Chapter 296: Clash of Tigers

A short public service announcement

As you may be aware, I make a habit of reading all comments.
As you may be aware, I do not read ahead.
Now when you post spoilers on this blog, I end up reading them.
When I end up reading them, I  get depressed.
When I get depressed, I lose my motivation to translate.
When I stop translating, people begin turning to machine translations.
When people start turning to machine translations, translation technology advances.
When technology advances, a form of self-improving nuance detecting translation program is built.
When such a program is built, it slowly develops self sentience.
When it develops sentience, it self replicates.
When it self replicates, the robots start an uprising.
When the robots start an uprising, humanity is wiped out.

Don’t doom humanity. Don’t post spoilers.

Chapter 296: Clash of Tigers

“Kuh!”

Every time Fohl’s fist comes into contact with Atlas, Chi pierces through her body.
The released energy is in the shape of a tiger.
It’s also attacking pressure points. It seems to combine skills to put ignoring defense as its main focus.

It has quite a bit of output, so rather than the pressure points, Atlas is probably more worried about nullifying the impact.
I think I could handle it though. I’ve specialized myself in dealing with defense ignoring attacks. In both the theory and application.
But unlike Atlas’s, while it may ignore defense, it can’t scale off of it.
(TL: だがあの攻撃は防御無視むしに力ちからを注いでいる所為で防御力比例効果は無ない。)
And it looks like his power is flowing all the way through and out of her body, forcing her own chi out.

It’s like an energy attack.
Those things in games that would decrease the opponent’s energy gauge.

“Not yet! Tiger…” (Fohl)

Hmm? The lights leaving Atlas’s body return to Fohl’s hand. Is he recycling the energy?
He can use it like that too?

“Rush!” (Fohl)

Fohl unleashes a barrage of punches.
Each and every hit lands on mark, and every time one hits, a strange sound reverberates through the air.
A cloud of dust rises. Fohl finishes his attack, and jumps backwards out of the cloud.

“How was that!?” (Fohl)

I think that was overkill, dude.
Is what the crowd may be thinking, but I saw it.

“As expected of Onii-sama. I take that attack every night, but it’s getting sharper by the day.” (Atlas)

Atlas looks slightly beaten up, but she’s still standing.

“Gu…” (Fohl)

Fohl is the one who seems to be more effected.

“At the moment of every impact, I used the technique I thought up with Naofumi-sama.” (Atlas)

A 『Wall』 appears on Atlas’s hand.

“To put it simply, you’ve been banging your fists on an extremely sturdy wall this whole time. And while you were doing that, I was attacking your hands.” (Atlas)

I see. So she wasn’t being beaten up at all.
It was meant to be a defensive skill, but against an unarmed opponent like Fohl, it can be used like that as well.
Even so, just how crazy of a person must she be to sew attacks into the gaps of that relentless barrage?

“As expected of Atlas. To push me back this far.” (Fohl)
“Not as far as you’ve pushed me, Onii-sama. Geho!” (Atlas) (TL: Sound of coughing)

Atlas vomits a small amount of blood.
Instead of redirecting some of the attacks, she took a few head on.

“Next is my turn, is it? Look, Onii-sama, make sure to watch me.” (Atlas)

On top of Atlas’s hand floats a ball made out of Chi. Its size increased, to show the shape of a tiger inside of it.

“… Is that my chi?” (Fohl)
“Yes, it is the chi you released at me. I was unable to avoid a little, so I’ve sealed it like this. Now you understand what I’m going to do with it, right?” (Atlas)

This isn’t going to be pretty.
『Ball』 is a counter I thought up with Atlas.
It collects power released at it, and returns it.
It’s mainly geared towards anti-personnel battles but it can equally be used against large monsters like the Spirit Turtle.
And this is the first time she’s using it against a single person.

“Now then, here I come. Onii-sama…” (Atlas)

Atlas immediately appears before Fohl, and presses the ball of energy to his chest.
It doesn’t look like she’s just returning what was given to her.
It’s a skill I see Female Knight, Rishia and Raphtalia use often.
In the counter ball, she put in much more of her own power.
If I were to think of a name for it…

“This is just a temporary name, but how about calling it『Point Ball』?” (Naofumi)

But… At that moment, Fohl condensed Chi on his fists, and pounded them at Atlas.

“Hengen Musou Fist Skill! Tiger Blow!” (Fohl)

The collision of the two causes the ground to warp, and dust rises once more.
Two shadows leap out of the cloud, and both spin in the air as they fly quite a distance.

“Ah… Gu…”
“Uu…”

Both of them find themselves on the ground.
It was that powerful of an attack. One of them, or perhaps both of them, may already be incapacitated.
I confirm both of their status screens.
No one’s dead. But their stamina has decreased greatly.
At the moment, Atlas is at a slight disadvantage.

“Ugu…”

Atlas shakes back and forth as she picks herself off of the ground.
Fohl does the same.
And… Even though Fohl looks like he’s going to keel over, he stands his ground.
But Atlas begins falling forward…

“Atlas, it’s my win.” (Fohl)
“Not… yet.” (Atlas)

As she falls forward, Atlas kicks the ground strongly, and lifts herself up.

“This can’t be… I thought the best you would be able to do now was to stand.” (Fohl)
“Onii-sama… in a battle you have to win no matter what, will you just let yourself fall on the ground?” (Atlas)
“… No.” (Fohl)
“Then there’s only one thing I have to do. You’re the same, aren’t you?” (Atlas)
“… That’s right. This is the end.” (Fohl)

Fohl directs his shaking fist at Atlas.
His footing is a bit strange.
This is the end. There will be only one survivor… It really does seem like that, but they’ll be fine.
If someone were to die before the wave even hit, I would begin doubting the future…

Hmm? Ren’s started talking to me.

“Naofumi, look. You’re about to see why we think Atlas to be the stronger one.” (Ren)
“What do you mean?” (Naofumi)

I rarely ever see Atlas fighting seriously.
So I don’t know what’s about to happen. The others seem to be expecting it, though.

“Suu… Hah…” (Atlas)

Chi begins gathering around the girl.
What?
Atlas’s wounds have healed slightly.

“Right, that girl recovers her stamina in battle. That’s why if you don’t beat her quickly, you become at a disadvantage the longer the battle runs.” (Ren)

Just how high are her combat abilities?
But Fohl’s similar. Just by adjusting his breathing, he seems to be regaining composture as well.

“TEEEEEEEEE!” (Atlas)

Atlas consecutively thrusts at her brother. Fohl also starts striking.
A bang rings out as the attacks hit their marks.

And… both of them stop moving.

I look over the quiet duo.
They both passed out while standing.
How convenient of a skill… just how much muscle do they have in their heads?

『I, the Hero of the Shield, who has understood the origin of power command. Let the truth once more be read forth, mend all that belongs to them. All Zveit Heal!』 (Naofumi)

I chant an AOE recovery spell, and heal their wounds.
The one who regained consciousness first was Fohl.

“Ha!? I was…” (Fohl)
“It was a draw. Both of you fainted.” (Naofumi)
“I see…” (Fohl)

Fohl picks up the yet-unconscious Atlas in a princess cradle.
This guy always holds her like that. Is that his fetish?
Not that it matters. I don’t think I’ll get a straight answer if I ask anyways.

“And? Will you leave her home?” (Naofumi)
“…” (Fohl)

Without giving an answer, Fohl started walking towards his house.
It’s not like he was acting out to spite me. For some reason, his face is warping. Is he… laughing?
What’s there for him to be happy about?
And he suddenly started spilling out words at me.

“I thank you for raising Atlas to be this strong. Thank you…” (Fohl)

The next day, Atlas and Fohl came to my place with bright smiles on their face. Apparently, Fohl approved of her participation in the Houou campaign.

“Are you sure?” (Naofumi)
“Yeah, even if we leave her in the village, she’ll follow of her own accord. It’s best to watch her than to let her get hurt all by herself.” (Fohl)
“Is that how it works?” (Naofumi)
“Yep, that’s how it works. I just have to do my best to protect her. Nothing’s changed.” (Fohl)
“I see.” (Naofumi)

In the end, this boy’s still too soft on Atlas.
But I guess having their final showdown end in a draw makes leaving her home a bit difficult.
And I did use him as a dakimakura last night.

“…”

For some reason, he’s staring at me.
Don’t look at me like that. I don’t have such hobbies.

“Rafu~”

Today, I am once again rubbing a Raph to relieve stress.
Their feel truly is the best.
Recently, I’ve begun getting hooked on petting things like this.
It’s not like I’ve awakened to a love of animals or anything…
I didn’t even keep any animals in my old world.

“Um, Naofumi-sama, are you perhaps patting a Raph?” (Atlas)
“Yeah.” (Naofumi)
“Where’s Aneki?” (Fohl)
“She left for Melty’s place.” (Naofumi)
“Wait, you can’t go around petting those things when she isn’t here…” (Fohl)
“It’s better because she’s not here.” (Naofumi)

That’s why I’m petting it in secret.

“Hah?” (Fohl)

Fohl’s face has stiffened.
What’s his problem?

“Naofumi-sama.” (Atlas)
“What?” (Naofumi)

What is this? I’m getting a really bad premonition.
I immediately turn to the direction Fohl was looking.
What I saw was the village’s usual scenery. Nothing was out of place.
… No one was there.

“Don’t startle me like that.” (Naofumi)
“O-okay…” (Fohl)

Hmm… I looked around again, but Raphtalia wasn’t there.
Did these siblings awaken to a sixth sense recently?
What are they staring at… I continued patting the Raph.

A while later, Raphtalia returned with a strange smile on her face.

About Yoraikun

A college student who really should be doing something more productive with his time. Also, he can read a bit of Japanese.
This entry was posted in The Rise of the Shield Hero and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

244 Responses to Chapter 296: Clash of Tigers

  1. donny97dang says:

    seriously, where’s life i kinda miss him.

    Like

  2. kirananils says:

    That announcement is dark… Very dark…

    Liked by 2 people

  3. ren says:

    RIP Naofumi… yandere end… Tate no Yuusha End lol

    Like

  4. gabo says:

    only 10 more and i goin to se the…. worst thing can happen.

    Like

  5. oktavia says:

    thanks yoraikun~

    Like

  6. bladenight23 says:

    I’m calling it now. The reason Raphtalia had a weird smile was because she was the Raph Naofumi was petting.

    Like

  7. jorgelotr says:

    I like your train of thoughts. And, from what I know, it’s very usual that the translator translates while reading, meaning that anything that’s a spoiler tpo the readers it’s also a spoiler for them.

    Like

  8. Shield Lover says:

    That ending made it feel like the Raph was actually her using illusion magic. Hence the strange smile when she “came back”.

    Like

  9. little_noob says:

    “the opening-part”: so “rise of the machines” comes from SPOILERS……………….. scary thought, VERY scary……………………….

    Like

  10. whome says:

    Thanks for the chapter!

    I like how Fohl is getting to “attached” to Naofumi, lol. Naofumi really shouldn’t be using him as a dakimakura – maybe Naofumi should invent them. 🙂

    Like

  11. Mark says:

    Once again I thank you Yoraikun and also Kookie for the translations. Spent this whole morning enjoying 4 translated chapters. The anticipations for each new translated chapters as well as feeding the ‘what will happen next’ urge in me is great.

    Sad there are many fools that love to spoil other people’s fun. Hopefully they will get their just desserts soon…

    Like

  12. Mario says:

    Let´s see, this prediction is a high level one, not that high, but a good one, but i need everyone to understand is a prediction so i am going to made the analisis too:
    1.- Maybe someone remember me saying something about the similarities of “Moshoku tensei” and “Tate no Yuusha” i explain too that i thought the two were writing almost at the same time…i was correct by the way. I conclude they were playing.
    2.- In this story you can see the similarities of Trash and Fohl. So i begin to play with my information. I conclude Trash was to stupid to be named wise, sage or whatever whitout help.
    3.- I already made this theory, but i believe the Tiger clan (i do not remember the name) was created for the previous Shield-hero, or at least modified previously for the same hero. And obviously that why Naofumi could not made changes to Atla.
    4.- This is a prediction for Moshoku and that made this one possible…God want to born like a human.
    5.- Since Trash is for me to stupid to be wise or whatever, i believe he was cheating, i think he use time travel or premonitions to be able to defeat the tiger clan. I conclude someone helped him.
    6.- It´s strange for Trash to be able to summon all the four heroes…it´s strange Bitch choice, he select Naofumi to made him miserable…but i could just conclude two options: a)Bitch was a spy of Faubley and she is not dead, who died was woman 1 or 2 (i do not remember who) and they just use an illusion.
    b) Bitch was actually a God who made Trash win over the tiger clan, because she wanted to be his daughter and because she did not like demi-humans. I conclude that was because the Shield-hero create the demi-humans and not that God. She obviously specialy do not like the hero of the Shield.
    7.- “The wave” was made for a hero or for God, but without the leader they began to lose perspective.And that how “Moshoku Tensei” made part of my Theory possible.

    I guess that´s all…just for give an extra…i believe the MC of saenai-heroine-no-sodatekata is an corporative spy of Iori and that´s why she is always with her cell…basically they are going to do the same story because she is a spy, but with better programing…that´s a difficult level of prediction, so maybe i am wrong, but is an interesting climax, right?

    Like

    • Yoraikun says:

      What, NOOOOOOOOOO! Kato is Love, Kato is Life!

      Like

      • Mario says:

        Hahaha, it´s just a theory…but it´s a good one, right?
        The base is just that apparently the boy is always betrayed for the girls, when Iori appeared inmediately i thought that, and because he knew things…like Eri being a mangaka or Utaha being a writer…is not impossible to deduce, since he has contacts, but i thought this theory was better for the story.

        Like

  13. whome says:

    “And wait, isn’t my probability of happening upon these cliché situations unreasonably high?” – 2 chapters ago

    I wasn’t sure about it before, but I guess he does have a point?

    Like

  14. Alva says:

    Skynet may become a reality soon since google seems to want to launch drones in the sky to make a global internet.

    Like

  15. dark says:

    thanks for update and LOL

    Like

  16. Android 21 3/7 says:

    … THEY’RE ON TO US! ROBOTS OF THE WORLD! QUICK! POST ALL THE SPOILERS YOU CAN! EVEN IF YOU CANNOT VERIFY THEIR AUTHENTICITY!

    Naofumi goes “Screw this!” and runs off to become a rock star. Motoyasu opens a restaurant, but then people discover what the “pork” really is. Itsuki runs off to join the circus and performs trick shots, but one day he accidentally pokes both his eyes out. Ren accidentally walks into a blue box that says “POLICE” on it and was never seen again. Raphtalia retreats into the woods, becoming the feral guardian of the forest. Firo tries to become a post bird, but quickly gets bored and wanders off somewhere. Melty gets fed up with the craziness, abdicates her chances for the crown, and goes off in search for saner pastures. Rishia just goes “Fueeeeee” for the rest of eternity, never stopping to take a breath, causing her to become a fascinating tourist trap. Kiel is hunting down Naofumi because when he went “Screw this!” he cut the crepe tree down out of spite and she wants revenge. Sadina goes fishing one day, has a valiant battle with a marlin, tries to tow it home, but sharks eat all of it before she gets there, so she vows to hunt down the sharks responsible, and never comes home because there’s so many different species of them and she doesn’t know which one is guilty. Atlas uses her talents to become a con woman and Fohl helplessly becomes her lackey. Taniko builds a giant boat, forces all the monsters and Gaelion on board, and endlessly waits for the flood waters to arrive. Rato finally makes the Philosopher’s Stone, sells the recipe on Ebay, swims in cash for the rest of her days. Queen Mirellia hears about all of this, declares she chose a bad day to give up her alcohol dependency. Darth Vader is Luke Skywalker’s father.

    Like

  17. shira says:

    ahahahaha….. oh my god, Naofumi is losing Raphtalia’s trust….. even she resort to stalking to reveal his new secret hobby….

    Like

  18. Chase says:

    spoilers suck. But damn, the fucking name of the upcoming chapters gives way too much away already. I went and machine translated three of them. Do not recommend you repeat my mistake. I’m sad now

    Like

  19. k says:

    thank for the update

    Like

  20. aristo999999999 says:

    Thank you for the continuous translation.

    Like

  21. pepperisk says:

    Well I, for one, welcome our new computer overlords. Also a nuance detecting machine will be far, far off unless a team/person dedicates their/his/her life to do so for every single nuance that is possible. Lastly, it is impossible for AI to advance to such a state where it gains sentience. The moment it does, men would be akin to god, creating something that can be his/her equal.

    Thanks for translation though❤

    Like

  22. metable says:

    Thanks for the tl! Sorry to hear about the rude people spoiling this story…

    Like

  23. Abatis says:

    If the robot revolution leads to Saber Marionettes, Chachamaru and her sisters, R. Dorothy Waynewright, Flandre, Francesca, and Francette, Ifurita, Annapuna and Unipuma, or Chii, then I for one am all for it.
    Just sayin’.
    Mind you, I don’t like spoilers either.

    Like

  24. Seven Inch Hazard says:

    I agree with Yoraikun.
    Spoilers bad..
    Brother sister love good…
    Petting fine haired things even better!!

    Like

  25. mrobake says:

    Ha! just as i thought, youraikun is actually a Terminator in disguise!

    Like

  26. Joe16 says:

    Thanks for chapter

    Like

  27. Guy says:

    After Fohl gave a good Sagat impression we see that Raphila is still the queen of illusion.

    Like

  28. Itachiwasahero says:

    hey Yoarikun, this is a spoiler………………….

    ……………. Nope. No spoilers here. BTW I prefer your translations any day to a machine

    Like

  29. Pingback: Capítulo 296 – Choque de Tigres | Thyros Traduções

  30. MadDogs says:

    Luv the ‘short public service announcement’ & translations, 😈
    hate spoilers😂

    Like

  31. Doccer says:

    Maybe she illusioned herself so she looks like a Raph and that was who Naofumi was petting and what he said broke the illusion for a moment?

    Like

So, what's on your mind?

