Intermission: The Start of Everything

Her brother’s existence was in the way.

No matter what he was put up to, no matter what trouble he ran in to, her brother that would pull it all off with a smile… Lyle Walt was a hindrance.

The girl who thought that was just about to greet her seventh birthday. Her brother Lyle would become nine.

A brother two years older. An eyesore.

The Weihs territory. The city at its center was one of the prominent cities of the Bahnseim Monarchy. This was a territory the feudal lords of old had poured their lifeblood into completing.

Even the Walt House once called upstarts now boasted a history of two hundred and fifty years, alongside numerous achievements. They had climbed up all the way to be the most prominent nobles in Bahnseim.

The Walt House… Celes Walt was yet another of the influential noble Walt Line.

The Walt House mansion was busy to celebrate Lyle’s birthday, but that as it was, it was wrapped in a merry air.

When Celes left her room, she would stick on a smile, and spend her days with it plastered on her face. So not to show what was inside. If she went against her brother, she knew she would simply be hammered down.

A difference in ability… even as siblings, there was more than a large wall, or two, or three between Lyle and Celes.

They both carried the same blood of Septem. They had both awakened to the depths of their blood. And yet her brother Lyle didn’t seem to care about that at all.

As she looked out the window from her room, a wrinkle graced Celes’s brow. She looked at the people working around the mansion.

“… How repulsive. Each and everyone one of them, it’s disgusting.”

Placing their expectations on her brother Lyle, and praising her brother Lyle. That was something Celes couldn’t forgive.

But if she let it show on the outside, she didn’t know what her parents would say. If they did find out, in order protect their heir Lyle, there was a possibility Celes would be sent off elsewhere. In the worst case, perhaps she would spend her life in confinement.

And that alone Celes wanted to avoid.

So she endured her hatred and spent every day all smiles and laughs.

While both of them carried the blood of Septem, as if split into yin and yang, Celes and Lyle were opposites.

And the more Lyle shined, the darker more did Celes’ shadow become.

As she let off her rage in the confines of her room, she heard a knock at the door.

“Celes-sama, the master is calling for you.”

Hearing the voice of a servant of the mansion, Celes let out a cute, lovable voice. Her expression was a ghastly one, but what left her mouth was lovable beyond measure.

“I’m coming~.”

Before exiting the room, she changed her expression, and with a smile, she accompanied the servant to her father Maizel.

Seeing Celes’ smile, the servant seemed joyful. He believed her false smile as the genuine article.

A truly delighted smile. Celes had no doubts that everyone saw it so.

(They really do all have knotholes for eyes. Well, I couldn’t care less about that. More importantly, father. I’m sure it’s about my birthday. I wonder what I should ask for.)

Her beloved parents. While she treated all other humans equally as trash, Celes didn’t want to be hated by her parents alone. She had a strong desire to be loved.

That was also related to Septem’s blood in her veins.

 

 

 

The mansion corridor.

Her talks with Maizel over, Celes walked down the path in good humor. Right now she was alone, but she was so delighted she might’ve broken into dance.

(Lots of specially-tailored dresses for me. He looked a little troubled, but if it’s father, he’ll definitely grant my wish.)

When asked what she wanted for her birthday, Celes had asked for a dress. Not just a dress. The footwear and accessories to match. She had asked for multiple full sets.

Maizel did look troubled, but it seems he did intend to grant the wishes of his adorable daughter. It was that very fact that made Celes more boisterous than any present ever could.

There, from the other side of the corridor, Lyle came walking.

Celes’ feelings instantly took a turn to the absolute worst, but even so she stuck on her smile and gave Lyle her greetings.

(Well, I’m in a good mood today, so I guess I’ll throw in a freebie. This one’s troublesome if you get him angry.)

“Dear brother, are you making for father as well?”

There, Lyle smiled and nodded.

“Yeah, I was called for. I think it’s about your birthday, but… what’s this, it looks like you really are happy today. You usually give me a much scarier smile, but this one definitely suits you a lot more.”

At that instant, a chill raced down her spine.

Lyle continued smiling as he continued on and passed her by. He did call out to her, but to the current Celes, it was as if she hadn’t heard anything at all.

“… That can’t be. It should have been perfect. My smile was perfect… That one… he noticed it all.”

Expressionless.

What assailed Celes was unease, jealousy, hatred, various things were pressed up against her all at once. Her everything had been seen right through.

As she thought that, Lyle became unbearably scary.

Yet at the same time that he looked upon her so lightly invited a tempestuous hatred.

(To me… you’ve made light of me, Lyle! You trash! Compost! I won’t forgive it. I definitely won’t forgive it!)

As she walked down the corridor in quick stride, Celes wanted to return to her room at once. In her room she’d cry out, and she had the urge to break something.

As she walked down the corridor with that on her mind, she found her mother Claire. Stopping in her tracks, Celes hurriedly killed down her feelings and made a smile.

(It’s perfect. My smile is perfect. I’ll definitely be fine.)

Growing increasingly anxious, she turned her smile to her mother. Claire gave a warm smile back.

“Celes, did you tell Maizel what you wanted?”

“Y-yes, mother. I asked for a few dresses.”

There, Claire touched a hand to her face.

“If it’s dresses, you already have some. And we’ve already properly prepared one for you, so you have to wear that one. But you’re a girl after all, Celes.”

Claire said it quite troubled, but she didn’t find fault in buying more dresses for Celes. Hearing that, Celes was relieved. To Celes, a reprimand from her parents was akin to despair.

“I-I’ve said something selfish.”

“It’s fine. You’re doing your best, Celes. By the way, have you seen Lyle around?”

She was praised. But right after came the name of Lyle.

Her mother was looking for Lyle.

“… He was headed for father.”

“I see. Thank you Celes. That child is growing up too, so I want to get this and that together for him. He’ll need a horse and weapon before he turns fifteen. That’s right! Celes, do you want to get a present for Lyle with me?”

“A present?”

“I’m either getting a horse or armor. Maizel said he wanted to hand over a sabre with his own hands, and he won’t listen to anyone on the matter. So I’ve decided on the horse or the armor. When that time comes, could you be with me?”

The Walt House had used a different weapon generation after generation. They were a group with strong characteristics. Perhaps it couldn’t be helped. But Lyle had chosen the same sabre as his father.

And that was something most joyous for Maizel.

Celes spoke to Claire with a smile. In truth she wanted to decline, but if she denied her parents’ beloved Lyle, she was scared she would be hated herself.

“Y-yes! I’ll be there.”

“That’s good. Ah, but you have to keep it a secret. With these sorts of things, I want it to be a surprise when I hand it over. But that boy is way too sharp. I’m worried whether I can surprise him or not. Celes, let’s go out together to buy Lyle’s present next time.”

With those words, Claire made for Maizel and Lyle. Celes saw her off with a smile, but when she was out of sight, she hung her head. There was no one around.

“… It’s my birthday… but they only ever talk about… I won’t forgive it. I definitely won’t forgive it. I want to take everything from him. It’s all… it’s all mine. I won’t give a single thing to him.”

Celes bit her lip.

But she heard a voice.

『Those are quite the muddled emotions. But not bad. Not bad at all… Celes.』

Celes glared around. The only ones in the mansion allowed to call her without any honorifics were her parents, or so she had decided internally.

Someone else calling her so was a deed she wouldn’t permit.

But there was no one around.

『Don’t be so angry. I’m your ally. The feelings you direct at your brother… I understand them. That’s right. In that case… I can even help you out if you want.』

“… Who? This isn’t very funny for a prank.”

『It’s no prank. Let me show you evidence. You remember your grandmother’s room? Right now it’s not being used. Go over there.』

Irritated as she was Celes headed for her grandmother Zenoire’s room. The voice came from a woman. Fascinating, but be that as it may, it was a voice she had never heard in the mansion before.

Perhaps it belonged to an assassin. But curiously enough, Celes feet made for the place the voice designated.

They were connected by something. Celes had noticed the connection.

And she entered the room. In that room that was cleaned at regular intervals, where the voice led her was under the floor. What’s more, hidden under the bed.

Celes crawled under the bed, and groped around the floor as instructed to find one portion open up. There were various things inside.

『The other things don’t matter. You see a box in there? Right, that one.』

It was what looked like a music box. It really was a music box. But perhaps it was broken, as it wouldn’t make a sound.

“What about it?”

『Fufufu, there’s actually a secret compartment to it. It has a trick to it. Try opening it as I tell you.』

Creeping out from under the bed, she brushed off the sweat with her hands, and tried following the voice’s instruction to open the box. It was a complex mechanism and method. But the box itself did feel strangely heavy. It looked to be made of wood, but it was as if it had been strictly sealed off.

And once she had undone those complex contraptions, what she found was a yellow gem, a few centimeters across. The voice she heard was coming from there.

『It’s a pleasure to meet you, Celes. I know you, but you do not know me. My name is Agrissa… You’ve at least heard of me before, haven’t you?』

“… You jest.”

Taking the Yellow Jewel in hand, Celes laughed a bit. But she felt power from the Jewel. The yellow radiance was like that of the finest gemstone, a charm that made it feel as if she was being sucked in.

『It’s not a lie. Your grandmother was my descendent. She was also cute, but she was stubborn, you see. She wouldn’t make any dealings with me. Originally, that box should have been entrusted to another to manage, but that Zenoire… at the end of the end, she said she couldn’t trust you, and kept it hidden away. It was an object she couldn’t throw away so easily. It seems she was considerably worried… and at the end of it all, her life’s flame went out.』

Celes listened to the story the Jewel told.

And when she heard of what the Jewel could do, she smiled wide.

She spoke.

“You’re helping me, right? Then what’s the price?”

『Oh, no wonder Zenoire was wary of you. You do resemble me in my youth. That’s right… you have to entertain me. And if ever comes the time that you breathe your last breath, give your body to me. I want to revive.』

There, Celes’ smile extinguished.

“… That’s all? That’s all I must give to take everything from Lyle? That’s certainly shady. I was sure you’d tell me to give you my body at once.”

Hearing that, Agrissa laughed.

『You’re a firm one. There’s a considerable amount of courage resting in you yet. I see, so to you, it’s worth is but a trifle. But if you think of what my revival would mean, it would be a major problem for the continent.』

Celes scoffed.

“If that’s the measly cost I must pay to get what I want, it’s a cheap buy. Very well, if I die then do what you want. That’s all it takes to obtain power that exceeds his… it’s cheap as can be.”

As Celes held the Jewel up high, it began to let off an amber light.

『Then let it be so. I will lend my power to you. First, let us awaken your Skill.』

… On that day, Celes laid hands on an immense power. This encounter would spread death and destruction through the continent.

This was also the start of a battle that enraptured the continent as a whole.


 

 

Claire (#゜Д゜): “No matter how you look at it, the war criminal here is my mother-in-law! Manage it more strictly! And wait, at least tell me something about it!”

Zenoire (#´∀`): “Hey, I noticed Celes’ abnormality. The mother who overlooked it is the war criminal. Rather, I wouldn’t trust you if it was the death of me. To add to that, I hate you.”

Eighth Generation Head (; ・`д・´): “F-father!? In these situations, who do I side with…”

Seventh Generation Head :(;゛゜’ω゜’): “You fool! Don’t get any closer! We haven’t heard a thing. We haven’t seen a thing. And that is the truth!”

About Yoraikun

A college student who really should be doing something more productive with his time. Also, he can read a bit of Japanese.
This entry was posted in Sevens and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

39 Responses to Intermission: The Start of Everything

  1. GM_Rusaku says:

    ∧_∧  
    (il´‐ω‐)ヘ Thanks!!
    ∩,,__⌒つっ Nepu!!!

    Like

  2. !!! says:

    Yoraikun’s on fiiiirrreee!! What are you procrastinating for this time?

    Liked by 1 person

  3. goblinrou says:

    see no evil talk no evil hear no evil

    Clearly precepts the walt family seems to abide.

    Liked by 4 people

  4. boartank says:

    We haven’t heard anything loooool! But man Celes is cray cray.

    Like

  5. dragonmark says:

    “You fool! Don’t get any closer! We haven’t heard a thing. We haven’t seen a thing. And that is the truth!”

    Walt house at its finest!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. zarvii says:

    I know you guys won’t feel the same as me
    but Celes really looks pitiful to me
    of course I hate what he did to Lyle, his father and his mother but
    I can’t help to think that there is other possible route that it can take if she didn’t meet Aggrissa too early. LYLE might be able to do something about her to change her or something
    remember! He can make even a goddess fall for him

    Liked by 1 person

    • Koffee says:

      No, I agree. Sibling jealousy isn’t really that uncommon, but coupled with Septem’s blood and its been pushed to the extreme. I never hated Celes, I just acknowledge that she’s been constructed to be Lyle’s antagonist by the author.

      Like

      • Lyle was always trying to redeem Celes in one way or the other. For that, some might think Lyle naive but that just shows how strong a bond he had with Celes. Yes even after a memory wipe. I myself was hoping that Celes was manipulated into evil by Agrissa, but Celes chose to become evil rather than be seduced by evil.
        Novem would have been able to explain that to Lyle but she always keeps secrets…

        Like

        • Koffee says:

          Yes, Celes wasn’t manipulated into evil by Agrissa but we can see from above that Septem’s blood has already awakened in Celes. Celes was already corrupted before meeting Agrissa that’s why I can’t really hate Celes or anyone with Goddess blood in them. Its a miracle anyone can remain sane with the weight of centuries of memories in them.

          Like

  7. woozlak says:

    Well, for a seven years old girl, celes was a nasty one

    Like

    • Countrymage says:

      Like Lyle, she had some Septem memories, so she’s a nasty seven and seven centuries old child at this point, that’s the kind that just aren’t cute…chicks that can manage on their own….

      Like

  8. Felipe says:

    So Celes really was a rotten apple since the beginning……I don’t know if I fell sad about that…..

    Like

  9. darkstrolm says:

    Thank you for the translation. All hail the Mighty and Exalted Yoraikun.

    And the more Lyleshined, the darker more did Celes’ shadow become.

    Lyleshined < Lyle shined

    Before exiting the room, she changed her expression, and with a smile,s he accompanied the servant to her father Maizel.

    smile,s he < smile, she

    “If it’s tresses, you already have some.

    tresses < dresses

    It’s all… it’s ale mine.

    ale < all

    You’ve at least hear of me before, haven’t you?

    hear < heard

    it’s cheap as can bee.”

    bee < be

    Like

  10. Thank you for the chapter!
    I thought Novem just handed the gem to Celes, but she wasn’t so evil I guess.

    Like

  11. edryc96 says:

    After all this, I can conclude Celes as one of the most poorly written, clichéd, textbook psycho antagonist in every story ever. Her raison d’être is nothing but a filler for Agrissa which is a pretty pathetic villain too. She didn’t even put up much of a fight as a final boss.

    Like

    • Bloom-san says:

      Celes is not the most interesting character ever but I won’t say that much about her. You might want to share what standard you’re going by. What does “poorly written” even mean? Is her character inconsistent and all over the place? Is she so ‘blank’ that you can’t name three things about her (precocious, childishly ruthless, and jealous cunt)? Honestly, I found her character to be quite the novelty since I don’t know a lot of story about sibling fights turn this nasty–can’t even name one atm lol. Also, you might want to re-read a few key chapters if that’s what you think her “raison d’être” is. Celes, as a character, has more to do with Lyle and Novem than with Agrissa, kinda.

      lol I feel like I discussed about this topic in the past.

      Like

      • edryc96 says:

        (Precocious, childish ruthlessness, and jealous cunt) Those characteristics of an antagonist have definitely not been used before…… NOT.
        Poorly written doesn’t revolve just on the consistency but the development of characters as a whole. For 18 chapters, her character’s goal and reason has been revolving in nothing but jealousy and envy, the “inherit Septem memories” thing may fly as an introductory explanation but that doesn’t mean the author can just use that as an excuse for her stagnant character until the end of the novel.

        Like

        • Bloom-san says:

          I don’t know what you want from this novel–from any novel, even. Just because something in it can be found elsewhere doesn’t really mean it’s poorly-written. What about Celes’s weak attachment to life? That’s different, considering how many villains out there seek immortality. By the way, I chose those descriptors to make a point that they don’t make a “poorly-written” character, common maybe, generic even. Of course, there’s a bit more to her: little sister, talented (but inferior to Lyle), loves her parents, entertainer/flashy…

          Also, I hate how people demand “developed” characters without knowing what that’s supposed to mean. Celes is not the best character out there but she’s not really poorly-developed (you should look at characters like, I don’t know, Eva). You know about her motivations, you know how she thinks like, you know about her relationships, you know her flaws… well, at least you should know if you’ve read this far (note: not every character has to be complex). Honestly, I think you’re just not paying attention or you’re looking for things that are obviously not there. Celes is a decent character (again, not the most interesting), although she is lacking as an opponent because the author made the hero’s side too strong. She didn’t really need to stray from her character, especially since there’s little pressure for her to change. At most, the little changes are escalations of her initial character (e.g. she got herself a butler and a pony because Lyle has both and she raised the dead because she can and she doesn’t care). This is not a bad thing, you just don’t like it, probably because you didn’t get what you’re looking for.

          I have a few more hanging thoughts but this is getting too long lol. If you’re going to reply again, try not to be hung up by the character’s primary motivation.

          Liked by 1 person

    • You would question her cardinal sin of envy?
      What are you? An unfeeling machine?
      Envy has been the cause of many disasters in many shapes and forms.
      Many personal relationships went straight to hell because of envy.
      Underestimate not envy because it crushed many heroes and good people.
      Want a real life example? The envy of Edison made him totally ruin Tesla’s life.

      Liked by 1 person

  12. CJ Carlet says:

    Thanks for the update

    Like

  13. darkm3d says:

    Right on eight, wise advice. Thanks for the chapter. =

    Like

  14. Kudan says:

    Thanks~

    Like

  15. Bloom-san says:

    We’ve known Celes’s story before but reading this reminds me of Ritsu from Mob Psycho 100. Although, it’s really just the cowering from the older sibling part. This one is a lot more severe though because Lyle was overwhelming in all regards and Celes was given the opportunity to turn around over and wreak havoc.

    Liked by 1 person

  16. Reaper Phoenix says:

    Thanks 4 the chapter!

    Well, seems Celes has always been a bundle of hatred even before she got the yellow jewel.

    Like

  17. sharur says:

    XD ha; I love the little bit with the ancestors at the end.

    Like

  18. Ryuutobi says:

    There’s a considerably amount of courage resting in you yet. (considerable)

    Like

  19. necrosis says:

    this just makes celes look even worse what could she complain about one sibling your jealous of try dealing with two younger sisters who physically and mentally abuse you and whenever you hit back your mom yells at you saying your the brother you have to be nice.

    then I laugh and think inside (yeah right you evil witch your damn brothers literally beat the crap out of you and you worship them these two monsters don’t even respect me)

    Like

    • Yoraikun says:

      Human nature does not work like, ‘if you can think of someone worse off, then you don’t have it bad at all.’

      As a reader, it’s easier than anything to say, ‘oh pshaw, I’ve seen worse, get your shit together.’

      All this communicates is an essential failure to grasp a character’s essence.

      Like

  20. Thank you but seriously I want more of emperor who run away/cant run away series ha ha ha!

    Like

  21. rennass says:

    Grandma Zenoire should just passed the jewel to LYLE.

    Like

  22. SmokeyJoe says:

    This really makes me sad thinking about all the love Lyle’s parents had for him and yet he never got to really experience it since his memory was wiped.
    Thanks for the chapter!!!

    Like

  23. Kisama says:

    Brod is so wise. Milleia sure taught him well!

    Liked by 1 person

So, what's on your mind?

