Sevens: The Maddening Metropolist

The Maddening Metropolis

A large mass of people gathered in Centralle’s plaza, overlooked by the imperial palace.

Of the civilians gathered around me, even those that had journeyed far from the furthest reached of Bahnseim had sparkling eyes.

And while I stood with a robe and hood covering my form, no one sent any doubt my way.

Lianne stood beside me, removing her hood, and shaking out her pink hair.

“That just felt stupid. There doesn’t seem a point in disguising ourselves.”

I also removed my hood, and Novem followed along.

Monica had been wearing her maid uniform the whole time as per usual.

I confirmed the area with Skills, and found there wasn’t a soul directing hostility at us. Rather than not directing it, it was as if no one recognized our existence as a whole.

“Even so, is it fine for a royal princess to have come to a place like this?”

On my question, Lianne scoffed.

“You think I don’t yearn to witness the making of history? That at that time, at that place, I saw it all… it’s good to have such tales to hand down. I mean, the sun starts to set on Bahnseim from here on.”

I looked at the balcony of the palace.

We had come quite early in the morning, but even so, there was quite a number of people lined up in front of us.

Nearby, a troupe of singers and performers showed off their trade to earn money.

Food stalls were also scattered around, and it was as if we were at a festival.

“… Novem, what of Aria and the others?”

When I said that, Novem shook her head.

“As of yet, I am unable to establish communication with them. When you think of what I’ve done, it’s only natural.”

“I see.”

I didn’t look at her face.

The game pieces she assembled for me.

That was the harem.

That they had a resistance against Celes meant they wouldn’t be charmed into betraying me.

I do dislike the pawn-treatment of them, but I must admit that seeing the comrades I’ve shared joy and sorrow with turn to Celes’ side wouldn’t be a nice scene on the eyes.

“So you thought I would try challenging Celes too?”

Those surrounding us simply waited for Celes to make her grand appearance. They weren’t interested in something as lowly as us at all.

Novem spoke to me.

“I wasn’t certain what choice you would make. It’s just that, considering the future, I thought it best to gather those with natures preventing them from betraying you at your side.”

So it didn’t matter which way I rolled.

Whether I challenged her or ran, Novem just wanted to have the preparations in place.

Monica informed us of the situation.

“There is some movement within the palace. They’re coming.”

Just as Monica, who could see further than us, had said, the door to the balcony opened up, and some knights paraded out.

Behind them came the higher official and the king. The queen, and the crown prince 【Rufus Bahnseim】.

His red and curling hair was cut short, and perhaps prepared for this very day, he wore white clothing adorned with ornaments of gold, silver, and other precious stones.

Hand in hand with that prince, wearing a white dress, and an amount of ornaments that clearly seemed like overkill, came Celes.

Cheers of joy came to announce her appearance alone.

(It’s really loud.)

Watching the girl wave her hand, a few even swooned.

It looked like she planned to wave that hand until all the cheers died down. Celes was wearing a serene expression, and I did think she was beautiful.

(Her contents are just awful, though.)

She carried along her rapier in a sheath purposely made to make the whole thing look like a ceremonious staff.

Looking at Lianne standing to my side…

“He really does look happy…”

She was watching the crown prince expressionlessly.

And I saw my parents stationed close to Celes.

They looked simply delighted.

I heard a voice from the Jewel.

The Third spoke with great irritation.

『The crown prince looks identical to the bastard… some goddess up there must be trying to piss me off with her blatant revelations.』

Certainly, from afar, he resembled the king I saw within the Third’s memory before.

The Fourth seemed to be focused on his attire.

『That’s way too showy. In bad taste, even… I’m sure it’ll all be nothing but pure gold at the wedding ceremony. What an absolute waste.』

The Fifth listened in to the surrounding cheers.

『Who the hell gets this heated? When it’s highly likely there’ll be war with Faunbeux, and I’m sure an extra tax will soon be collected for that sake. A wedding ceremony, a change of rule, and a war… not a time anyone should be laughing.』

It’s often the case a reason is given, and a tax levied for a temporary period of time.

The imperial capital Centralle wasn’t ignorant to such matters.

The sixth looked at my father by Celes’ side, 【Maizel】.

『So this is what’s become of the fastidious Maizel.』

My father had hated the Sixth’s dark image.

Sending bribes to rise in rank, and making the palace move to his whims. More than anything, the sheer number of wars the Sixth held with the other nobles of Bahnseim was enough reason for him to be hated.

With such hate from his grandson, the Sixth sounded a little sad.

The Seventh was…

『… Stupid son of mine. Letting even Claire fall to Celes’ whim.』

Having experienced the power of the Monster Celes first-hand, he couldn’t press my mother or father as hard as before.

Even if they weren’t beside her all around the clock, the opportunities they had to interact with her were higher than the rest.

Huddling close, happily watching over their beloved daughter. Watching over the scene the Third spoke to me.

『Lyle, you get it, right? Choosing to fight means you’ll be…』

Before he could finish his words, I squeezed the Jewel to indicate my affirmation.

A while later, when the surroundings had calmed down, the king’s words started coming out.

They were the words to officially denote Celes’ engagement.

And the crown prince appeared before the crowd, giving his greetings.

They were normal pleasantries, but the more words from him she heard, the more Lianne’s head dropped down.

Her tears had started to flow, so I patted her back, and supported her so she wouldn’t collapse.

And it finally came to Celes’ turn.

Her voice was clear, and easily audible from afar.

“People of mine. Rejoice.”

That was quite a haughty manner of speech, but those gathered raised their cheers.

“On this splendid day, Bahnseim has become my belonging. Now rejoice, nobles!”

Lined in the castle’s courtyard, the imperial nobles, knights, and feudal lords assembled from across the lands began to applaud.

On Celes’ side, the king and queen, and even the prince and ministers clapped along as well.

“It’s madness.”

Mad as it may be, it was something that everyone present thought of as natural.

Even I was beginning to doubt if I was the strange one here.

“From here on, Bahnseim will expand even further! But…”

Her expression turned a little sorrowful.

And after raising it, she formed another smile…

“There are nobles within this very nation that defy me! There are still those who’ve refused to obey! Wouldn’t you say that’s something unforgivable!?”

Spreading out her arms, Celes received the angry yells of the people…

… Directed at those disobedient nobles, of course.

“Now let us prepare for war. By the time I’ve dyed Bahnsem in one uniform shade… I will let you all have me as your queen.”

Applause. Cheers. And tears of joy…

I clenched the Jewel as I spoke.

“Founder… it really is abnormal.”

The beautiful vixen.

While it was said after the fact that many other factors were involved, 【Agrissa】 was known as the primary factor.

But looking at Celes, I could now understand.

That if such an existence had lived beforehand, then monsters must really exist, and they’ll be coming out one after the other.

I burned the sight of Bahnseim, the country I was to go against, into my eyes.

And noticing me, Celes waved her hand.

Those in my immediate surroundings were almost all moved to tears.

Monica was…

“… I cannot comprehend it.”

I smiled and…

“Well you’re the incomprehensible one to me. It’s just that, with this, I’ve no regrets keeping me here.”

The Fifth spoke to me.

『You can still turn back, you know. Stopping these people as they are now means…』

I tapped the Jewel and let it roll. I denied it.

And to Celes, who directed a smile our way, I smiled as well.

“Just wait up there. I’ll definitely put a stop to you.”

Within the cheers high enough to drive one to madness, I swore it to my heart.

The announcement in the plaza had only been for the publicization of Celes’ engagement to the prince.

There wasn’t the slightest of apologies sent to Faunbeux, and the knights, soldiers and servants who were on standby in the mansion were laying their anger bare.

Within that mansion.

In the room I had been given, I received a visit from an unexpected guest.

No, rather than unexpected…

“Are you sane? This is no game we’re playing here.”

With a silver plate in hand came Eva the singer.

Stroking her light pink hair, she spoke with confidence.

“Of course! You’re going to be fighting that princess called Celes, right? That will surely be a hero’s tale. And by your side, I’ll see it, hear it, and put it to memory. Someday I’ll make a song of it, and have it heard all throughout the world. With my name tagged onto it, naturally.”

Having gone off to complete her adventurer registration, she presented her guild card to me.

She had likely used her recent savings to accomplish it.

Registering did take a bit of money.

It was normally a loan paid after one started earning as an adventurer.

While reminiscing over the moment of my own registration, I looked up at her face.

And Eva…

“And you told me to anyways… to pass down your tale of heroism.”

At this point, perhaps I should have said something like, ‘sing of’ rather than, ‘hand down.’

But that wasn’t really important, and remembering that embarrassing moment of mind, I cradled my head in my hands.

Novem sought confirmation with her.

“Are you certain about that? It will be a dangerous journey.”

“I’m fine. Even like this, I’m used to travelling, and living on the move. I also know how to fight.”

I guess she would be better than an inexperienced adventurer, at least.

And it’s important that she approached Celes without being charmed.

“… If you’re to join the party, you’ll have to go along with our schedules. Perhaps you won’t be able to sing whenever you want anymore.”

“I can gather more tales and stories as we travel, and witness the main hero story in the flesh! I can put up with that much, at least. I’m also risking my livelihood on this one, so I’m more grateful that you’re serious about it.”

Novem smiled.

“Lyle-sama, if you look to the Walt Family Precept, she more than passes. I will not offer any opposition.”

(… I don’t really care about those precepts anyways.)

The reason those requirements were formed was because the First Generation’s first love fell through, and he didn’t want to marry anymore.

He didn’t want to marry, but as he was a feudal lord, those around him didn’t accept it.

That’s why they took it as law when he proclaimed the precepts for accepting a wife. This all took place at a party.

It was just an excuse he thought up while drunk, but its regulations were upheld for over two hundred years.

(Why does everything seem heavier when you say it has some history to it…)

From the other heads’ point of view, they were nothing but trouble.

And now the only one to protect them so faithfully was Novem.

“Eh? What? There are precepts? I want to hear them!

To a worked-up Eva, I told her I’d tell her another time, as I took charge of one of the two guild cards she had been issued.”

A knocking sound came from the door, and Monica answered it.

“Oh, if it isn’t Aria-san. Have you come to say your words of parting?”

“Why do you have to stir everyone up, me included? Yo, made your choice yet?”

I asked Aria as such, but she just silently entered, slammed her guild card on the table, and exited the room.

And as the rest of us stood dumbfounded, Novem calmly.

“So Aria-san is confirmed.”

And next it was Clara’s turn to enter the room.

“… What happened with Aria-san?”

I tried giving a simple explanation.

“No, she kinda left in silence. I do think she means to come along, but… what about you, Clara?”

There, Clara handed me her guild card.

“… Are you sure?”

“I’ve thought about it quite a bit, but Arumsaas is a city of Bahnseim. And there are much too many books I’ve yet to read there to lose.”

And you’re really joining in for something like that? I thought as such, but accepted the card anyways.

“Celes might not even do anything to it. Or perhaps we won’t be in time to save it.”

On my words, Clara…

“I just think it’s better than doing nothing at all.”

Saying that, she left the room.

And as if waiting for Clara to leave, Miranda came in, pulling Shannon behind.

She looked at the cards on the table, and at Eva, and sighed.

“Are we the last? And wait, you… I’m sure you were eavesdropping not too long ago, right?”

Hearing that, Eva stuck out her tongue.

“Sorry. But it was just too interesting. And I’ve already received permission. Precepts? It looks like I’ve cleared them without even knowing it!”

As Eva stuck out her chest, Shannon spoke tiredly.

“Those are the precepts for bride-finding, you know. And wait, I don’t think my feelings are being taken into consideration in any of this… hey, isn’t that a little too cruel?”

Shannon pleaded to me for help, but Miranda smile.

“If you think you’ll be able to evade Celes’ grasp alone, then just go and try it. She does seem to hate you, so I’m sure she has only the nicest reception in store.”

Raising a slight scream, Shannon left her own card on the table.

Miranda did the same, without even giving Novem a second glance.

“… If you’re coming along, I don’t think discord within the group will be of any help.”

On my words, she…

“I’ll do my work properly. If it’s orders, I’ll act like we’re getting along.”

I shook my head.

“Just don’t cause any problems.”

“Taken to heart. Now Shannon, let’s go.”

“I get it, so don’t pull me by the hair!”

After the two of them left, Novem smiled.

“So everyone’s going along.”

I sighed a little.

“That’s right. It was a bit unexpected.”

There, Monica muttered a, ‘well, well, well’ under her breath, and spoke.

“Looks like we’ve gained another one, though. Good grief, we’ll have to recalculate our edibles, and go on another shopping voyage out there because of it.”

Sighing some more, I’m not sure if it was just my imagination that she looked quite happy as she said all of that.

Eva was…

“Hey, what’s all this about wife-finding precepts? Um, I don’t have any intentions of marrying him, you know. Hey!”

To a flustered Eva, Novem spoke.

“That’s alright. There’s plenty of time, so just slowly get to know one another before…”

“Oy, quite expanding the harem any further. Can’t we just get normal comrades already!?”

I cautioned Novem on her continued expansion of a growing Harem.

The Fourth evaluated the flow up to now.

『So everyone’s going along. Good for you, Lyle.』

On his words, I hung my head, and gave a bitter smile.

(No, really… I thought there would be no helping us going our separate ways, but… well, I guess it’s something to be happy about.)

It’s just, considering the future, it wasn’t going to be all happy times.

About Yoraikun

A college student who really should be doing something more productive with his time. Also, he can read a bit of Japanese.
This entry was posted in Sevens and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

120 Responses to Sevens: The Maddening Metropolist

  1. Yoraikun says:

    I can alter my timestamp to always be First

    Liked by 31 people

  2. GonZ555 says:

    Meatbun Delivery~
    Thank you for the chapter 😊

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Yuncchi says:

    Thanks for the chapter Yorai!!

    Like

  4. bksadiq says:

    thank for chapter

    Like

  5. nalilygaw says:

    mongolian chop squad. . . .

    Like

  6. Oskariot says:

    Thank you

    Like

  7. alu says:

    I wanted Celes to meet Mr Lyle…

    Liked by 3 people

    • VelhoDit says:

      last fight : Celes Vs Mr Lyle
      kkkkkkkkkkk

      Liked by 3 people

    • LOL,seems like the author lack sense of humor,if I were him I would definitely make the reunion when in mr.lyle mode
      and Lyle should try doing “My Pace” when he come watching the announcement.like ‘sitting on top of Porter with meat skewer on right hand and popcorn on left while being fanned by Poyopoyo(I prefer this name srsly) and novem on his side serving drink’
      also on porter theres flag “all hail Celes” or something,if you want to do something,do it with a BANG! since he would left after this and wont meet again for a while

      Like

  8. SoldMars says:

    I guess she’s the final Harem member now. After all, she is the seventh, and well… seven is kinda a recurring theme in Sevens.

    Like

  9. gohankuten says:

    Of course all the waifus are going along Lyle. Trust in the harem that Novem has been growing for you lol.

    Liked by 1 person

  10. kensei001 says:

    I dont really like where this series is going from the last few chapters. I find it really weird that he suddenly wants to defeat her, especially if he was nealry dead. Or am i the only one that feels like that?

    But anyway, thanks for the chapter!

    Like

    • SamS347 says:

      Maybe he’s feeling like he has to be the one to put a stop to her madness.
      Out of duty perhaps, being of the same family, being sibling,
      Clearing the mess his little sister and family have made I guess.

      When the Founder (and the Second?) asked him what was his current goal, he couldn’t answer, he was still undecisive about whether fleeing form Celes for the rest of this life, out of fear of not being near her level of prowess of fighting back.

      Now he has a definite goal and DA MOTIVATION.

      Lil’ Lyle is definitely growing up, and we are witnessing this.

      Like

      • kensei001 says:

        It would have been more believable if he wanted to defeat her for the sake of protecting his comrades or what not, not for saving people he doesn’t even know. Maybe i’m just telling BS, but something doesn’t just click right with what would have been a natural reasoning and choice.

        Like

        • SamS347 says:

          Ah yes, that, too would have been a reasonable reason, I guess it’ll become one of the reasons though cause yes, he has a full team under his wing (more like Novem’s wing until now?) to protect.

          Also as it is his own family that’ll do shit and all to millions of people, I think it is only logical that he’d feel that it is his duty to stop them if he has the means to.

          Furthermore, if he only wanted to protect his party, he’d most likely just flee to a fareway country out of Celes’ now wide range.

          Like

        • Owl says:

          Remember one of the reasons he gave to stay was that his family would be cursed by everyone if he let Celes rampage? When he thought that she was just taking over the Walt house, he could let it go, but she does not want to take over anything, she just wants to burn everything and that he could not stand.

          Like

    • sliding touch says:

      More like he want to correct her if possible, celés is her sister body afterall

      Like

      • kensei001 says:

        Don’t know man, it just seems to me he has a sudden change of heart that he is responsible for the actions of his sister even when he doesn’t consider her as his real sister anymore.

        Like

        • Alort says:

          To me it seems more likely a selfish decision, and nothing else. It’s not necessarily something bad nor good, it’s just that he has this sudden urge to kick her so hard that she won’t make it back to the top, you know? It’s like those moments when you are in a game and encounters an oponent that no matter what you just can’t seem to defeat him, but you still go, level up some more, get better equipments, more spells and go back to try once again cause this one you HAVE TO defeat. For yourself.

          Liked by 5 people

        • Owl says:

          Screw defeat, he’s happy even giving her a snowball to the face. Win or lose, just kick her in the (non-existent) nuts.

          Liked by 1 person

        • ryuutobi says:

          The family name. For nobles in feudal society honor is more important than life.

          He didn’t really care before because he thought that Celes was interested in the Walt teritory only, but now he realized that her goal was always the whole world. Her action will surely cause the fall of the empire & Lyle sure doesn’t want his family gets recorded in history as the culprit for the empire’s downfall.

          By fighting Celes, he’ll be able to protect the clan’s honor to some extent even if he fail.

          Like

    • Mars says:

      That s to be expecred she is the last boss after all hh

      Like

    • Germ says:

      1) it’s a different world. the streght of his feelings of duty is different from our standards

      2)” you’re telling me to live such a life… don’t screw with me!”
      taken from chapter 92, about escaping. i suppose knowing you ran away isn’t a good feeling? always having that regret

      3) i can’t find where he said it, but i remember there was a sentence in which he said part of the real reason could be “petty revenge”
      and you know, she attacked the girls and killed three of his friends. isn’t getting mad and wanting to beat her up normal? hot headed maybe, but not strange.

      i think all this reasons together are more than enough

      Like

  11. KozuKy says:

    i wonder if those who only passed the Walt Family Precept are able to resist Celes’ charm.

    Like

  12. kirindas says:

    Thanks for the new chapter!

    Liked by 1 person

  13. diablo says:

    Thanks for the chapter!

    Like

  14. Thanks for the chapter~

    The prologue has ended, on to the main quest: building power and overthrowing the ancient queen.

    Like

  15. GM_Rusaku says:

    ☆─┓ ┏─┓ ┏─☆
    │ T ┣─┫ A┣━┫Ks│
    ┗─┫ H┣┰┫ N┣─┛
     :┗☆┛┃┗☆┛ :
    ☆─┓ ┏┴┓ ┏─☆
    │N ┣─┫ P ┣━┫!!!│
    ┗─┫ E ┣┰┫ U┣─┛
     :┗☆┛┃┗☆┛ :
    ★    ┃    ★
       ♬ ★   ♬
     ♪∧,,∧ ∧∞∧
      (๑・ω・) (・ω・๑) ♪
     ♬(∩∩) (∩∩) ♬
     

    Like

  16. diablo8x says:

    Hurray for the Harem expansion

    Like

  17. smile says:

    > “There are nobles within this very nation that defy me! There are still those qho’ve refused to obey! Wouldn’t you say that’s something unforgivable!?”

    who’ve* refused to obey!

    > There wasn’t the slightest of apologies sent to Faunbeux, And the knights, soldiers and servants who were on standby in the mansion were laying their anger bare.

    and* the knights

    > “I’ll do my work properly. If it’s orders, I’ll ac like we’re getting along.”

    act* like we’re getting along

    TY for the chapter! 😀

    Like

  18. andreliu507 says:

    Eva, become one of us.
    – Lyle’s waifus.

    Like

  19. Morris says:

    Thanks for the chapter! I didn’t quite understand what are Celes’ power though… The Yellow gem has the empress’ soul in it, but what are their powers? Either of them can mind control but she also has incredible physical and magical attributes and can sense the souls in the blue jewel…

    Like

    • MR E Nigma says:

      The Clues are mostly there I think. We know that Skills are generally based on Personality/Individual, and that they follow a theme. (Lyle thought that he needed to be better, so he got a Skill that makes him improve easier)

      Look a Celes Personality. She’s an entitled little shit that thinks she can take whatever she wants, because she’s the best. But being the best isn’t enough. She needs to show everyone that she’s the best. To me, she smacks of a Superiority/Inferiority Complex (Her actions so far seriously remind me of Shinji from F/SN). Remember her reacting to his recognising the Jewel?

      “Grandmother’s Jewel…”

      When I muttered that, Celes’ face twitched.

      “You knew of it? It’s just as I thought. That’s why I hate…”

      She assumes that he knew about it already, even though it was apparently locked away in some super-secret place.

      Why would she think that? Unless (for whatever reason) she felt that he was favoured over her somehow. To me, this smacks of a person that (deep down) thinks that others are better then her- that they have something she somehow lacks. That she is somehow the ‘unfavourite’. And that that’s just not fair.

      So she gets a Skill that fits that mentality, by allowing her to take from others what she perceives she deserves.

      As far as we know, Lyle just woke up one day being hated. Which makes no real sense outside of a Skill. ATM I’m thinking of FFT Thief Job Tree.

      So level 1 Skill: Steal (Heart) The ability to take away from other People the love that (clearly) Celes deserves. There are obviously some limitations, but not enough.

      So Celes uses her First-Stage Skill to make people love her (and only her) because clearly she deserves it. And we know what Lyle’s response is- he presses his nose to the grindstone in the hopes that people will love him again if he’s Good Enough.

      They can’t of course, because Celes has stolen their love, but Lyle nevertheless starts to show some talent. And Celes can’t stand that. I mean, why should he have all that talent? Just because he works hard? No that’s Crap. She’s the special one. She’s the talented one. She’s the loved one. It should be hers. So she gets her level 2 Skill: Steal (EXP). The ability to get better by taking other peoples experience away,. Which is why she’s so OP despite never working for it- she just takes other peoples hard work away. This is my theory as to why Lyle never experienced “Growth” before- I mean, he’s been gone less then a year and he’s had what, 3? 4? Which just doesn’t fit with the Ancestors theory of “He’s just slow to Growth”. No, Celes stole them all, using Lyle like her own personal Rare Candy Tree.

      Then there’s her third stage Skill, which is probably the most Bullshit thing ever- Steal (Skill) It fits with the Theme of “Taking From Others” and matches my theory about her Complex- After all, it doesn’t matter how many levels you have, a Skill can still make someone better then you- And Celes Needs to be better then others. So she gets the ability to.

      Let’s look at some of Celes lines back in Reunion:

      “But right now, your eyes are quite interesting as well… give them to me.”

      “Right, or how should I put this… it’s because I’ve already inherited all of those. I doubt you’d understand. Right, I’m sure you’re unable to comprehend it.”

      This sounds to me like she just ‘Took’ Shannon’s Skill for herself. Which fits with her ability to tell how many Skills Lyle has- Remember back in Shannon’s POV chapter? Her eyes let her ‘see’ the number of Lights in the Jewel. Now this obviously has some limits because Shannon clearly still has her Eyes, but it’s still total Grade A BS Uberhaxx

      So that’s my theory- Celes is OP because her abilities let her ‘steal’ other peoples Love, Experience, and Skills, because she’s a self-entitled little bitch that never got over herself the way most children do (largely because she got such a terrible power at a young age and used it to mindrape everyone around her).

      …Wow That was a long reply.

      Liked by 7 people

      • SamS347 says:

        The way you described how her possible skills may work is very plausible ! I am keeping it in a .doc in case further theories come up lol.

        Now then, if I may add some extra about the possible limitations to her skills.
        I think that Lyle may be some kind of key to counter her first stage Steal (Heart).
        When she met feu Rondo’s party she wanted him to become hers but he was not willing to and the whole party was killed.

        Which means her first-stage skill did not work. Moreover, it did not work against Lyle’s party nor with Eva, though some have been described as fascinated by her, and that her abnormality is almost natural.

        This part kinda bother me as we haven’t enough data yet to understand why the resistance. It is not related with bloodline as her parent are currently irresponsible doting parent-slaves, but maybe with gender as Novem stated in an ealier chapter that she preferred gathering female members for Lyle’s “harem” as to her, the chance of male members being immediatly charmed by Celes was too high compared to female. Skills and competences may come into factor as she also wanted to gather competent personal for the party.

        I’d like to know your thoughts about these possible restrictions.

        Like

        • MR E Nigma says:

          Well, The first one is obviously Gender Related, since that’s the reason that Novem wanted Lyle to have a Harem of Meat Shields (side note: Damn Novem, you scary). So it could be that people that find her attractive (as an example Straight Men) will find themselves more easily charmed by her.

          Other limits… Rondo was unaffected by her, and there are apparently still other nobles that don’t accept her, so Time/Proximity is another potential factor. Which would explain why everyone back home is so utterly enthralled (except people like old man Zell, who was too unimportant for her to notice)- they live with her.

          Certain Skills (such as the Third’s Mind Skill) would likely factor in as well… But there’d need to be something else as well, since Lyle wasn’t affected either, and none of those apply to him.

          Hmm….

          Like

      • Bloom-san says:

        I just realized how short-sight I was looking at this, mostly because I have not considered Celes’ personal skill which, as was elaborated, is quite plausible to be a “steal” skill or a “capture” skill (as I had put it in a previous post).

        With this, I can lean back to a previous speculation that the yellow Jewel has some kind of ‘inherit’ skill (passes on abilities, experience etc.) giving Celes a large exp boost as a child. This doesn’t make the yellow Jewel look any more potent than the blue one though.

        Like

        • Pratik says:

          I think it’s a bit off,u see Lyle second skill is connection and first is experience what if celes took away Lyle exp skill,she is using it for 6 yrs obviously Lyle who is using it for just 1 isn’t a match,lyle other skill is connection which is also stole by celes then I think it’s something which steals heart,so I think celes just have one skill steal skill and rest of her skill are from Lyle,it’s just Lyle haven’t discovered the usage of skills so he is unaware maybe bcz of that rondo group haven’t fall for it bcz they were under effect of original skill holder lyle so copied celes wasn’t effective on them,and as for copy skill I think it isn’t celes skill rather than she got from Jewel

          Like

      • Germ says:

        i really like your theory. just two things.
        what she used to tell that there are seven memories in lyle’s jewel wasn’t shannon’s eyes. her eyes can only see ACTIVE ancestor.
        lyle really needs more experience than normal to level-up. she had the first and second growth at the same time as aria. in the meantime he clearly got more experience than her (his skill + soloed a boss). that is kind of confirmed by the strong side effects (MR LYLE!!!). also i’m wondering if successive growths require more exp (like the fifth requires more than the first). i don’t remember…

        Like

      • Teslacize says:

        This is a brilliant theory. I had lost faith that people could make theories that were coherent in context to the story. You have restored my faith! Looking forward to figuring out the limitations on Celes Abilities.

        Like

  20. Sean says:

    Is it just me or is Lyles treatment or non-confrontational attitude towards the way Novem treated his fellow allies kind of messed up. Because when Novem brought up the precept about Eva, I would have flipped out and told her never to bring it up again. And to tell Miranda to get along with Novem like she held no responsibility just makes me mad. I know he’s trying to figure things out but I would be more concerned about relationships of the group and the effects Novem actions had on them. I can’t believe in all that time before the coronation they have yet to have sit down chat about the information that Novem been keeping. If it was me I would be questioning Novem on whether she chose me because of love or a blind devotion of my last name.

    Like

    • Yoraikun says:

      About the precepts, I don’t get why you’d actually be so mad about that one. I mean, they haven’t really done anything to him, and all girls he’s met have managed to clear them. And as shown, Lyle is busy desperately trying to rationalize her actions to himself. It may be his fault he hasn’t confronted her, though. Him talking down with Novem will not increase her trust with the other members. She already lay bare her intentions.
      But yes, he is party leader, and he does take improving party relations into his own hands not to far from here. The results are……………………………………………

      Liked by 1 person

      • Sean says:

        I think you missed my point on the whole precept thing.
        From Lyle and rest of the group point of view before Novem confession. The precepts were suppose be a form of validation/acceptance, saying that you were a suitable partner for Lyle and his harem/wife candidate, end of story. The girls weren’t exactly chummy but there relationships was built on a somewhat mutual understanding. Then everyone finds out it was all or mostly a lie just to gather potential pieces for fight that may or may not happen and the harem was just a false pretense to gain their trust. If someone did that to me I don’t know what I would do, and for Novem to bring it up after everything that has happened for Eva in front of Lyle who knows this, is like spitting in the other girls faces.

        I mean if you you were in Arias shoes how would u feel?

        Like

        • Yoraikun says:

          The precepts have nothing to do with them being game pieces. I mean, just look at the list. Good skin, smart, healthy body. I think that her devotion to the Walt House has that down as a side thing on top of supporting Lyle. I highly doubt half of the Harem members even know the precepts to begin with. While Novem did nudge them all together, the Harem formed and developed feelings for Lyle largely by itself. The mutual understanding hasn’t changed for a single bit, and I think you’re up playing the part of the precepts here. All we still have is a group of girls who developed feelings for Lyle of their own accord, but may have been pushed onto that path by a bulldozer. Just with a darker initial purpose that they’ve all now chosen to work towards of their own, Novem-influenced, will. Pretty much it’s the mastermind at fault, and not the organization, troops, or bonds as a whole.

          Your point is that the precepts are what gathered them to fight, but I plainly disagree. The story itself tells you exactly what gathered them to fight. Your point is that the precepts are what helped them bond… have you actually seen any of the Harem members get along besides Miranda and Aria (Childhood Friends)?

          Like

        • Owl says:

          The precepts were set almost 8 generations before. Doubt Novem could have had a hand in making them. More like, it was part of the generational baggage that she got handed down with. Hell, IIRC, it was Novem’s great, great, great, great, great grandfather that got the First his wife that matched the criteria. I won’t be surprised if Novem has some screws loose regarding the precepts and finding Lyle a wife as well, something like a family duty.

          Like

        • Also, never forget Lyle’s physical beauty, as the fruit of 7 generations following Walt Precepts. Especially funny if you notice the girls’ fascination even when they hid it. Think of a baby-faced Leonardo di Caprio.

          I stated it before and still stand by it: their shock are mostly for the fact that they are gathered as war potential, not as a potential harem member like Novem said. it’s like the 1st wife suddenly confess that she has not thought about saving a place for them after all.

          Like

        • Germ says:

          so he will have trouble with golden statues later in the series?

          Like

      • Sean says:

        My point is completely missed but it’s okay.

        Like

    • Germ says:

      i think Lyle’s situation is a bit complicated. he is also holding secrets, still he would have to get angry at novem for doing the same.
      also, Novem holds secrets and manipulates people for his sake. this doesn’t justify it, but makes it harder to get angry… if i were in Lyle’s shoes i would hope for someone else to start talking about it.
      by the way, i think Novem has some real feelings for Lyle. if it was just devotion to the name wouldn’t her priority be saving the house, rescuing the family head etc? instead she prepared both for Lyle fighting and Lyle running away.
      Lol every time I read a few chapters i leave a lot of comments in a row… is there a way to know if someone replies?

      Like

  21. GATE says:

    aww how touching T_T

    Like

  22. Nex Serus says:

    Thanks for the chapter. No one leaving is so expected but if someone leave the party then that would be so lame.

    Like

  23. Reaper Phoenix says:

    Thanks 4 the chapter!

    Those words to Eva. Doesn’t that mean Novem thinks that the girl will fall for Lyle sooner or later? Why such confidence?

    Like

  24. Chronos5884 says:

    Thanks for the chapter!

    Like

  25. Thanks for the chapter.

    Like

  26. Devoted and composed waifu, hot-blooded red haired, big boobed warrior girl, lethargic library girl, green haired big onee-san theif, bratty blond haired little sister, fowl-mouthed robomaid, and now pink haired elf. Dream team harem really starting to assemble. Now need beast-girl, dragon-girl, dwarf-girl, angel, monster-girl, mad female scientist/alchemist, loli, and trap to complete this fantasy harem.

    Like

    • RamdonBaka says:

      wasn’t shannon’s hair purple? and whos the big boobed warrior girl?

      Like

      • Manthin says:

        yup Shannon’s hair is purple, the blonde one is Monica. And about “big boobed warrior” I think he meant Aria, but AFAIK her boobs are not that big (once again that title falls to Monica…)

        Like

        • That guy says:

          Fun fact about Aria is that she was originally big, but the Japanese readers kept thinking she was a flatty for some reason (tsundere-esque = flat to them), so he made her normal sized in the chest department.
          I don’t know if the author ever went back and corrected the few parts that showed her having a big chest or not, though.

          Like

  27. Thanks for the chapter Yoraikun. Not that I’m against it, but why does that time stamp have an option of going further back than when the internet existed? It just drives me up a wall.

    Like

  28. Zed says:

    “Hey, what’s all this about wife-finding precepts? Um, I don’t have any intentions of marriage him, you know. Hey!”

    of marrying him*

    That they had a resistance against Celes meant they wouldn’t be charmed into betraing me.

    betraying*

    Like

  29. yoraikun, I am just curious, whose picture is at the top of the page? Usually, you will have TNY banner on TNY chapter, but now they are many banners which I dont know any content in them. ? (^.^)

    Like

  30. yungjeeezy says:

    Thanks for the chapter😀

    Like

  31. Eric Sellers says:

    I might be in the minority on this one, but I’m really getting sick of Novem.

    I mean, she claims to love Lyle, and goes out of her way to get comrades for him that can’t be charmed by Celes.
    Up to that point, though quite a bit rude to the comrades, it’s all well and good and shows she cares.

    But she never does ANYTHING BEYOND THAT to show she cares.
    The other things she does are things that pretty much any loyal servant would or could do.
    She doesn’t hold his hand.
    She doesn’t kiss him.
    She doesn’t even tell him that she loves him very often.

    She’d be so much more likable as a character, if she’d just show some of that love she claims to have for Lyle, rather than acting as an ex-fiancee all the time.
    She’s a part of the harem too, yet it feels like she’s not doing anything, romantically, to further solidify her place in it.
    She’s just content with Lyle thinking of her as the one he wants to stay most loyal to, and never shows any overt romantic actions towards him of her own accord.

    Lyle’s not much better, though; when’s the last time he even tried hugging the girl, let alone sharing a kiss?

    I just feel that the love between Novem and Lyle has become very half-assed.
    She feels more like a servant than a harem candidate.

    Like

    • RandomDude says:

      She never said she loves him. In fact, Lyle confessed his love to her multiple times but she ignored it.

      She IS a servant her house has been serving the Walts for generations. She cares very very deeply for Lyle, but I don’t think it’s in a romantic sense

      Like

    • ryuutobi says:

      The last time he shared a kiss with a girl was when Novem let him kissed her to erase the regret of giving his first kiss to an automaton.

      Like

    • Nordlending says:

      I find her quite affectionate. We are talking about someone who shows very little emotions in general and we again and again get shown that she is moved by how Lyle acts. Novem looks troubled, or when Shannon says her Aura/soul/whatever-she-sees is continuously stable unless it involves Lyle.

      Like

      • Sean says:

        No one is questioning her loyalty to Lyle. She will stand by him no matter what. But…
        Is that as a devoted retainer?
        Or a woman in love with a man(is there a real connection or and established one)?
        Because she has said that she chose Lyle because he was the better heir for the Walt’s future.
        If Celes:
        A.) Didn’t find the jewel and Lyle was never kicked out, would Novem pursue Lyle as a wife or would she support who ever was betrothed to him?
        B.) Did find the jewel but overcame its, I guess control(she’s a good girl) and she turned out to be a superior heir to Lyle and offered a better future/ challenge the rights for succession without the twisted motive. Would Novem pick the better candidate or chose Lyle?

        Like

  32. ZaX says:

    Harem plan still going strong. Thanks for the chapter

    Like

  33. lazyguy says:

    Just a simple “Thanks” for the chapter

    Like

  34. k says:

    thank for the update

    Like

  35. HAHAHA I AM A SPOILER says:

    http://www.novelupdates.com/series/sevens-gaiden/

    Not much character will exist in this timeline beside great grandma elf or meido robo

    Like

  36. boartank says:

    『The crown prince looks identical to the bastard… some goddess up there must be trying to piss me off with her blatant revelations.』Bitch. No doubt it’s Bitch. Celes = Bitch’s avatar. Jk!

    Like

  37. jacobpaige says:

    I was expecting the elf to join several chapters ago.

    Like

  38. ProudNeet says:

    Why not kick that disgusting vixen Novem out of party? She’s just using Lyle and ruining the party’s cooperation.
    No kill, no resentment, no punishment – all it’s OK for an easy-going story, but if you want a ‘serious’ ‘hardcore’ story you need some strong action. What author is trying to write? Hard story without actual thing such as killing or resenting? Is it Bible? But even for sake of Bible there are hundreds of millions deaths, mountains of resentment and unlimited punishment for ‘wrongdoingers’.
    There is no ‘hard’ but ‘easy-going’ stories in the world. It’s just an antonyms.

    Like

    • Kortodo says:

      If you haven’t come to enjoy this story after over 90 chapters, then it’s probably not for you. The tone of the story won’t change much later on, only the scale of things.

      Also, you make it sound like a story can only be good if it has rivers of blood, and tries to break body count world records. In which case this is definitely not a story for you.

      Like

So, what's on your mind?

