Dragoon 45: Sisters and Brothers

 

Once the fundamental curriculum uprising died down, Rudel and the others were released from the disciplinary room. The reason was simple, the disciplinary room was now at full capacity, and the teachers called this a special measure instituted for stopping the riot. While Eunius rejoiced, he was the only one who had remedial lessons waiting around the corner, while Rudel and Luecke went to pay Vargas a visit.

Izumi accompanied them, and as the three of them headed for the infirmary, they were greeted by the delightful form of Vargas being fed fruit by Basyle.

“He sure has it easy at a time like this.”

Luecke peered in from the entrance. Izumi watched and wondered if that was how people saw her and Rudel… she warmly watched over them. But Rudel boldly entered that dimension of happiness.

“Are you okay, Vargas? So the two of you got along that well… anyways, there was something I wanted to consult with you on.”

“… Rudel, you’re amazing.”

“Yeah, it’s Rudel after all.”

Luecke and Izumi awkwardly entered behind him. Vargas panicked with a reddened face, but Basyle just grinned.

“T-this is, umm… right, well, that’s how it is.”

While Vargas tried to give an excuse, Rudel cut right into his main point.

“The truth is, what I wanted to talk about… I’m troubled because I don’t know how I’m supposed to treat my brother. Can you tell me what I’m supposed to do? I heard you had lots of siblings, so I thought it might serve as reference.”

Alongside the cafeteria incident, Rudel explained how his little brother Chlust seemed terribly afraid. In fear of the first year Fritz, he had holed himself up in his room. Once he had explained that much, Vargas was surprised such an amazing instant had happened while he was hospitalized, but was even more shocked to find Rudel ignoring all that, instead coming to consult on his brother.

“You don’t get along with your siblings, right? So I don’t think there’s much meaning in comparing my family to your relationship with Chlust, but… more importantly, what are you going to do about that first year Fritz?”

Vargas seemed mindful of Fritz and the first years who caused an incident of this level. They had gone too far, but even if they had gotten high on their horses, they were fellow commoner students. Surely he was curious about the punishment in store for them.

“I’m not really interested so I’ll leave it to the headmaster. And it’s not something I can decide. So how should I interact with Chlust?”

After thinking a bit, Vargas couldn’t reach an answer so he started talking about himself.

“Hah, this’ll just be about me. I’ve looked after my siblings, and I’m close to both my little brothers and sisters so I doubt it will serve as good reference, but… if they did something bad I would scold them, and if they came home after losing a fight, I’d teach them how to fight.”

“You didn’t lend them a hand?”

“No, wouldn’t it be strange if I came out into a fight between little ones? And kids are fighting all the time, you know. So if when my little brother was irritated he lost, taught him how to fight and don’t lose next time! I cheered him on.”

Hearing that, Rudel thought up something. Basyle tried asking in wonder.

“Chlust-sama is going to graduate this year, right? What reason do you have to care about him? I don’t think it’s revenge, but…”

Rudel and Chlust’s relations were terribly twisted. Warped enough it wouldn’t be strange to see them as noble siblings fighting over the position of future archduke. Basyle couldn’t understand why Rudel would care about such a person. Izumi was also curious.

“I think you should stop getting involved with him, Rudel. You’ve both got some things to think about, and while I don’t think you’ll raise a hand against your little brother after he was scared so… what are you trying to do?”

“Yeah, I was thinking to help him back on his feet before graduation. The way things are going, he won’t be of any use after he’s sent to the borders, and in the worst case, it could lead to his death. Chlust is loved by my parents… I don’t want my family to be saddened.”

On those words, Luecke felt a slight sense of unease.

“But didn’t you say your parents hate you? Do you really have to care about those sorts of parents? My parents were strict, but that was to make me first-rate. I don’t get the feeling yours are like that.”

While four pairs of eyes gathered on him, Rudel thought just a bit before answering.

“I’m thankful to the parents who brought me into this world, and on top of raising me, they’re even letting me go to this academy. It’s just as Fritz said, I really am blessed. It’s definitely painful to be hated… but hating Chlust for it seems wrong.”

Having heard out Rudel’s feelings, while they couldn’t quite grasp it, they didn’t oppose it either. Vargas posed a question as a representative.

“So what are you going to do with Chlust? This is incomparable to just teaching him how to fight.”

It was a question tinged with jest, but Rudel was serious.

“No problem. I’ll teach him how to fight one on one, and the opponent is also decided. In order to overcome fear, rather than defeating the foe who instilled it, it is more important to win against yourself, or so I read in a book… after the fundamental curriculum’s interclass tournament, I’ll have him fight Fritz.”

Izumi was opposed. Saving Chlust was nice and all, but she didn’t see any good coming out of dragging Fritz in.

“W-wait Rudel! Fritz is no good. I’m sure he’ll receive a harsh punishment for this incident, and his abilities are too far above Chlust’s.”

Luecke supported her.

“I’m also opposed. That guy made light of us a few times too many. Enough for even Eunius to get pissed… if Fritz’ punishment is too light, the other nobles aren’t going to accept it.”

Rudel listened in and thought.

“So facing Fritz is impossible… no helping it. I’ll give up on Fritz and just train him up, I guess. No, perhaps I can pit him against Eunius?”

“Chlust is going to die…”

Vargas breathed a sigh as he put in a retort.

Perhaps Rudel’s thoughts had got across, or Fritz was simply lucky. Through a certain individual’s infiltration of the academy, Rudel’s wish was to be granted. That individual was the first princess Aileen, and the main heroine of the story. Her interest in her little sister Fina and the academy were the cause.

As Fina had cried out in the previous year’s tournament, she wanted to see with her own eyes what sort of life she was living in the academy. From there, she altered her plans, and on that very day when the riot was raised, she was in Fina’s room surrounded by high knights, enjoying a cup of tea with her sister.

“You look well, Fina. I wasn’t able to say it last time, but it looks like your life in the academy has become a good opportunity for you.”

To her big sister’s warm smile, Fina answered her true feelings. The elder sister Aileen had some hopes for all sorts of expressions to spread across her expressionless little sister’s face.

“Yes, sister… this academy is the best place ever.”
(Nothing but fluff and happiness! I really wanted to flirt and fluff up Mii today, while I consulted on how I’m supposed to capture master, but… it’s because you snuck in that I never got to!)

“I heard you had someone you liked… father said it was that Rudel boy, but is that true? That has to be a joke, right?”

“… No, it is true. He has given me the cold shoulder but even now I am trying to earn his favor.”
(Because of that black hair, my path to fluffadise is… I’ll definitely lift that petting ban and make master my own! Even so, good job father! With this, I can begin bridging the gap between us.)

But Aileen’s expression suddenly changed.

“Fina, I cannot permit you to love a man like that. Barbaric and selfish… I heard he even went against father. I’m against it! While father and mother don’t seem to mind it, we’re dealing with one of the Three Lords, so even marriage is possible.”

“I’m aware.”
(That’s what I’m aiming for. This isn’t love or anything like that… this is fate! There’s no doubt the heavens are telling me to set course for a fluffadise of my own! If it’s for my dreams, I’ll sell my soul to the almighty fluff!)

As they carried on such a conversation, the high knights suddenly started a ruckus. Wondering what was going on, the two inquired to the situation, and

“It seems there’s been a riot in the school cafeteria. A commoner boy and the second son of the Arses Houses got into a feud… it seems Rudel-dono has contained the riot, but the academy has requested we keep on our toes.”

“Oh my!”

“… Is that so?”
(The hell are you doing, Chlust? Bringing trouble to master’s hands… more importantly, the commoner boy is probably Fritz, master’s enemy, right? That guy doesn’t do things halfheartedly.)

“I cannot forgive two brothers ganging up to bully a poor commoner! I shall talk with him directly. Gather those involved at once!”

“Eh!?”
(What’s she on about? Even if they were feuding, no one said anything about bullying, right? Just because you hate him, you’re having your image of him take priority? What’s more, the one who quelled things was master. As I thought, master really is unlucky.)

After that, she wouldn’t hear Fina’s explanation that this was a misunderstanding, and Aileen went off to meet Fritz. It was a fateful meeting. And this meeting would come back to torment Rudel in the future…

 

About Yoraikun

A college student who really should be doing something more productive with his time. Also, he can read a bit of Japanese.
This entry was posted in Dragoon and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

27 Responses to Dragoon 45: Sisters and Brothers

  1. Fukuda says:

    Ty

    Liked by 2 people

  2. sodemaso says:

    Thx o/

    Like

  3. Thanks for the chapter!

    In Rudel’s world, why are there so many idiots who acts on his/her impulses??? Well, that’s what makes it interesting I guess…

    Liked by 1 person

    • frenzy85 says:

      The black entity that was introduced some chapters ago is the closest thing to an explanation for now, I think.

      Liked by 4 people

      • Neko MK2 says:

        Nah unlike Cattleya who got sudden impulse to hate him this shitty princess genuine shitty, there explanation about her got trauma how her first love got executed though I not really sure but I think author already hinted this princess will only bring trouble unlike her sister

        Like

        • UnknownSoul says:

          Even though she is the main heroine, …
          I seriously hate her.

          It really shock me to see how a main heroine (which should have all the good quality) turn out to be such a bitch if you interpret the setting in another perspective.

          Liked by 2 people

        • Neko MK2 says:

          Yeah seriously shitty princess

          Like

        • Sage says:

          She is not shitty she is completely MAD gone bonkers on author knows which fungi, and cause my ex crush died ain’t an good explanation to this shit…

          Liked by 1 person

  4. Erwin says:

    Thanks for the chapter ~!!

    Like

  5. GM_Rusaku says:

      ∧,,∧ 
      (´・ω・)
    ⊂ノ  ニつ Thanks!!
    (`(´ ノ   Nepu!!!
     || ノ
    (_(_)

    Like

  6. Gwylon says:

    This really reminds me of Akuyaku Reijo Ni Koi Wo Shite

    Like

  7. darkstrolm says:

    Thank you for the translation. All hail the Mighty and Exalted Yoraikun.

    Perhaps Rudel’s houghts had got across, or Fritz was simply lucky.

    houghts < thoughts

    What’s more, the one who quelle things was master.

    quelle < quell

    After that, she wouldn’t hear Fina;s explanation that this was a misunderstanding,

    Fina;s explanation < Fina's explanation

    Like

  8. ftxnexus says:

    I really hate Rudel at times… Why does he have yo care about gis parents and brother? They only brought pain yo their people and shouldnt a dragoon save the people? So why would you care about some which beings pain towards you and the people?

    Also, the amount of people jumping to conclusions in t his story is insane

    Liked by 1 person

    • Because he is supposed to be an antagonist of the plot(game).
      And most people that are supposed to be the support of the protagonist(or the protagonist himself) should be against him.
      Well, he is gaining their favor and opposing the will of the game plot so it’s making the story interesting.

      Like

  9. Lewd Anon says:

    This is hilarious. Things get misconstrued, and Fina has to fix it up by putting some pressure on her father. Moreso since the first reaction she ever gave was towards Rudel.

    As to tormenting Rudel? I doubt it. We were also told other events were supposed to torment Rudel in the future, and instead he just brute-forced his way past the misunderstanding. Rudel will beat down Fritz. On the other end though, I wonder if this sets up Aileen and Fritz as a possible pairing, despite their age difference.

    On the other end of things, it looks like Baysle is now being shipped with Vargas instead. While just a little disappointing on one end, on the other, Rudel’s harem is still growing anyway and Vargas does deserve a beauty of his own.

    And at least Izumi is starting to acknowledge that her interactions with Rudel come across as a dedicated girlfriend. I forgot to mention this in one of the earlier chapters, but the fact that she’s allowing Rudel into her room and dealing with Rudel quite casually during the Petting incident just shows how used to him she is.

    Like

  10. kirindas says:

    Thanks for the new chapter! Rudel really has everything set against him. >_< Naive, biased Aileen fully set against him now.

    Like

  11. Kasinki says:

    PLEASE MAKE IT SO THAT SOMEHOW AILEEN IS PETTED BY RUDEL

    Liked by 1 person

  12. “And this meeting would come back to torment Rudel in the future…”

    There is almost no need to even say that… as it is the same as always… pretty much everything comes back to torment or cause problems for Rudel

    Like

  13. nekogamivni says:

    Thanks for the chapter ~

    Like

  14. Reaper Phoenix says:

    Thanks 4 the chapter!

    I guess since the “Protagonist” was born a noble instead of a commoner like he was supposed to, Fritz got some of his events.

    Like

  15. Nyesh says:

    Thank you for the chapter.

    I wonder if we will ever find out what caused Fina to become so obsessed with fluffy demi-humans? Aileen’s hatred of them is easily understood: one executed her first love, but what could have given Fina such an intense desire for their fluffiness? Did she have a demi-human nursemaid who let Fina sleep on her tail, maybe? Or did Fina perhaps have a large fluffy dog as a child, and somehow she sees that same fluffiness of her beloved former pet in the beast-eared / -tailed demi-humans?

    I wonder if whatever changed in the past to cause Rudel to take a different path from the game’s storyline was also responsible for Aileen’s hatred of non-humans? (Much like Chlust was originally a nice person due to disliking and seeking to be opposite of his elder brother – which is the same reason he became such a jerk in the new timeline.) Would Aileen’s first love have encountered those goblins if not for whatever it was that altered the past? Perhaps when the dragon changed its path such as to fly over Rudel when he was five, its presence flying over a forest somewhere caused the goblins within to flee their lands – leading them to encounter the travelling princess and her guards?

    Considering that many of the characters of the story seem to be taking opposite roles due to whatever the change was, I’m guessing that Aileen will eventually become an antagonist. Maybe there will be a civil war, where nobles against demi-humans join with her against her parents and sister seeking to give them more rights. Or maybe Aileen will join the Evil Empire ™ next door for some reason.

    Some have mentioned the similarity between this story and “Akuyaku Reijo Ni Koi Wo Shite.” The difference is that Akuyaku is basically a deconstruction (especially from the point of view of the reincarnated character) with an anti-hero as the actual protagonist of the story. This story, on the other hand, comes across more as satire, a sort of tongue-in-cheek playing with the trope in which the reincarnated character keeps getting sidelined by an almost stereotypical ‘dense shonen hero’ type character.

    Like

  16. anarchydev says:

    Now i just hate the author and his insights into the future.

    Like

  17. DANIS says:

    fuck fuck this NTR !!!

    Like

  18. habib1100 says:

    Thanks for doing this chapter! 😁

    Like

  19. Random says:

    This is as annoying as the young masters in xianxia novels.

    Like

  20. So since Goldie locks got his ass kicked, then found a friend, has the game’s plot given up on him?
    Though it might still have problem with Rudel & is using his brother as a stop gap villian. Poor little shit.
    Thanks for the chapter

    Like

  21. bh3rm4n says:

    I finally thought the world/game had embraced the MC, but nope, there is still something that is trying to derail him.

    I just love how the MC is, it’s great, every time his thought process brings a smile to my face. Every time i think that the MC will start his harem, either his family or just lack of luck ends it. I have named the harem: Rudel’s Dragoons.All the ladies ride his dragon. ( ͡° ͜ʖ ͡°)

    Like

So, what's on your mind?

