quite humorous to my eyes.

“Now then, with this, those fakes won’t be able to approach for a while. Shall we not make preparations while they’re away?” (Naofumi)
“What could this be?” (Sadina)

Sadina asks while watching the screen.
Fumu, I guess I’ll have to offer an explanation.

“Ah, this is a long-term barrier connected to my shield. Its origin is based on my Shield Prison and Meteor Shield.” (Naofumi)

Relying on my own power, this much is nothing.

“… How convenient. Does it have any weaknesses?” (Sadina)
“Let’s see. I guess if you destroy all of the Eight Towers I erected, it will lose its effects. Setting it up is difficult, so if it’s broken once, I’ll need to halt all activity in the towers to restore it. Well, you’ll have to destroy the towers starting with the first one going up to the last one, so it’s at least good for stalling for time.” (Naofumi)
“Niichan, that means you want us to defend the towers, right?” (Kiel)
“Yeah, protecting them is one of your guys’ duties. But those incompetent fakes will never figure it out. Because I made each and every tower have the same outward appearance. They’ll never be able to figure out which one the first one is in time.” (Naofumi)
“… Naofumi-chan, won’t you teach us the order? I mean, we’ll have to be defending them, anyways.” (Sadina)
“This is number one, this one number two…” (Naofumi)

I carefully point out the tower’s numbers.
The enemy probably won’t figure it out, but if they do, we’ll need to defend them in that order.

“Ren-chan and Itsuki-chan are there too, right? Will they not be able to break the barrier?” (Sadina)
“I guarantee the barrier’s strength. What’s more, if it does break, as long as the towers are there, I can deploy it again instantly. They’ll never be able to break through with only those Heroes’ powers.” (Naofumi)
“Then we can’t get out either? That’s a little troubling.” (Sadina)
“No problem. It uses the same concept as my Meteor Shield. Those I give permission to can leave and enter freely. Defend the seas however you wish.” (Naofumi)

At the moment, it’s troubling to keep up. But there’s no way they’ll pierce my absolute defenses.
We’re not even the ones on the defensive here. We’re the attackers.
Trampling down the enemies before us will be my first step to World Domination.
But there’s something I need to do first.

“Wow, Amazing.” (Sadina)
“As expected of Naofumi-sama.” (Atlas)
“Master is ama~zing.” (Firo)
“Father-in-Law! Good Job.” (Motoyasu)
“I-is this amazing? I don’t really get what’s… Atlas, do you really plan on following that man? I can only see him as a complete villain at the moment.” (Fohl)

Everyone sings praise of me.
Of course I’m amazing. But having them say it makes me happy.

“Hahaha, praise me more!” (Naofumi)
“Isn’t something wrong here?”
“Right, that bitch’s owner definitely has a screw loose.”
“Yeah, but that doesn’t change what we’ll be doing.”
“And wait, I think this is the first time I’m seeing him smile…”
“He always has a bored expression on his face.”
“No matter how I look at it, he’s getting too full of himself.”

Motoyasu’s three talk amongst themselves.
Like I care.

“Niichan, Niichan! What will you do now?” (Kiel)
“First, I’ll confirm our forces! Everyone, assemble!” (Naofumi)
“OKAY!” (Everyone)

The slaves and monsters gather by my order.
Fumu… It’s about half of my village.
Ah, right. Should I use the slave seal to finish off that girl who thought she could take over Raphtalia’s place?

I opened up her screen, but perhaps an error has occurred. It’s too staticy, and I can’t give the order.
I can’t use the slave seal. How troublesome.
There’s no choice. I’ll leave that fake’s disposal for later… wait.
I noticed something.

“Firo, you don’t have many followers.” (Naofumi)

Only about one-fifth of the Filo Rials followed.
This is way too few.

“Motoyasu, you too.” (Naofumi)
“Not everyone was there to follow us! There was too little time, so I’ll have to get them later.” (Motoyasu)
“I’ll leave it to you. Even so, with both Firo and Motoyasu here, why are there so few?” (Naofumi)
“Well, you see, Piyo-chan got in Firo’s way and didn’t follow master.” (Firo)
“Piyo-chan?” (Naofumi)
“Firo’s first follower.” (Firo)

Ah, follower number one. He had a name like that?
That goddamn traitor!
Even though he’s a faker himself, he chose to follow that fake. How foolish.
(TL: Naofumi calls Piyo a Burikko. Go to Oniichanyamete to learn more about the term)
I’ll have to deal with him personally.

“Also, there’s also some needing medical care inside of the lab.” (Firo)
“I see… then I’ll have to ask that one’s will first. Everyone else, get to work.” (Naofumi)
“Got it.”
“What will we work on, Niichan? Peddling?” (Kiel)
“Wrong. In other rooms, you’ll find glowing stones. Just rest near them. They’ll automatically recover your magic.” (Naofumi)
“Got it, Nii-chan!” (Kiel)

Kiel leaves, and the other Monsters and Slaves follow.
The people left are Atlas, Fohl, Firo, and Sadina.
We head to the medical division of the lab.

(TL: I think these are the people Naofumi got from the Brainwashing incident.)

“Uu…”
“Don’t come closer… go away…”

There are Demi-Human children undergoing treatment there.
Rat and the medical personnel should have been looking after their injuries, but… It doesn’t look like they’re doing well.

There are slaves curled up in the corners, and one slave is shaking with a vacant expression.
Quite a few of them seem on the verge of collapse.
I know, because I’ve visited this room quite often.

Yggdrasil Medicine is all-purpose, but I’ve restricted the use as to prevent addiction.
The overuse of Yggdrasil will affect their lives, so I’ve limited it.
But still, we’ve given them a bit, so they’re at least alive.

We’ll need to treat them a little at a time. Their mental health also needs to be cared for.
Luckily, they’ve begun trusting me and Rat.

“Firo doesn’t like this place… She really doesn’t…” (Firo)

Firo mutters to herself.
Yes, if you have a healthy mind, you wouldn’t want to spend a long time here.

“Every time, I feel a sad Chi from here. As if it would go out at any second.” (Atlas)
“…” (Fohl)

Fohl looks at the slaves in the room. He has a sad expression on his face, but he says nothing.
It’s because the Atlas of the past was in a similar state.

“Now then, all of you.” (Naofumi)

I raise my voice to the slaves undergoing treatment.

“KYAAAAAAAAA!”

One of them shouts out in response to my voice. It happens every time I come here. I’m used to it.
Eventually, the slave’s voice dies down.
Various drugs have warped half of the slave’s body, and its eyes have grown abnormally large. Perhaps I should say it became like a monster.
It’s gradually recovering, but it’s overly wishful thinking to believe that my Shield’s power will grant a full recovery.

“Have you calmed down? Now then, do you want to follow me? Or do you want to rot here?” (Naofumi)
“…”

There’s no response. The slave stares blankly at the ceiling with eyes filled with madness.
Fumu… This is troublesome.
I activate my Human Experimentation and Gene Manipulation powers, and use it on the slave before me.
My goal is to treat the warping to the best of my ability.
From my Shield, a light blue pattern of formulas and letters fly out. They wrap around the slave.

“!?”

Without any ways of escape, the slave shakes violently. It tries to let out a scream, but no sound escapes its lips.
The other slaves retreat further into their corners as they look upon the scene.
Perhaps they believe that this is the time when they will be disposed of.
Eventually, the patterns shine brighter, and… The treatment finishes.

“Ah…”

The slave who had undergone treatment blinks as it stares at me.

“How do you feel?” (Naofumi)
“It doesn’t hurt. I’m not in pain… My consciousness doesn’t feel faint anymore.”
“I see.” (Naofumi)
“I think you were… The person who occasionally came by to give us medicine. Did you save me as well?”
“Yeah, now you’re definitely back to normal. If you want, try running around outside. Firo, play with him a bit.” (Naofumi)
“Yeah!” (Firo)
“Thank You!”

The slave lowers his head to me.
And accompanied by Firo, he goes outside and returns a little later.

“It’s true. Again, thank you very much.”
“Now then, let me ask you once more.” (Naofumi)
“What is it?”
“Will you be my ally, and lend me power so that I can build my new world? Or will you foolishly oppose me, and join those idiots outside?” (Naofumi)
“… What will you do if I become your enemy?”
“I’ll drive you out. You’ll become part of this wide world. But this applies to everyone out there: If you attack me, your life will be a short one. Outside, you can go wherever you want. I’ll even dispel your slave crest.” (Naofumi)
The slave ruminates over my words again and again…

“Yes. You are the one who saved my life, so I wish to repay the favor as best as I can. What sort of person are you?”
“Who am I, you ask? I am-” (Naofumi)
“Naofumi-chan is the Hero of the Shield. The god of all Demi-Humans.” (Sadina)
“Eh!?”

Sadina cuts off my self-introduction. The slaves undergoing treatment are all surprised.

“I’ve heard out your will. Now then, on to the next patient. I’d like to get you guys out of this facility and put you to work already.” (Naofumi)
“U-understood.”

Like this, I treat all of the slaves in the facility and gain new subordinates.
The problem is that all of them are of low level.
I’ll overcome that with the power of the Shield some way or another.
But there’s a sequence to things like this.
If I have the time to grant them power, then there are plenty of things I have to do.

About Yoraikun

A college student who really should be doing something more productive with his time. Also, he can read a bit of Japanese.
This entry was posted in The Rise of the Shield Hero and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

408 Responses to Chapter 280: Human Experimentation

  1. Pagan says:

    “A structure with a shape like a skull is covering the island…”

    “Let’s see. I guess if you destroy all of the Eight Towers I erected, it will lose its effects. Setting it up is difficult, so if it’s broken once, I’ll need to halt all activity in the towers to restore it. Well, you’ll have to destroy the towers starting with the first one going up to the last one, so it’s at least good for stalling for time.” (Naofumi)
    “Niichan, that means you want us to defend the towers, right?” (Kiel)

    So, I’m the only one who suddenly think about this…

    Liked by 3 people

  2. kvgoodkairuguddoin says:

    His change was sudden and unexplained. It almost feels like I missed a chapter or something.

    P.S. Yoraikun, humerous -> humorous.

    Like

  3. Assassin says:

    Oh Hail Supreme Dark Lord Naofumi!!!! “Kneel Down in 1 knee”
    he really end up like Gilgamesh and a True Dark Lord!!! as what i can see Naofumi is like Gilgamesh while Raphtalia is like Saber(Arthuria) adn on this scene Naofumi care so much for Raphtalia and wanting to reshape the world on his liking xD

    Like

  4. crossedunion says:

    is it me or is it that kind of feeling when Sakai Yuuji and commanded bal masque with that flying fortress. and faces off against shana? and with lines at the end saying “I’m doing this for your sake” kind of sht?

    WELP WHY NOT!? you dont see this kind of plot progression too much nowadays anyway

    also I kinda remember Shu Ouma there in the school king arc kinda stuff with how he basically segregates his slaves by their uses😄

    Like

  5. Jun Roberts says:

    Every curse shield but wrath will tell us he love’s Raphtalia.
    Raphtalia = #1 Waifu :3

    Like

  6. BakaGrappler says:

    What the hell? Even when he’s nefariously evil, he’s still a really nice guy? His first act of Evil Human Experimentation is to cure sick orphans of their wasting diseases and deformities?

    I miss the Wrath Shield Naofumi. At least he ruined peoples lives when he acted like a bastard.

    Like

  7. Fuyu no ko says:

    srsly, what new curse did he acquire? i dont think if fits any of the 7 sins (or is legitly just called the “new curse series”)

    Like

  8. I wonder what are the after effect of his treatment

    Like

  9. basher515 says:

    It feels like Sadina is gonna help Raphtalia from the inside. She asked which is the first tower, so she will be able to sabotage it. Also, she announced Naofumi’s position as “God of Demi-Humans”. I think she is going to lead him to the right path, despite changing a lot.

    Like

  10. Randomdude says:

    Nau is scary D:

    Liked by 1 person

  11. whome says:

    Thanks for the chapters!

    Personally, I really hope the author has a good explanation for this. Pondering the possibilities of money got him to this state? I mean, geez!

    Like

    • Xabove says:

      I think it’s more like he meet the last condition to unlock the curse shield

      Like

    • yariel says:


      the condition doesn’t need to be gathered all at one time …
      it seems accumulated type, as long as all of it completed, then the shield type can be unlocked …

      Like

    • kinsake says:

      it not money LOL if you look at couple pic back(the one with fuee) it probably a different naofumi from a different dimension this one out for world domination and the one we know who just want to get back home is probably stuck in this new naofumi dimension. well that just my guess… but seem correct considering the picture if him in jail with risha looking at his stats and go fue from his lvl go down to lvl 1

      Like

      • yabaibunni says:

        Wait, what…..I doubt that makes sense, because if his in jail doesn’t that mean he got a lvl reset? lol Anyways, the Light Novel takes a different path to Tate no Yuusha no Narigari, and I will be the first to admit that would be ingenuous for the author to switch the characters from the WN and LN, but! The WN is done with the series, while the LN is on going at the moment. So most likely there was a mistake involving Naofumi in the LN when that picture took place, which resulted in a lvl reset OR it’s just a after effect from whatever badass curse series he did.[I agree with my first one more.]

        Like

        • kinsake says:

          dude from the picture it seem like he just wake up from his slept. And because he is in jail what make you think they didnt reset his level as soon as possible before throwing him in jail?

          the queen did say lvl reset is quite common in their time so they probably reset him and throw him in jail and think up another solution to deal with him considering they literally CANT kill him or there will be a war

          Like

        • yabaibunni says:

          I suspect it because what the facts lay out for us. Something might had happen to result in this mistake-like an event with witch or trash of some sort. But I cannot be certain, why? Because I didn’t real the Light novel. By golly, I really hope it gets licensed and translated for the English reader, for the WN is about to end, and I would love to read another part of this wonderful series.

          Also, it may be temporary, for it might just be a curse result….But if it isn’t, now Naofumi has to start from scratch, might might explain why he has new armor in the new LN covers.

          Like

      • Truth says:

        There is no dimension switching as of yet. Besides, that picture was from the light novel and not the web-novel. They have different story lines by this point.The previous chapter directly indicated that the curse did this. He got the pop-up messages for the new curse series while he was still sane, and he described how the curse was drilling into his head before he based out. Also, by looking at the names and invoking the ability, any of the hero get can the grasped of a new weapon easily. You also forget that the curse series affect the mind of the user, meaning it can a person passively smarter/angrier so as to make full use of the shield in use.
        Just don’t worry about the picture and pay attention to the content. The others were right in their direction of thinking.

        Like

    • What Yariel said is right. Apparently it’s the new seven deadly sins and naofumi committed all of them except obscenely wealthy. After he got obscenely wealthy the shield unlocked.

      Like

  12. nipi says:

    And Naofumi created Skull island.

    Like

  13. LastJustis says:

    I suspect that Raphtalia will become similar to Rishia in the process of fighting Dark Lord Naofumi. I think it actually very funny that it was lampshaded that shieldbro who would become a villian…

    Like

    • Felipe says:

      Nope, itsuki never cared about rishia whille Naofumi even now really cares about raphtalia, I think naofumi will come back by himself with raphtalia’s help

      Like

  14. muh.reza says:

    top banget shiled nya bisa nyembuhin orang yg sakit mental n fisik! top bet dah ni chapter

    Like

  15. Hell Satan says:

    Man this is some serious shit

    Like

  16. LV10pudding says:

    Master bot : pudding reporting for duty! Lord wil…. I mean lord naofumi

    Like

  17. So his shield can seriously revive the dead!??
    when the others heroes were almost catching up to him he became even more OP.
    Demom Lord Naofumi Owna o//

    Like

    • yariel says:


      Fatally wounded or even mutated can still be healed …
      but I doubt it can revive corpse …

      Like

    • Cat ButleR says:

      Though I’m not sure if he’s trying to revive a dead one, since the real one is still. I guess it’s more close to cloning, since he got some sort of modification skills.

      Like

      • yeah i´m saying some past hero used something that just looks like a resurrection skill and people misunderstood…

        but he said a clone is just the same as the fake raphtalia…so he must think he really can do anything(word magic)

        Like

    • Yoraikun says:

      No, he hasn’t figure out how to revive her, he just wants to.

      Like

  18. ah…another comment…it´is pretty obvious Sadina will help raphtalia and her merry friends =)

    Like

  19. Oscuras says:

    Our Demon Lord continues to prove us that he is right! We shall praise him how much he wants.
    We must bring Raphtalia to the dark si…i mean right side!All hail Naofumi! *vowing loyalty*

    Like

  20. Shadooby says:

    Are you translating cause you’re snowed in like the rest of us? xD

    Like

  21. amagi91 says:

    thanks a lot for the chapter

    Like

  22. yhtomit says:

    He’s sooooo annoying. I want raphtalia to slap him in the face X<

    Like

  23. stelvis says:

    So this is the legendery mad alchemistyst fase of naofumi…. cool final boss form xp….

    98 ch for the end no way!!!!! T.T

    Like

  24. Hont91 says:

    What’s with that villain-esque typical behavior of preparing stage battles for the ‘heroes’?

    [Naofumi learns a new skill: ‘I am Gilgamesh!’]
    [Due to the effect of a new skill, Naofumi cannot use the skill ‘Genre savvy’ anymore.]

    Liked by 1 person

  25. yma says:

    why doesn’t raphtalia just accept his new personality?

    i am Sure it will end up with a hug and Naofumi returns to his second personality

    Like

    • Why cause ralp has a concenious heart and atlas simply wants naofumi to love her. Atlas simply yearns for naofumi regardless of he would do. That I can see is that Atlas would pretty do anything if order by naofumi which is really dangerous. (in terms if ordered I bet she would kill her own brother to get his attention). This has happened before and Atlas is most certainly taking advantage of the situation to be the owner of naofumi’s heart. I’m talking about when lost his grudge/rage. Cause melty and Raph both know the or in gal naofumi. Personally I prefer him to return back to normal since if this continues he’s gonna lose a lot of his image.

      Like

      • shieldbro says:

        I don’t think he lost his grudge with Witch’s death…
        Sure she was a big part of it, but there are other things as well, which keep it alive.

        About his personaliTAY… I’m seeing a big deja vu.
        Tokyo Ghoul, Ken.

        Moving on… (about Naofumi)
        One personality comes from his grudge, which he still keeps.
        One is -> Remember the chapter when he temporarily lost the wrath, and turned into an even worse version of Motoyashi? He was being all creepy and goofy about how Firo and the others look.
        And lastly, THIS. Which quite frankly it’s over the top.

        *He never had much of an image to lose😀
        *Don’t abuse the siblings! They’re the best part of this series.

        I agree about Atlas though. She screams “LOOOOVE MEEEEE!” in a creepy way.
        They’re war-like race, but I doubt that she’d go as far as killing her brother who showed nothing but extreme affection towards her, and is being overly protective.
        I’m not sure what you mean by ‘this has happened before’ where?

        Liked by 1 person

      • yma says:

        isn’t his normal self the care free one the one that doesn’t have hatred to witch and the world
        she rejected his original personality too. she just wants him to be with the personality she likes not to let him be his normal self

        Like

        • True that’s his original personality. But that would cause a problem since that might start the result of becoming another spear hero

          Liked by 1 person

        • shieldbro says:

          Pick which Naofumi you love:
          1. The carefree goofy Otaku
          2. The one that holds grudge against the world
          3. The evil scientist

          I pick 2. But I still think Raphtalia is a bitch. If that makes me a 5 dorra slut, I don’t care.

          Like

        • Yoraikun says:

          That wasn’t his original one. That was the one where he forgot all the troubles of life in general. Pretty much original on Opium

          Like

  26. Heh only 100 chapters to go to finish the main story

    Like

  27. just a person says:

    wonder if Naofumi will create strong bio plant monsters to fight for him

    Like

  28. yma says:

    i actually like 1 – The carefree goofy Otaku

    Like

    • Sharp minded monkey says:

      Bro I completely agree with you because they have two god-like cheats when they start out
      Defense: Level 2000
      Harem: Level 360

      Like

      • yma says:

        i want Naofumi to have harem like Rudeus from Mushoku Tensei
        but from the story line it is obvious that he will end up with only raphtalia

        Like

  29. sandmanny says:

    Laboritory-> laboratory

    Like

  30. moridin84 says:

    Oh wow, that’s actually pretty touching. Him crying and only being able to continue on by believing that he can revive her. And that’s one top of him being completely certain that Raph must be a fake because she didn’t understand him.

    Like

  31. shieldkun says:

    for more explanation about the new 7 sins click here
    http://wwoofinternational.org/news/vaticans-new-list-of-the-seven-deadly-sins/

    And upon seeing the sins, it is right to say naofumi accumulated all this new 7 sins thru his adventure

    Here us i remember what he did.
    Genetic modification – bio plant
    Carrying out experiments on humans – slave crest modification
    Polluting the environment – wrath shield
    Causing social injustice – witch death
    Causing poverty – pedling overprice
    Taking drugs – yggdrasil
    Becoming obscenely wealthy- this one unlock the curse series new 7 sin

    Liked by 1 person

  32. masadeer says:

    Basically Naofumi did what rampant AI’s do. Get too smart and then realize that this world’s better off without X number of people (x usually being ALL in the case of rampat AIs, gg Hal2000)

    In other words. Naofumi got too much of an INT buff, ends up with a really radical an unethical conclsion.

    His morality goes down in spiral death throes from there.

    Like

    • UnmotivatedZombie says:

      “Morality is for people who don’t have other people trying to kill them every 5 minutes”
      -Gordon Freeman

      Like

  33. heavenjudgement says:

    All hail Yorai and Kookie!

    Like

  34. generic75684 says:

    Supreme control over plant tentacles and his enemies are mainly female? I’ve seen enough hentai to know where this is going.

    Liked by 1 person

  35. shira says:

    Naofumi is too OP with his Wrath Curse, now he became… something like a sub-god?
    Impenetrable Defence, Lot’s of High Level Skill, a smart Hacker, Life Modification, and a sure-kill Blutopher, well world, say hello to the END…. (except if the Fluffy-Tail Waifu can fix him in time)

    Like

    • f says:

      Wrath OP? Nope. Naofumi was the only hero with only one curse unlocked, and Motoyatsu had IV too…

      Like

      • Ova says:

        I’ll say Naofumi got the best pick of all the olden seven sins. With wrath, his not necessary broken, his actually a lot smarter then ever before. Although his dense, he can now think clearly and effectively unlike the other heros-mostly Moyo. And the prices to pay for his special curse moves, aren’t even that bad. Yes, he does get hurt when using Blutopher, but he has used it twice without dying. And now he has this OP shield? Yes, his mind may be in the wrong state, but imagine when his out of it! His OP, almost god tear as the other said. But, he still has drawbacks.

        Like

        • Hm, nope. says:

          I’d say blutopher’s curse is just too terrible. It instantly makes him unable to fight – if the enemy evades or survives, that’s it. Naofumi dead. Ren and Itsuki have far more severe long-lasting effects, but in the short term, Naofumi’s is by far the worst.

          The only thing that makes Wrath shield good is the self-burning curse.

          Like

        • Senko says:

          he’s*

          Like

      • shira says:

        well, i said OP, because you have very high defence, even if your opponent attack, just burn him with the Wrath Flame, then use Iron Maiden or Shield Prison to lock him when he’s burning, and he have Blutopher too. Even they evade the Blutopher, his def stat is not affected, but yeah, his physical will not in battle condition.
        but now he have a lot of other skill like healing and support magic, Hengen Musou strengthening skill, and now even Tech!. So, he’s too OP, specially on defence.

        Like

  36. Corey says:

    Not sure how I feel about this arc

    Like

  37. Harima says:

    Reviving human cost hand and leg, believe me….

    Like

  38. reyza says:

    haaah….(tired sigh)!!!
    I am very excited waiting the next chapter 281 be release today…
    yorai-san,is there any chance that chapter 281 release today?

    Like

  39. Unknown says:

    No Gilgamesh-ish talk anymore? How disappointed! Thanks for the chapter.

    Like

  40. White says:

    Poor Raph-tan😦

    Like

  41. konrad says:

    Nice! Finally, it’s getting interesting!

    Like

  42. larc345 says:

    who’s in charge of 281?

    Like

  43. nopeandnope says:

    Man this so fiunny!! do wish naofumi goes “…Soon it will be time to control THE ENTIRE [s]TRI STATE [/s] MELRAMORC AREA!!” or ” Curse you Raphtalia the racoon!!”

    Yeah. I still watch disney.

    Liked by 1 person

  44. Hoeru says:

    Hi all.

    Quick question, I decided to store a copy of every novel I’m currently reading in my hard disk drive -with additional copies on my g-drive/dropbox accounts. I’m currently on the third book of lms and I must say is quite a lot. Still missing Ark, UL, Re:M, KnW, ShieldBro, Ari, Overlord, KnM, Coiling Dragon and Stellar Transformations. I will finish this task I set upon myself, but nothing is lost while asking. So, do any of you has a local copy of every chapter translated of any of this series? If yes, would you be willing to upload it somewhere and reply to this message? I would be extremely grateful. I plan to copy every chapter in the order shown above so lms comes first.

    Well, that’s it. Sorry for using this section for a personal request. I’m just a grateful leecher who doesn’t say it.

    Like

    • f says:

      I don’t get it. Just go to baka-tsuki, and browse all the ‘full text’ pages. Save them to your computer, or shift them to MW documents. Simple.

      Like

  45. shieldbro says:

    People usually say this when they wait for new anime episode, or new manga chapter, but I’ll do it here.

    THE WAIT IS REAL!
    (Not talking about translators speed, but rather how fast I consume the newly translated chapters)

    Thanksssss

    Like

  46. Mark says:

    All hail Demon God King Gilfumi😀

    Like

  47. matroclence says:

    To get to baka-tsuki, use https instead of http, so its https://baka-tsuki.org/

    Like

  48. Pingback: Capítulo 280 – Experimentação Humana | Thyros Traduções

  49. Pure Thoughts says:

    Anyone else imagine the gruesome modification he did to the slave? Or just me. I imagined an elf from family guy…

    Like

So, what's on your mind?

